IN THE FIELD: Skywards

lr_dhphotositeDSC_1978

On the morning I took this shot, the air was cool, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky, and the sun was shining brightly. With skies this blue, I couldn’t resist using the vivid color as a backdrop for these bright orange and yellow tulips.

To set this photo up, I adjusted the tripod to go as low to the ground as possible. I was able to then lay down in the grass behind the tripod to compose the shot.

I know I’m always promoting the use of a tripod, but if you don’t have one handy, here is an option. It’s much easier to lie on your back and look up for this kind of shot versus lying on your stomach and straining your neck and back. You’ll have to experiment with the position of your arms in order to steady the camera…but it works.

Besides, using this technique gives passersby something to talk about. Their conversation typically goes like this: “Did you see that person lying on their back looking up with a camera? What an odd position to take a photograph. They must really want that shot.”

f11

1/250

cloudy WB

ISO 200

  1. May 22, 2013 at 11:47 am

    Beautifully shot, David! I really like your composition, your POV made the tulips look a lot taller, and they appear to be reaching up to the gorgeous blue sky.

    • May 22, 2013 at 3:40 pm

      Thanks Gracie, they do look like giants don’t they! These were really big flowers. Bigger than I have ever seen. I would guess four inches across.

  2. May 22, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    beautiful colours with the blue sky, Thanks and Love, nia

    • May 22, 2013 at 3:41 pm

      Thanks NIa, I love the color combination also…I had to get a couple of photos of these flowers. They were so vibrant.

  3. May 22, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    Purty!!!!!! 🙂

    • May 22, 2013 at 3:43 pm

      They sure are! I have never seen so many varieties of tulips. Every shape and color combination you could imagine. It was overwhelming!

  4. May 22, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    These are glorious against the blue sky and the upwards looking perspective is perfect. 🙂

    • May 22, 2013 at 3:45 pm

      Thanks MB, it was a glorious morning being surrounded by all those tulips. I would love to plant masses of them in a variety of colors in a garden someday.

      • May 22, 2013 at 4:08 pm

        I hope you do. They are most satisfying as they re-appear from nowhere in the Spring – and their colours are so intense and so beautiful. 🙂

  5. May 22, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    Doesn’t take much to get people talking, does it? Great colours and direction, David!

    • May 23, 2013 at 9:01 am

      Funny how it works that way isn’t it. This shot was taken at Longwood Gardens also…talk about color! They planted over 100,000 spring bulbs…and they were all blooming at the same time! Oh yeah…the lying on your back thing really does work well.

  6. May 22, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    Gorgeous red tulips! I have been on ground many times taking shots like this. Coincidentally the ones I liked the most were of red tulips.
    I love how you composed this one. Fabulous!

    • May 23, 2013 at 9:02 am

      Thanks Fergie, what we won’t do to get the shot. Glad you enjoyed this!

  7. May 23, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Gorgeous colours! I love where the red tulips meet the blue sky – my favourite part of the image is the section above the greenery at the bottom.

    • May 23, 2013 at 9:05 am

      They sure are pretty. it was a fabulous morning to be among all those flowers. I’m curious to see the summer display. I have several versions of this and it was difficult to choose.

  8. May 23, 2013 at 7:45 am

    Just stunning! I love the bold colours – it radiates happiness! (So now the backs of your trousers/shirt are filthy as well as the knees?!)

  9. May 23, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Thanks Jo, this was taken at Longwood Gardens also. It was an amazing display and everyone there was smiling from ear to ear! Yup I do get dirty from time to time LOL.

  10. May 24, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Simply gorgeous! Haven’t seen such a blue sky for a long time here!

    • May 24, 2013 at 10:03 am

      Thanks Kristina, I’ll send some blue sky your way…maybe even a sunset. We could use some blue skies now…it’s been raining for two days!

  11. May 25, 2013 at 1:30 am

    Wow, lovely! 🙂
    Again, one of favorites. 🙂

    • May 25, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      Glad you liked this one, More coming as promised….don’t want to over-do the tulip theme so I thought I would post other things to break it up a bit.

  12. May 28, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    WOW, so captivating! Great great shot David!

  13. May 29, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    Thanks Donna, the sky that morning was amazingly blue…I didn’t even need a polarizer to intensify the color!

  14. May 31, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Beautiful! Love the angle and contrasting colors.

    • June 1, 2013 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks Jennifer, when I saw how blue the sky was, and the bright tulips…I had to capture that visual. It was actually quite comfortable lying in the grass. I could have taken a nap LOL.

  15. June 5, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Wow, the perfect color complements. This is gorgeous!

  16. June 6, 2013 at 9:56 am

    Thank you Lee, everything fit perfectly that morning…the sky, the tulips, the light…I just couldn’t pass this opportunity up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

