IN THE FIELD: Apple Pickin’ Time

Where I live, we are fortunate to experience the four seasons. There are a few weeks of summer remaining before we move in to the Autumn season. Trees are starting to change colors, days and night are cooler, and the fall harvest is about to begin.

Our local orchard is giving hints to the changing of season. They have begun to post the “pick your own” signs for apples. Folks come from far and wide to head out into the rows and rows of trees to fill up their baskets with fresh fruit. On weekends, the orchard provides hay rides out to the apple trees, samples of home made baked goods, and all sorts of games for the children to play. They even build a castle out of hay bales for the kids to climb on and explore.

While it’s hard for me to pick a favorite season, Autumn is in the top four.

  1. September 12, 2012 at 10:17 am

    I better get to finding out where to pick my own around here. I missed peach season 😦 Did you get any apples?

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      You missed the peaches???? Better get into the fields and get some apples to make up for that! Yup got some this morning! I picked some of their own variety…golden gala’s I think is what they are called. Yummy!

  2. September 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Can’t wait for apple picking season – I am going soon 🙂

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Any day now…pies, breads, cooked with pork chops, stuffing or fillings, muffins…I getting hungry!!!

  3. September 12, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Very soon…can’t wait to start baking some apple pies!

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      Me too! The orchard has somewhere around 20 different varieties to choose from…baking, sauce, eating, sweet, tart, in between, juicy etc!

  4. September 12, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Hmmm I am thinking apple crumble with vanilla ice cream 🙂 yum 😀

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Hmmmmm, you make that, and I’ll be right over LOL. That combo has got to be one of my favorites!

      • September 12, 2012 at 4:17 pm

        done and done 🙂 I usually make it with blueberries, I love when they pop from the heat 🙂

  5. September 12, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    I don’t care for apple pie but OMG apple crisp-hmmmmm. And just the crispness with at tartness of a freshly picked apple is so good.I like your composition David, I find it looks easier to get a good shot than it really is.May the juice dribble down your chin…

    • September 13, 2012 at 8:46 am

      Your comment has made me drool….I think we may be doing some baking this weekend!!!

  6. September 12, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I am not finished yet. about the seasons, we have a joke here in Edmonton. We have two seasons:winter and construction season.

    • September 13, 2012 at 8:51 am

      That is just too funny!!! Have you ever been to The Camera Store in Calgary? They have a bunch of videos on YouTube…thecamerastoretv. I have often wondered how those young guys get the good jobs. Anyway… good reviews, humorous and informative.

      • September 16, 2012 at 4:10 pm

        Re: Camera Store, I saw video about F-stop wars-hilarious but haven’t been there yet.Though I hear their service is excellent and good prices. Would love to go to and as they say, see and “experience” Band H in NYC, too.

  7. September 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Autumn is definitly my favorite season. We have 4 apple trees in our back yard that we planted when me first moved here, and this year we have a banner crop. We have actually had to thin the apples off of the trees because they were in danger of breaking!

    That is a lovely shot of that apple, a perfect presentation! 🙂

    • September 13, 2012 at 8:53 am

      Aw man…fruit pickin’ within steps of the back door…you are fortunate my friend!!! I would love to have fruit trees in the yard. Maybe the next house…ours goes up for sale on Monday!

  8. September 13, 2012 at 2:15 am

    That sounds like fun! I love autumn too, and I’m hoping we’ll get a good display of colours this year. I also love trying the different varieties of apples that are available.
    “Autumn is in the top four” – 😀

    • September 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

      I love that place…saying this sheepishly….they know me by name there…I think I visit for groceries and produce 3-4 times a week.
      “top four” was Sharon’s idea…funny gal!

  9. September 13, 2012 at 3:00 am

    I also like having the four seasons.
    Nice shot of the apple! Time for apple pie!

    • September 13, 2012 at 8:57 am

      I think I would go nuts if it was the same season all year long…I need a change now and again. Time for apple anything….just remembered…the folks at the orchard will be making apple donuts soon….UNBELIEVABLE!

  10. September 14, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I love apples… this is the time now for this! Thank you dear David, wonderful photograph. Have a nice weekend, love, nia

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      I love them too! So many varieties and flavors and you can do so much with them!

  11. September 15, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Just picked some apples last week and made apple crisp! Love the fresh-picked apples off the tree. Next time I need to take my camera! Great shot!

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      Apple crisp! Yummm! They had a 5k run/race through the orchard this Saturday…you could just reach out and grab one on the way for refreshment!!!

  12. September 15, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    That’s a lovely photograph – I feel I could just reach out and touch it. Mmm: apple crumble and custard 🙂

    • September 16, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, the crop this year is extraordinary…the place is overflowing! Apple crumble and custard…send me the recipe!!!!!

  13. September 16, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Nice shot of the apple. I usually have to be on a ladder to get a photo like that. I love living in New England with its four seasons. Fall probably is the loveliest time of the year in New Hampshire. With tree hundred apple trees in our orchard, it can be a little intimidating though knowing what lies ahead some years. This year is a very small crop.

  14. September 17, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Thanks Karen, Yes, New England tugs at out hearts. We used to go camping all over up there. Here is a link to a post I wrote about the “Kanc” I think you will enjoy this one! https://dhphotosite.wordpress.com/?s=kanc
    Three hundred apple trees!!! Yikes…that’s a bunch to keep after! It sure has been a whacky growing season this year…the orchard down the street is having a great year. They were really worried there for a bit since we had so little rain.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

