IN THE FIELD: Hardware Store Deja Vu

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3677

Hardware stores and weekends just seem to go together. Guess where I was a few days ago…again. I can’t seem to stay away from these places.

I pulled into the parking lot and lo and behold was another restored vehicle. This one was a 1955 Chevrolet Pickup truck.

As I was admiring the truck the owner walked out of the store. We chatted about the vehicle for a few minutes before I asked him if I could get a few shots.

I could build up quite a portfolio of restored classic cars and trucks just by hanging out at the hardware store.

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3678

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3672

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3676

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3675

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3670

 

  1. December 11, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Love the tire shot! I can just hear ZZ Top music playing in the background.

    • December 11, 2013 at 11:59 am

      I can think of a whole bunch of ZZ Top songs to go with this truck! Come to think of it…the guy did have a pretty long beard….hmmmmmm

  2. December 11, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Love all of these images. Pretty bad azz truck!

    • December 11, 2013 at 12:00 pm

      I could see myself cruizin’ in this one!!!

  3. December 11, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    The restoration of the truck, and your photos of it, are very well done!

    • December 15, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      Thanks Montucky, I would love to have a restored cruiser…car or truck makes no difference.

  4. December 12, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    I’m admiring that red truck, too! What great character it has. Cool shots, David!

    • December 15, 2013 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks Fergie, there seems to be quite a few restored trucks around here…(it’s pretty rural in these parts) now to get some photos of them when they are siting still!

  5. December 13, 2013 at 8:38 am

    Wow, that has been lovingly restored and polished! Beautiful pics. You will have to have an exhibition of classic vehicle photos!

    • December 15, 2013 at 2:02 pm

      It sure is Jo, you just reminded me of a shoot Sharon and I did back in the early 90’s for a calendar. We were invited to shoot a collection of antique cars from England, Europe, and the US for the company she used to work for. They were shot on slide film so I had better unpack the scanner. Been busy with cleaning up after the snowstorms lately…sure is pretty outside!

  6. December 16, 2013 at 3:13 am

    I love the detail in your shots. What a cracker of a red truck! 🙂

    • December 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

      Thanks MB, the owner did a fine restoration/customization. Trucks seem to be rather common around here…can’t wait till spring when they all make their appearance again!

  7. December 16, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    I love old pickup trucks. I can see a lot of love went into that restoration.

    • December 19, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Me too! I could tell the owner was quite proud of this one. He was in now hurry to get on with his errands LOL.

  8. LB
    December 16, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    You do seem to run into this beauties, don;t you? I love the color so very much but my favorite picture is the one of the mirror and reflection.

    • December 19, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      I’m glad I’ve been finding these vehicles when the folks are just out and about as compared to a big car show. The owners are much more relaxed. The owner looked at me funny when I took the mirror shot…until I showed him the photo on the camera. He said “wow way cool, I never would have thought of that view.”

  9. December 19, 2013 at 9:51 am

    nice wheels 🙂

    • December 19, 2013 at 1:48 pm

      Wouldn’t it be fun to go for a ride?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

