IN THE FIELD: Dramatic Skies

lr_dhphotositeDSC_2257

Most of the land around where I live is either forest or farmland. When the ground begins to dry out a bit from the early spring rains, the farmers begin to work their fields. They use enormous equipment to cut the hay for feed, then start plowing to prepare for planting of their summer crops.

All this farming activity usually stirs up lots of dust. And when you combine all that dust, and mix it with a steady wind throughout the course of a sunny day…it’s a perfect recipe for a colorful sunset. Then it’s just a matter of waiting for evening and hoping a few clouds will stick around to add some drama.

f5.6

1/250th

cloudy WB

ISO 200

  1. May 24, 2013 at 11:46 am

    Beautiful shot, David! I agree, there is so much drama in the sky, it’s awesome to look at.

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:42 pm

      Thanks Gracie, I can watch the clouds all day long and never tire of it.

  2. May 24, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiice! 🙂

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:43 pm

      Thanks Teri, we’ve been having skies like this pretty often. Some, as this one was, are really long lasting. Others just for a moment or so.

  3. May 24, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Beautiful! That looks like an old oil painting, slightly mellow and smoky.

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      It sure was. Even the sky right above me was this color. The pups and I watched this one till it got dark. I guess it lasted about 1/2 hour like this!

  4. May 24, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    I love this kind of photos. 🙂

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:46 pm

      I hope to have more this season. It certainly has been windy enough…it’s constant were we live now.

  5. May 25, 2013 at 1:29 am

    Brilliant colors! 🙂

    Yesterday I witnessed something dramatic too. On one side just above the horizon was pearly white shining full moon against the twilight-blue sky and on the other side was this fantastic sunset view. It was an inspirational moment. I was little sad that I couldn’t turn it into a photographic moment as I was in a bus.

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      WOW that must have been one beautiful sight to see! At least you have that visual in your memory. I often wonder if other folks see things like this or are they oblivious to nature.?

  6. May 25, 2013 at 3:15 am

    This is beautiful, David, love this kind of backlight in the clouds, especially with colour. I should get out there -lots of forest fires lately so perhaps good conditions for sunset or sunrise photos.

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:51 pm

      I did the dishes right away that night, grabbed tripod and the pups, and sat and watched it for about a 1/2 hour. It was an amazing sight to watch the sun dip below the horizon. With the forest fires I would think you have some pretty darn good conditions for sunset photos!

  7. May 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Wow! A beautiful, fiery shot!
    Very nice, David!

    • May 27, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      Thanks Fergie, it sure was perfect conditions that night. Lately the wind has been relentless, but by the time the sun sets the clouds are all gone. So I wait until the next night, and the next and…

  8. May 28, 2013 at 2:40 am

    Lovely! You have some patients David! My shots are usually very random and kind of last minute 🙂 Sometimes I tend to stare at the sunset and forget to take a picture and then I try to convince myself that some things are just for me to enjoy and not to be shared with anyone else 🙂

  9. May 28, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Thanks Kristina, yes I guess I do have patience…at times LOL. I love your random shots. They are so spur of the moment. That’s what makes them work so well! I have to admit that I do often times just sit back and enjoy the sunsets and other scenics and not even get the camera out. Good for the soul that way 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

