IN THE FIELD: Night Sky

Getting a good shot of the moon has been a quest of mine for a long time. Having the right lens, clear atmospheric conditions, a stable tripod, and minimal light pollution are the key to a good photograph.

One night last week I was finally able to get the shot I was after.

Liar, liar…pants on fire.

  1. September 14, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Looks like you got a great shot of the moon! You might want to clean your lens, thought. Those unusual lines might prove distracting. πŸ˜‰ I’m searching for a great moon shot too!

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks Ted, you are right…I had better clean the lens…I was puzzled by those lines when I looked at the photo on the computer…

  2. September 14, 2012 at 10:38 am

    He he he… You are amazing. Thanks and Love, nia

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      Thanks Nia, glad to make you chuckle…laughter is good for the soul!

  3. Nandini
    September 15, 2012 at 4:54 am

    Oh wow, this is a brilliant shot. And somehow, I love the puzzle-effect (right?). Makes it even more interesting.

    πŸ™‚

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      Thanks Nandini, I saw this puzzle on the wall of a shop I was in and just had to get a shot of it. I knew right then what I was going to do with the photo LOL.

  4. September 15, 2012 at 5:15 am

    Have you been making a rum punch with all that fruit?? πŸ™‚

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      Uh oh….you got me on this one…nothing better than a nice cold “beverage.” It was after 5:00 pm…

  5. September 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    That’s funny πŸ™‚ What a great jigsaw puzzle. I love doing them – so relaxing.

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:25 pm

      Glad you got a kick out of this one…I like doing puzzles also. We have one which is a photo of a carousel at night….nearly impossible because of all the black pieces. One day we will finish it. I also have some that are maps of places. I really enjoy those!

  6. September 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    You could have had me fooled, David! Great post πŸ™‚

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      Thanks Gracie, Yeah, I guess the title was just a little teeny tiny bit misleading LOL

  7. September 16, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Love your sense of humor!

    • September 17, 2012 at 10:01 am

      Thanks Karen, I try to add a bit of humor on Fridays to start the weekend !

  8. September 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

    you and your lies! πŸ˜€ First the iron flowers in your sisters garden, now the moon! πŸ™‚ Love the picture, I guess it wasn’t very difficult to put this jigsaw together πŸ˜€

    • September 17, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Lies??? I like to call it “creative license.” Someone else put this together. I found it framed and hanging on the wall in the bathroom of a shop I was visiting. It’s only part of the picture. The part you can’t see is really really tacky. It’s kinda like those bad paintings on velvet LOL.

      • September 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

        Ok ok ‘creative license’ πŸ™‚ eeek, I am glad you didn’t show us us the other part of the picture πŸ™‚

  9. September 17, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Shame! And here I was ready to take notes πŸ™‚

    • September 17, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      Gotcha…I know how to take moon photos…just don’t have the glass for the digital camera. Duh…I could shoot it in film and scan the image…heyyyyyyy….

  10. September 22, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    I’m puzzled.

  11. September 26, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Love this!

    • September 27, 2012 at 8:37 am

      Betcha the title had ya thinkin’. I couldn’t resist!

  12. September 2, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    So clever and fun!

  13. September 2, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    Glad you enjoyed this substitute for the real thing LOL Guess at some point I’ll have to show the real moon huh? Thanks for stopping by Robyn!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

