IN THE FIELD: New Discovery

In our travels last weekend, we discovered a farmers market that is new to us. We enjoy shopping in places like this for several reasons. Not only is the food grown or raised locally, but it is also educational. The folks there love to chat about their farms and products they sell.

It is a rather lengthly list of what venders were marketing, but here are some examples. They were selling fruits and vegetables, homemade noodles and pasta, fresh meats, baked goods, honey, fresh homemade cheeses, and other dairy products, jams, jellies, and other canned/preserved items. One family operation was selling various kinds of flour that is grown, harvested, and milled at their farm.

This display of colorful woven baskets was just outside the entrance. We couldn’t resist buying one to carry all our purchases. It is harvest season, so our basket will be put to good use in the weeks ahead.

  1. September 17, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Love baskets. And I need to get to finding an apple orchard soon!

    • September 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Aren’t these the greatest! I would think you have got to have some orchards around where you live…better get pickin’! Hmmm baking and cinnamon yummmm!

  2. September 17, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Wonderful photograph, I love these bags… Thank you dear David, love, nia

    • September 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Thanks Nia, We just loved all the colors…it was hard to decide which one to purchase!

  3. September 18, 2012 at 8:47 am

    I love local markets; we always go to our Brockley Market, lovely and fresh produce that’s the way to go 🙂 I also like the though that I am supporting small businesses 🙂 and these baskets are so cute 🙂

    • September 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

      The local markets are the best. Great food, great people and like you said “supporting small businesses.” There were probably another 50 more baskets not in the photo. I wanted one of each!

  4. September 18, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    I love markets such as these where things are hand-made locally. Are the handles of these baskets bound with leather? They are so beautiful. I would have bought one too if I had seen them.

    Our local Christmas Market is going to feature locally made goods this year which will be good.

    • September 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

      We always have to set aside plenty of time when we visit the local markets. There is so much great food and handmade items, that we always are there for hours. Good catch Meanderer…the handles are indeed wrapped with a very thin and soft leather. Local Christmas Market? I would love to visit that one!!! You’ve gotta get some photos to share!

  5. September 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Very nice! I enjoy local farmers markets.

    • September 19, 2012 at 9:50 am

      Thanks Fergie, aren’t the local markets so much fun! We always have to make sure the back of the Jeep is empty when we go to these places Let’s get some of this…and some of those…and some of these. How about ….LOL.

  6. September 19, 2012 at 11:10 am

    Lovely colours and textures here. I love farmers’ markets too!

    • September 19, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Aren’t they super…we filled ours with all kinds of goodies…it was overflowing! We will have to go back to this market and fill the basket again!

  7. September 20, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Great find, David! I love woven baskets like these. I can imagine them filled with ripe fruits, vegies and even fresh cut flowers!

    • September 20, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks Gracie, we had ours filled with everything but the fresh flowers…we squeezed in fruit, veggies, jellies, breads, cheese and some frozen grass fed ground beef. Yummmm

  8. September 20, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Nice shot! I love the colors and texture you captured. It almost looks 3D. Which lens did you use?

    • September 20, 2012 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks Tricia, I wonder if the 3D look is because it’s a little under-exposed. Hmmm. Oh, the lens was my Nikon 35mm f1.8. That lens is so sharp, I hardly every take it off the camera! Plus it was only $200.00!

  9. Nandini
    September 25, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Wonderful textures, David. Loved the colors and the arrangement as well. I wish I could take one home! Hehe. 🙂

    • September 27, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      They still have plenty of baskets there. Aren’t they pretty?! Come on over and I’ll give you a tour!

  10. September 27, 2012 at 9:45 am

    Love the shot of the baskets. I wish we had a wonderful market like yours….I’d be there every week filling up one of those baskets with goodies. I sounds like you did a good job filling yours.

    • September 27, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      Aren’t they great? I love places like this. In fact, I was there this morning to get some more things for the fridge and pantry. Good thing I only had a limited amount of cash with me LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

