Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: Further Explorations Needed

IN THE FIELD: Further Explorations Needed

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3994

Last week I was out exploring a small town not far from where we live. I have driven through the town in the past, mostly as a shortcut to get to somewhere else, but never took the time to stop.

I walked up and down a few streets and not only discovered a wealth of photographic opportunities, but found an interesting town whose history goes back to the early 1700’s.

In the center of town is a hotel built in the late 1800‘s. It has been converted into multiple storefronts, one of which is a cooking school open to folks of all ages. Several old bank buildings decorated for the Holiday season also stand proudly in the center of town.

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3996

There are restaurants, a brew pub, small shops, and businesses, and even a bed and breakfast lining the main streets. Many of the older homes and buildings have stained glass windows and ornate iron work adorning the facades.

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3998

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3997

lr_dhphotositeDSC_3976

I’m glad I spent some time wandering the streets. I found all kinds of interesting subjects and look forward to some more snooping around town. I even got to see the Statue Of Liberty!

 

 

  1. December 9, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    I can’t believe the variety in these shots of people’s homes!So many stories behind these choices-great stuff!

    • December 10, 2013 at 9:40 am

      Pretty cool huh! I’m thinking this is just the beginning. The town is only 5 miles away, so I’m pretty sure I’ll be spending more time there!

  2. December 9, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    Statue of Liberty? You really wandered off didn’t you? 😉 Cool arches.

    • December 10, 2013 at 9:42 am

      And I didn’t even get my feet wet. I’m not sure why the statue was in front of a pet store…but that’s where she was. I’ve got lots of exploring to do in this town…there is some cool stuff coming up!

  3. December 9, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Great shots, David! And what a find. Isn’t it amazing the treasures that we pass over day after day because we don’t take the time to look?

    • December 10, 2013 at 9:43 am

      Thanks Ted, it is pretty amazing how for 30 plus years I’ve been passing through and never really looked around. Well that’s changed!

  4. December 10, 2013 at 4:07 am

    Oh dear David, these are all so beautiful, especially the door at the end, fascinated me, how beautiful… Thank you, have a nice day, love, nia

    • December 10, 2013 at 9:44 am

      Thank you Nia, there are plenty more interesting doors coming…problem is there are so many!

  5. December 10, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Wow! I’ve got to get off the beaten path more. Great shots! What’s the name of the town?

    • December 10, 2013 at 9:45 am

      It really does pay to take a different route from time to time! Boyertown is the name. It has a really interesting history.

  6. December 10, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Great finds, David! I love the door fronts and the real ivy weaving its way around the wrought iron version. Looking forward to seeing what else you find.

    • December 10, 2013 at 2:11 pm

      Thanks Jo, there must have been a foundry nearby…wrought iron is everywhere! I’ll be sure to get some more photos!

  7. December 10, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Very cool find, David. Looks like you’ve got one nice neighborhood to explore.

    • December 11, 2013 at 9:01 am

      I do think I will have plenty of exploration ahead of me. Looking forward to it. It may have to wait a few days…it’s 11 degrees F this morning. Brrrrr

  8. December 12, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    How fun to go out exploring! Such cool finds!

    • December 15, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      It sure is and there is lots more material coming!

  9. December 16, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    I can’t believe that you have that interesting little town so close by…how fun.

    • December 27, 2013 at 10:46 am

      Hi Karen!!! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas! sorry for the delay…your comment got lost in cyber-world somehow. It really is a neat town and we are finding new things everyday. I will have plenty of material to share. Hint…the town mascot, the auto museum, local architecture (stained glass in most of the older homes) and lots more!

      • December 27, 2013 at 10:55 am

        No problem…I can’t wait to see all the little town has to offer. We did have a nice Christmas, hope you did as well.

  10. December 19, 2013 at 9:50 am

    Love places like this, so much character! Lovely architecture and ornaments. I can imagine myself wondering around this town, looking forward to some more photos 🙂

    • December 19, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      I really think you would enjoy this small town. There is lots to do and see and from what I have seen, there are some good restaurants to have a bite and a pint! Tea shops also!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

