IN THE FIELD: View From The Deck

I know I have been sharing quite a few photos with an Autumn flavor…but ‘tis the season…

A couple of days ago, we woke up to a pouring rain, which lasted for a good part of the day. It really was more like a monsoon. Early in the morning, I looked out the sliding glass door and the wet leaves were saturated with color from the rain. I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to photograph the display.

Out came the tripod, camera and rain sleeve. I was able to take quite a few photos before it changed from rainy and breezy to rainy and blustery. I am glad I was able to photograph the woods before a lot of the leaves were blown away with the wind.

We are fortunate to live in a place that is surrounded by a variety of trees. From russet brown to crimson reds, to amber oranges and yellows, and multiple shades of green…the woods is abundant with color.

  1. October 21, 2011 at 11:29 am

    How great these trees… Wonderful view you captured dear David, autumn fascinates… Thank you, Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • October 21, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      Thanks Nia, this is what we see when we look out our windows.

      • October 24, 2011 at 11:46 am

        This is so beautiful, I can imagine now… Blessing and Happiness for you all, Thank you, with my love, nia

  2. October 21, 2011 at 11:38 am

    This is your view???? You’re killing me! Beautiful

    • October 21, 2011 at 2:06 pm

      Yup, this is straight out from the deck…we are surrounded on three sides with all this color!

  3. October 21, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Ah yes, David, lucky to live in a place with so much fall color. And gorgeous shot here. All leaves and tree trunks. Reminds me of my life back on the East Coast. Beautiful. 🙂

    • October 21, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Thanks Katie, there is plenty more to come…this really is a small slice of what we see out back. We get several weeks of color because of the variety of tree species.

  4. October 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Great capture – isn’t nature beautiful, soothing, peaceful….and healing.

    • October 21, 2011 at 2:10 pm

      Thanks Fergiemoto! Nature sure is beautiful. We live in the woods and see this all day!!

  5. October 21, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    that is such a visual treat to the eye – hope u enjoy the colors for a while before they dissapear (cycle of seasons)

    • October 22, 2011 at 9:56 am

      It sure is a treat for the eyes…i figure we have 3 weeks left of color… unless the wind kicks up again

  6. October 21, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    You have a great view! I wouldn’t get much done if I had a view like that. Nice Image!

    • October 22, 2011 at 9:58 am

      I know what you mean…when I am in what we call the studio I tend to just stare out the window…it’s so nice not to see neighbors for most of the year!!

  7. Steve
    October 23, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Great capture! The one tree on its own on the left, being bare, really sets off the rest with their leaves still on. And the number of trees is an odd number (7 visible) which seems to make a difference if only in our minds’ eye. Cheers!

  8. October 24, 2011 at 6:03 am

    This is absolutely beautiful! I am obsessed with the Twilight Saga at the moment and this somehow makes me imagine the place where the vampires and werewolves would hand around! 🙂

    • October 24, 2011 at 9:38 am

      Thanks Kristina, it sure is pretty here. I just watched some of the movie trailers and I see what you mean…we do hear some pretty strange sounds in the woods at night. It gets really really hands over your eyes dark up here at night. There are no street lights and the nearest town is 10 miles away. Spooky.

  9. October 24, 2011 at 9:31 am

    Thanks Steve, it is quite a view and we get to witness the progression of color on a daily basis.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

