IN THE FIELD: When A Few Turn to Many

We’ve been around the ol’ dirt and mulch beds a few times when it comes to gardening. But we were in for a surprise when it came to planting and cultivating an unfamiliar perennial.

Penstemon is the name of the plant, but we have long since forgotten the variety. We imagined they would add nice spots of color throughout the landscape in between the blooming periods of other specimens.

It’s a beautiful plant with dark green and burgundy foliage and tall spikes on which the tubular flowers form.

So we planted a dozen. Little did we know, when these flowers go to seed, they spread…well, let’s just say…everywhere. Anyone need any Penstemon plants?

  1. June 8, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Ok, I’m wrong but when I saw the title of this I though more so about liquid libations 😉 It’s 5 o’clock somewhere, right? Love the dof in this one.

    • June 8, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      I’m sorry but that is just too funny…we call them refreshments. And it is 5″clock somewhere!

  2. June 8, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Penstemons a flower we use a lot in gardens here lovely flowers, but a lovely photo…

    • June 8, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      Thanks Bulldog, I had no idea there are so many varieties!!

  3. June 8, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Those are lovely, dainty flowers. I haven’t had a chance to do much to my small garden because of the crazy weather we’ve been having. I’m hoping the sun will finally show up this weekend so I can start.

    • June 8, 2012 at 1:33 pm

      I know what you mean…we have a bunch of pots of petunias that have been waiting to go into the planters on the deck for two weeks now!

  4. June 8, 2012 at 11:45 am

    We experience the same thing with some of our flowers (and weeds) and it takes a bit of work to keep them under control, if you don’t want them to spread. I’ve not heard of penstemons before, but it’s possible I’ve seen them. I have lupine plants popping up everywhere if I don’t get the seeds before they mature. Great shot!

    • June 8, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      Thanks Fergie, I’ve heard penstemons grow wild everywhere out west. I wish lupines did here. Love them!!!

  5. June 8, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    The mention of the name ‘Penstemon’ had me thinking why it was so familiar. I did an internet search and found some bright red ones which reminded me of when I grew them many years ago – in pots I think! How lovely to have these ones popping up everywhere 😉

    • June 8, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Glad I brought back some memories for you! There are so many types I would bet there is variety for everyone! And yes they are everywhere. It’s pretty, though I will have to thin some of them when they finish blooming.

  6. June 8, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    We don’t have this plant here.
    The flower is very beautiful. 🙂

    • June 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      They sure are and there are so many varieties that look completely different!

      • June 9, 2012 at 2:43 am

        I searched a bit on internet and I found that this is a plant from North America and Asia. As I said, I didn’t see it here. But we can buy it, I saw it for sale on internet .

  7. June 8, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    Awesome shot!

  8. June 8, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    So beautiful dear David, I loved it … great shot. Have a nice weekend, love, nia

    • June 9, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      Thank you Nia, and have a great weekend too!!!

  9. June 9, 2012 at 2:29 am

    Oh dear! But they are very pretty! I didn’t know they spread so easily.

    • June 9, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      We didn’t either, but they sure are pretty. We’ll thin them down a bit when they finish their show and transplant some of them to the back yard.

  10. June 9, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    Wild penstemons are decorating all of our mountainsides here right now, but we don’t have white ones! These are really pretty!

    • June 11, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Wow that must be an amazing sight!!! We haven’t had rain for a while so the blooms are lasting quite longer than normal.

  11. June 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Great post!

    I’ve really enjoyed keeping up with your blog—so much so that I mentioned your blog in my recent post for The Versatile Blogger Award! Cheers!

    http://artfulexplorationsinnature.wordpress.com/2012/06/10/versatile-blogger-award/

  12. June 11, 2012 at 8:52 am

    Thanks Tara, I’m glad to be keeping you entertained and thanks for the mention in your post. Congrats on the award…it is well deserved!!!

  13. June 15, 2012 at 8:27 am

    Yes please, I’ll take some! I can take all!! Love flowers 😀

    • June 15, 2012 at 8:52 am

      Ok I’ll save some seeds and mail them to you !!!

      • June 15, 2012 at 9:03 am

        yay 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

