Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: Rusty Daffodils-A New variety?

IN THE FIELD: Rusty Daffodils-A New variety?

A few weeks ago we had a family gathering at my sister’s home. During time-outs between various sports and games, I managed to steal away for a few moments to appreciate her gardens and the new landscaping she and her husband have installed.

Somehow she has managed to force some daffodils into blooming in the middle of the summer. But I do think this part of the garden is a bit rich when it comes to iron content in the soil. I’ll be sure to mention something about soil nutrients when I talk with her this weekend.

  1. August 24, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I had to do a double take before I caught it! LOL

    • August 24, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      S said I may have been a little too cryptic in my description…I think she was right…again.

  2. August 24, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Nice one, David! At first I thought they were real (that was before I checked the larger version) and were of some unique variety.

    • August 24, 2012 at 4:20 pm

      Thanks Gracie, unique for sure!!! My sister has all kinds of whimsical stuff throughout her gardens…you have to look closely though because she hides them out of view.

  3. August 24, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Gorgeous! They do look real! I want some!

    • August 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      They are pretty cool…I’ll find out where she got them and let you know!

  4. August 24, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    A great image, David! Are these the new ‘petrified’ variety? 😉

    • August 24, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      Thanks Ted, they are native to the Painted Desert / Petrified Forest area. Some have been found at smaller scrap/recycling yards. Some garden shops carry domesticated varieties also.

  5. August 24, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    They are quite lovely! I love the rich rusty colors. I imagine this variety blooms year-round, even through the winter snow. What a hearty plant!

    • August 24, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      They are extremely hardy and they bloom all year…rain or shine, cold or hot. And they grow in most soil conditions and even do well in planter boxes, large pots or urns. A pretty versatile flowering plant…guaranteed to bloom year after year…and you don’t need to divide them!

  6. August 25, 2012 at 1:40 am

    I bet those are hardy enough to bloom all winter too!

    • August 25, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      They are an “all weather” variety and the blooms last for years!

  7. August 25, 2012 at 1:56 am

    I love the colour but as daffodils they are somehow a bit gruesome! Yes, I’m sure they are extremely hardy!! 😀

    • August 25, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      True, they are not very lustrous as most daffodils go, but the plants last forever!

  8. August 25, 2012 at 7:26 am

    And they have a lovely texture also 🙂

    • August 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      Interesting color, nice texture, long lasting, and critters from the woods don’t care for them at all!! What more could a greener want in a blooming plant?!

  9. August 25, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Hilarious! I love the contrasting colours here; I nearly jumped back when the page opened: very eye-popping! I love it.

    • August 25, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Glad to add a bit of humor to start the weekend. That’s my sister the decorator…always finds the perfect spot for things..I keep telling her to start her own business…someday I hope!

  10. August 26, 2012 at 9:36 am

    I love very, very much this photo! I love its colours!
    Awesome!

    • August 27, 2012 at 8:44 am

      Thanks Cornel, my sister has all kinds of interesting thing throughout her garden. Most every time I go over there she has added something new.

  11. August 27, 2012 at 8:24 am

    WOW! The colours fascinated me, dear David, Thank you, have a nice week, love, nia

    • August 27, 2012 at 8:46 am

      Thanks Nia, I never know what to expect when I go over to my sister’s house. She has such neat things…inside and out! Have a nice week too NIa!

  12. August 27, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Fooled me! I thought these were interesting and had never seen them before-just took a closer look now…DA-vid!

    • August 28, 2012 at 8:20 am

      Ok I was a little obscure with the description when it came to this one…I was warned that it was a bit unfair…had you going though huh?!

  13. September 3, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Ah and I thought this is some new breed 🙂 Ha ha, at the beginning, before reading your post, I thought those were dried daffodils 🙂

    • September 3, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Gotcha! Next time I go over to my sister’s house I have to get a photo of the metal rooster that is almost four feet tall. I have a few shots of it but would like to get a better one to post. The rooster is so fun and whimsical…what a hoot for the garden!

  14. October 23, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Amazing colors david : )

    • October 24, 2012 at 10:13 am

      Aren’t these the coolest?! My sister has the neatest stuff in her garden. I like the contrast between the rusty metal and the dwarf blue spruce in the background.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

