IN THE FIELD: Wednesday’s Flower

A few weeks ago, I headed over to one of my favorite haunts. You guessed it…a local greenhouse. I figured it would be warm inside the greenhouse, but to my surprise it was shaded, cooler, and less humid than it was outdoors. It was a great place to hang out for a few hours and get a break from the oppressive heat. Not only was it easier on me in the cooler temperatures, but it was also better for the camera and lens. Extreme heat is the nemesis of camera equipment. Especially image sensors.

The heat wave finally broke and I’ll be heading back in a few weeks to fill up more data cards. New shipments of orchids, tropical flowering plants, and fall flowers are expected to begin arriving any day.

  1. August 29, 2012 at 10:46 am

    This is so pretty! Humidity is my nemesis with the lens.

  2. August 29, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Thanks T. Humidity is my nemesis with everything!!!

  3. August 29, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Beautiful color, David! I hate the heat too, I seem to have a hard time concentrating when photographing under extreme heat.

    • August 29, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      Thanks Gracie, I’m the same way…I lose all ambition when it is really hot. That’s probably why I want to move to Maine. Whenever I am there, it just feels like home.

  4. August 29, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Beautiful flower and photo. Perfect in its simplicity 🙂

  5. August 29, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Very pretty colour.

    • August 29, 2012 at 12:34 pm

      It sure is…the colors in greenhouses and conservatories are so vibrant…I love those places!

  6. August 29, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Thank you Anne, this particular flower was separated from the others with all that green for a backdrop…I couldn’t resist.

  7. August 29, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Brilliant! and perfect focus!Well done, David.

    • August 30, 2012 at 9:56 am

      Aww shucks…thanks Jane…the advantages of a greenhouse…you can really take your time!

  8. August 29, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    Just gorgeous color!

    • August 30, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Thanks Montucky, they had a whole table of these all in this color!

  9. August 30, 2012 at 1:51 am

    I just love that colour – it’s amazing. Really looking forward to more pics when the orchids start coming in! Humidity is our nemesis too, sadly in the form of rain!

    • August 30, 2012 at 10:00 am

      I do too!!! I can’t wait for the orchids either…hopefully they will put them among the tropical foliage plants! It looks like this year you folks on the other side of the pond are getting all the rain and snow this year!

  10. August 30, 2012 at 8:47 am

    “Extreme heat is the nemesis of camera equipment.” Maybe that’s why, after five years of use in Texas, my 100mm macro lens has been increasingly giving me trouble. I don’t like to part with it but I’m afraid I’m going to have to send it in to Canon to get repaired.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • August 30, 2012 at 10:03 am

      Ya know it very well could be the issue. Maybe some of the lens groups are out of alignment. I feel the same way you do…I feel weird if I don’t have my camera stuff with me. Hopefully the folks at Canon won’t keep it from you too long….and it won’t cost you a fortune to have it fixed!

  11. August 30, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Excellent David!

    • August 30, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Thank you Vickie…this place I talk about has 5 or 6 greenhouses all connected to each other…it really is a neato place!

  12. August 30, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Beautiful, David! 🙂

    • August 31, 2012 at 8:41 am

      Thank You Ted, I’ve been holding this one back for a bit, but couldn’t wait any longer to share!

  13. September 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Gorgeous David! The color just pops!

    • September 3, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      Thanks Donna, I love how the flower stands out against the background. The light was perfect…well, close to perfect that morning. I love shooting in greenhouses!

  14. September 3, 2012 at 10:55 am

    What a beauty! I didn’t know that the heat is bad for your camera! Thanks! 🙂

    • September 3, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      It sure is isn’t it?! Yes, extreme heat and digital camera sensors do not play well together. Especially the heat from inside a closed up hot car. Sensors can handle the cold a lot better.

  15. Nandini
    September 3, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Wow, this is so pretty! The violet (pink) is just amazing in front of all the green. Lovely shot, David. It certainly did made my day. I loved it. 🙂

    • September 4, 2012 at 9:18 am

      I love how vibrant the flower is…especially against the green background. Glad it made your day….I’ll look for some others!!!

  16. September 4, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Beautiful shot! I love the rich, bold pink color. Take lots of orchid photos! I just love those flowers.

    • September 5, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Thanks Fergie, I will be happy get some shots of orchids…I love them too! When I was a boy, my Mom worked in a greenhouse that bred orchids. I sure wish they were still around!

  17. September 4, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Beautiful! Nothing like the colors in nature! I will be looking for your new flower photos in the weeks to come.

    • September 5, 2012 at 9:11 am

      Thanks Karen, I can’t wait to get over there myself!!! Ever notice nature’s colors always seem to go together??

  18. September 12, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Love the colors!

    • September 13, 2012 at 8:44 am

      I have to admit, the color stopped me in my tracks!!! I need some of these for the garden!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

