IN THE FIELD: A Hair Salon?

I have my camera with me at all times. Even when running errands. I just never know when something will inspire me or when I will come across an interesting subject to photograph.

This past Saturday I dropped my wife off at her hair salon. It is in a part of the city that for us, is mostly unexplored territory. My intentions were to wander about outside looking for inspiration in the local architecture, while my wife was at her appointment. She suggested I come inside first to meet everyone, and then go play. I obliged, but never did make it outdoors. I found plenty of subjects inside.

I wandered about the shop photographing the various displays and artwork. It just goes to show, there are interesting subjects to photograph everywhere.

 

  1. September 10, 2012 at 11:21 am

    You had me wondering there for a moment! LOL And OPI nail polish my fave!! Great shots, D.

    • September 10, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      Yeah I kinda figured the would happen LOL. I was quite occupied while I was there…all kinds of neat stuff to shoot!

    • September 10, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      Oh yeah, I forgot to include a B&W shot of the OPI nail polish…it came out pretty well but looked best in B&W ’cause of the color of the polish.

      • September 10, 2012 at 8:57 pm

        Looking forward to seeing it. You should’ve read the names in order to get a good chuckle

  2. September 10, 2012 at 11:58 am

    wow! wonderful photographs, I wonder too now… Thank you dear David, love, nia

    • September 10, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      Thanks Nia, got ya thinking’ huh!!! I will bet you will have more of your street photos to show soon!!!

  3. September 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    That first one has me curious. I imagine that you made a lot of new friends today in the salon. So much play! Intriguing shots.

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      What you are seeing in the first shot is actually the waistline of dress. It’s all metal with big colorful flowers and crystals. I liked this shot of just part of the sculpture best. There were a great bunch of gals there…it was fun!

  4. September 10, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Color, texture, shape, repetition – I can see you had a lot to work with and made the most of it!

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      I was a fun afternoon wandering around taking shots of parts of things. The girls kept pointing out all kinds of neat stuff!

  5. September 10, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    You never know where you might have those photographic opportunities and gems! Great shots!

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:12 pm

      So true! That’s why I have my camera with me all the time. Even if I am running errands. You just never know!

  6. September 11, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Really creative! I love the wall hangings (if that is what they are!)

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      Thanks Jo, yup, that’s what they are. The first one is a metal dress about 1.5 feet tall, the second is just about what you see in the photo and about the same height as the dress.It is made of some kind of metal also.

  7. September 12, 2012 at 8:27 am

    Good shots! Funny I had to meet a bride at a hair salon 2 weeks ago because she wanted shots of her wedding preparation. I too was amazed at how much there was to photograph.

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks MD, who woulda thought huh! I didn’t expect so many subjects! It’s amazing what pops up when you look around.

  8. September 12, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Looks like a really nice and crafty hair salon 🙂 You should put the name of the salon and charge them for an advert 🙂 It just looks way too professional 😀

    • September 12, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      It’s a small place and the folks there are really great. Hey…I never thought of using the shots for an advert…I’m gonna look into that idea. Thanks for the inspiration Kristina!

      • September 12, 2012 at 4:16 pm

        your pictures would look great in adverts 🙂 Happy to have had inspired you 😀

  9. September 20, 2012 at 9:49 am

    These are excellent! The salon should really pay you to do their marketing stuff!

  10. September 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks Gracie, You are the second person that said that….I’ll be talking to the owner for sure now!

  11. September 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Great shots. When you say you carry your camera with you at all times, do you mean a big SLR or a smaller camera? I am a newby photographer and love the idea of having my camera with me all the time, but I can’t imagine carrying the big camera everywhere…

    • September 21, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      Thanks News, Yup I do carry my camera with me everywhere and yes it is a DSLR. It may not always be on my shoulder but it’s at least in the vehicle I may be in. I do have a point and shoot I bought back in 2004, but rarely use it. It’s older technology and it takes a while to focus unless it is really bright outside. I’ve been carrying a camera with me for many years now so it has become second nature. I feel odd without it. It won’t take long to get used to having a camera with you all the time…you’ll be amazed how it doesn’t get in the way of running errands, or everyday life. Give it a shot (no pun intended) for a few days and each day and situation will become easier. Hope this helps and thanks for stopping by!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

