Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: I Say, Boy, Pay Attention To Me, Boy

IN THE FIELD: I Say, Boy, Pay Attention To Me, Boy

“Why aren’t my feathers the same color as uncle Foghorn’s you ask?”

“Yeah Uncle Spike…how come?”

“You see Boy, Foghorn Leghorn is my second cousin on my father’s aunt’s mother’s side.” “He’s loud and a prankster and always gettin’ into mischief, if ya know what I mean.”

“What kind of mischief?”

“See that barnyard dog over there?”

“Yeah”

“Well, it all started with Ol” Dawg and Foghorn. The Leghorn side of the family decided they were the big guys around the farm. Ol’ Dawg and his family would have nothing to do with that. Every time Foghorn and his siblings would come into the barnyard, Ol’ Dawg would give ‘em a chase. Foghorn, bein’ the sneaky sort, always had a trick up his wing. He tried everything to get back at that old dog, but he’s never been able to win the battle. It’s hard to tell anymore who starts the antics between the two, but they just keep on goin’. Almost like a habit.”

“Anyway, We’s always been prideful of our white feathers, but we dye our feathers different colors to confuse Ol’ Dawg. Some of us are red, orange, gold or pearly black like me. He doesn’t realize it yet, but we’re really Leghorns. Luckily, until he gets the real story on us, we have free range and get to be with the missy hens whenever we want to.”

  1. August 3, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Been watching old Looney Tunes lately have we? Great post to go with the shot 🙂

    • August 3, 2012 at 9:44 am

      The story just came to me when I saw this guy proudly walking around the yard of a local garden center. Foghorn Leghorn has always been my favorite character…makes me LOL.

  2. August 3, 2012 at 8:47 am

    LOL And great shot!

    • August 3, 2012 at 9:46 am

      Glad to bring a smile and a chuckle. This rooster was bossing around ALL the other chickens and roosters…and humans…the cartoon immediately came to mind!

  3. August 3, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Loved it, you need to get together with windowstothewoods, you would make a fine pair of story tellers.. lol

    • August 3, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      Glad you enjoyed BD! I couldn’t help myself with this one …that rooster was the king…an ornery one to say the least. Stories…I’ve got a ton of stories!

  4. August 3, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Pay attention, I say pay attention boy! Lol, I love Foghorn especially with the chicken hawk.

    Great shot, David! You captured his attitude perfectly.

  5. August 3, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Awesome post, David! Always love a good chuckle in the morning 😉
    By the way, added you on my blogroll ;P

    • August 3, 2012 at 12:43 pm

      It’s a good thing to laugh on a Friday…it gets the weekend off to a great start!!!
      Thanks for adding me to your blogroll…I’m honored!

  6. August 3, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    as soon as I heard, “I say boy, ” I remembered.and thought of Jules, too with the commentary on the birds..You have great exposure on those feathers.That was a chuckle!

    • August 3, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      They don’t make cartoons like that anymore. Looney Tunes were the best…glad to make you chuckle. laughter is a good thing!!! He was a tough one to photograph. He would not stay still for more than a second or two…constantly in and out of shadow, crowing and chasing the other chickens. I got lucky!

  7. August 3, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    I love Foghorn Leghorn. This post made me smile 🙂

    • August 3, 2012 at 3:39 pm

      “That’s a joke, I say that’s a joke son.” Glad to bring a smile…have a fantastic weekend!!!!

  8. August 3, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    This is amazing, and great shot. I loved it, Thank you dear David, Love, nia

    • August 4, 2012 at 11:03 am

      Glad you enjoyed this one Nia, I really enjoyed writing this..I do love the old cartoons!

  9. August 4, 2012 at 3:12 am

    Lovely! I do like the idea of a bunch of cockerels getting together for a guy’s night in and dyeing their feathers. Rather too much fake tan around the facial area, I would say!

  10. August 4, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Hey we gotta do what we gotta do…although you are correct…I did get a little carried away with the “Tan In A Can.”

  11. August 6, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Wow, that’s a blast from the past! It’s been ages since I’ve seen those cartoons. Great shot and thanks for the amusement!

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:39 am

      While I was following this rooster around is when I thought of Foghorn Leghorn…had to LOL. I wondered how many folks would remember the old cartoons.

  12. August 7, 2012 at 4:59 am

    Great story to go with the photo 🙂

    • August 7, 2012 at 10:41 am

      Thanks Anne, it was fun writing this one. That goofy rooster was prancing around like he owned the place. “This is my turf…”

  13. August 8, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    LOL thanks, David!

  14. August 15, 2012 at 5:18 am

    🙂 That’s a funny story!

  15. August 15, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Funny how events or images will trigger memories from childhood. I saw this guy struttin’ around the place and for some reason the old cartoon came to mind. Then I had to get a photo of him…that was the hard part!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

