HOW TO: Balancing Compositions

I know…I know…I know…another fall scenic. However, I felt it would be a good illustration on the topic of balancing composition.

In this scene, I wanted to emphasize the stunning maple tree in the foreground against the vibrant green grass, while maintaining balance within the composition. By positioning the two feature orange maple trees on either side of the frame, balance is created.

I used a zoom lens at various focal lengths to adjust the framing and to compress the foreground and background elements of the scene.

By composing the photograph in such a way, the viewer’s eyes are led through the scene to discover the horses under the tree in the background, making the image more engaging.

  1. October 24, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I did it backwards. I went straight for the trees in the background and worked my way on down…or is that forward? Love the colors!

    • October 24, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Hey either way works for me…as long as it works. Yes it sure is pretty this year…guess it was all the rain we had in September.

  2. October 24, 2011 at 10:47 am

    My eye does go back and forth between the two trees and the horses. Great explanation on how to compose a shot! 🙂

    • October 24, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Thanks Katie, glad you are enjoying my helpful hints.

  3. October 24, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Thanks for the balancing perspective. The colors are beautiful.

    • October 24, 2011 at 11:35 am

      Sure thing, glad I can be of help!! And the colors are magnificent this year!

  4. October 24, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Oh, this is beautiful autumn image and never can make me bored, I love to watch them, dear David. I think, I can understand this balancing composition and this is really great shot. Wants me to jump into the picture… and riding on horse… Thank you dear David, with my love, nia

  5. October 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Glad you have enjoyed this image. It is so pretty at this farm.

  6. October 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    great tip! thank you. i’d definitely try that next time i go out for a walk.

  7. October 24, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    Thanks Gracie, glad to be of help any way I can!

  8. Steve
    October 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    A great image, and perfect desciption of the art of creating balance within the photo. Cheers!

    • October 25, 2011 at 8:46 am

      Thanks Steve, your comments are greatly appreciated!

  9. October 24, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Lovely composition. I also really like the smaller red tree directly north of the maple that’s in the foreground.

    • October 25, 2011 at 8:47 am

      Thanks Mufidah, Yes the display of colors is amazing this year!

  10. October 26, 2011 at 6:58 am

    the colours are so beautiful and deep, this is what I love abuot Fall!!! 😀

    I also wanted to let you know:

    http://homemadewellbeing.wordpress.com/2011/10/26/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  11. October 26, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Yes it sure has been a colorful Fall this year and congrats on your award!!!

  12. Fiona.q
    January 4, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    i guess my dad is gonna love to see this, horses in nature 🙂

  13. January 5, 2012 at 8:30 am

    I’m glad you like this one Fiona! There are quite a few horse farms in the area and the settings are just gorgeous! Thanks for stopping by!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

