IN THE FIELD: I Wonder

As you all know, I have this thing for old rusty machinery. In our nearby town is this old semi-trailer that was originally built in the late 1940’s. It’s been undisturbed and parked next to a creek for at least 20 years. I was photographing the play of early morning sunlight on the rusty parts as well as the areas of peeling paint.

The back doors are chained shut and secured with an ancient padlock. I have to wonder why the trailer is locked, and what kind of treasures may be stashed inside.

Photo specs. 35mm lens, ISO 100, f3.5 @ 1/40th handheld

  1. October 22, 2012 at 9:04 am

    That is a very interesting contrast of colors and textures!

    • October 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

      I thought so too…I even played around with the flash on some shots to create more shadows but since the chains and door were facing into the sunlight the results didn’t work like I hoped. I needed to be there a few hours later when the door/chains would be in more shadow. Next time!

  2. October 22, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Yes, interesting composition. 🙂

    • October 23, 2012 at 10:11 am

      I’m curious who the trailer belonged to…I found some markings from some company but the paint was mostly gone. The mystery continues…

  3. October 22, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Wonderful David. I also like the composition, it highlighted the shadow of the chain. Great job capturing the textures of the peeling paint and the rusty chains.

    • October 23, 2012 at 10:14 am

      Thanks Gracie, it’s curious how the paint in the photo is peeling like crazy and in other places it’s not at all. It’s dull and flat but not peeling. There are places where several colors are showing…makes one wonder how many coats of paint are on the thing LOL.

  4. October 22, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    I’m now curious as to what may be inside! I love the peeling paint and colours.

    • October 23, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Me too! There is an antique shop nearby and maybe they know what sorts of thing are inside or even who owns the trailer. I looked at the padlock and I seriously doubt it works with a key anymore. It was pretty darn rusty. Who knows…inside this mystery trailer there could be a wooden chest with jewels and gold doubloons and other sparkly items!!!

      • October 23, 2012 at 1:12 pm

        Yes – we could weave an intriguing mystery Autumnal tale around the trailer and its contents 🙂

  5. October 23, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    Perhaps treasures inside!!
    Great contrast of color and texture!

    • October 25, 2012 at 9:16 am

      It remains a mystery…until I get back into town. I would love to know what is hidden away behind the locked doors!

  6. October 23, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    That would drive me crazy, wondering what is inside!

    • October 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

      It’s imagine it’s going to take some pretty good investigating. There are nine antique dealers nearby for me to ask if they have any knowledge of it’s contents. I just gotta know!

  7. October 24, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    Sounds like a forgotten mystery! Cue Indiana Jones! Go, David!! (Lovely photo by the way!)

  8. October 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

    I’ve got the hat and the sense of adventure…I’m ready!!!

  9. October 27, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    I love this, David. Fantastic composition, and colors are amazing!

  10. October 27, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Thanks Nandini, it’s a neat old trailer that has been painted many times. I even found some red paint peeking through the yellow and green paint on the other side. I’m still curious as to what’s inside!

  11. November 20, 2012 at 5:41 am

    Love the colours! Looks really playful 🙂

    • November 20, 2012 at 9:31 am

      I went past it last week…it’s still locked up. I wonder what is inside…a treasure chest of gold coins and jewelry, and sparkly things, and gem stones and…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

