IN THE FIELD: High Visibility

In the valleys below where I live, the area is predominately farmland. For me, this provides a wealth of photographic subject matter. I particularly like the equipment used in farming operations. And it doesn’t matter whether it is old or new, I can always find something interesting to photograph.

I came across this piece of equipment in a small field surrounded by trees on three sides. Actually, it was hard to miss. Not only did it stand out in this scene, but it was quite large. It is a drop spreader used for lime or crushed stone products. I like the contrast between the bright orange paint on the machine and the natural surroundings of the blue sky and green leaves.

I took this photo on a clear, bright, sunny morning and it is straight out of the can. I did not even use a polarizer. Nor any digital manipulation to intensify the colors. Sometimes everything just falls into place and you get lucky.

  1. June 13, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Great, vivid, colorful photo, David. 🙂

    • June 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks Bob, you won’t miss this one coming across a field!!!

  2. June 13, 2012 at 9:35 am

    WooHoo! You shot and scored on this one. I like the sky the best.

    • June 13, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      Thanks T, everything just sorta worked out on this one!

  3. June 13, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Now that’s a strong colour….

    • June 13, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      I wonder if it glows in the dark for night time use!!

  4. June 13, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Great shot, David! I like that punch of color amidst that sea of green. That was an awesome find.

    • June 13, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      Thanks Gracie, saw this when I was driving down the road…the not so subtle color caught my eye and I had to go back!

  5. June 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Wonderful and colourful photograph. Thank you dear David, this is great shot. Love, nia

    • June 13, 2012 at 1:54 pm

      Thanks NIa, everything came together on this shot…I’m glad it was such a nice morning!

  6. June 13, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    It looks so pristine – almost like a toy that’s never seen a muddy field! A lovely contrast of colours.

    • June 14, 2012 at 8:55 am

      It was pristine…I found out later the manufacturer of these machines is half a block away from where I took the photo! Maybe they put the spreader in the field for promo photos. I should show them this one!

  7. June 13, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    It’s a lovely bright and ‘juicy’ colour!

    • June 14, 2012 at 8:58 am

      I like that “Juicy”, I think it is more fun than the standard gray that I have seen since then…maybe the gray is primer for other colors. Either way I loved the orange!

  8. June 13, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    This reminds me that when I was a kid the police cars in my county were painted orange and blue (sorry, no green).

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:03 am

      Wow orange and blue…I guess you always knew when the police were around! When I read the cars were orange and blue it reminded me of the Gulf Porsche 917’s race cars I followed when I was a kid!

  9. June 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Brilliant! Love the contrasts and the spot of orange on the white wheel. It looks brand new and not yet used? 🙂

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:05 am

      It was brand new and was probably waiting for delivery. I found out later the manufacturer is a half block behind where I was standing. I love how it is so bright and cheery!

  10. June 13, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    This one “pops”, David. If i remember correctly from art class, nice complements (orange and blue) and split complements(orange and green).

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:07 am

      I tell ya…it really caught my eye as I drove past it. I just HAD to turn around and get a shot of a brilliant orange farm machine with that background!

  11. June 14, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Terrific color!

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:12 am

      I honestly couldn’t believe my eyes when I put the photo up on the screen. Wow what did I do? What lens did I use? What time of the morning was it? What…?

  12. Nandini
    June 14, 2012 at 5:15 am

    Wow, ooooh! It does stand out. Such vivid colors, I loved this photo. 🙂 It reminded of a cartoon show -, “Bob the Builder”. It was very colorful.

    • June 14, 2012 at 9:13 am

      Driving by this small field it was hard to miss!!! I HAD to get a photo!!! “Bob the Builder” that’s great !!!!

  13. June 14, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    It’s so nice when those great shots happen like that! Vivid colors. Nice shot. I saw farm equipment everyday from growing up on a farm, and it really didn’t dawn on me to take photos since I was around them so much. Although, now I wish I had photos of the really old equipment we had – waaay older than me.

    • June 15, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Thanks Fergie, You’re funny…”waaaaay older than me” We have enough farms out here where I could keep busy for a long time…I’ll post more this summer!

  14. June 15, 2012 at 8:18 am

    amazing colours, so vibrant! Love the picture, especially the blue sky, we didn’t have that colour in the London sky for a while 😀

    • June 15, 2012 at 8:38 am

      I still can’t believe how everything came together on this one…no filters or post processing or anything…guess sometimes we get lucky. We’ve had beautiful skies like this for several day now. I guess the 2 days of rain cleared them out!

  15. June 16, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Love the contrasting colors.. You even got lucky with the cumulus clouds!!

    • June 16, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      Admittedly I sure did get lucky with this one!!! I only took 2 quick shots of this scene and they are almost identical…just out of curiosity I should look up what focal length, aperture/shutter I used.

  16. June 23, 2012 at 7:57 am

    beautiful! I love your blog 🙂

    • June 24, 2012 at 7:41 am

      Thanks Brandy, I am glad you are enjoying my blog. I hope my little hints are helpful and if I’m lucky, inspiring!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

