IN THE FIELD: Cheerful

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I have found one of the best times to go to our farm market for groceries is on a foggy or rainy day. Partly because there are no crowds and the folks who work there can take some time out and chat for a bit. And when I am finished shopping, I can head out to the garden center, camera and tripod in hand, and photograph the marvelous floral displays.

When I was there this week the conditions for photography were perfect. It was chilly, foggy and drizzling. Most of the flats of flowers, vegetable plants, hanging baskets, and planters were under roof, so protecting the camera from the rain was not necessary. An added benefit is the clear plastic roof material. It lets in all the light, but protects the plant material and photographers like me from the wind and rain.

The even overcast light present under these conditions is perfect for shooting flowers and plants of all kinds. Nature provides the huge diffuser, colors are richer and more saturated, and usually no flash or portable reflector is needed because of the bright even light.

These gerber daisies seemed to light up the entrance to the garden center and welcome me inside for a morning of photographic treats.

 

  1. May 23, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Love the colors, David! Definitely the warm welcome I was hoping for on this gloomy day.

    • May 23, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      Thanks Gracie, glad it perked things up for you…it’s been overcast, rainy, drizzly for days here too!

  2. May 23, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Red and yellow such a lovely combination…love the photo… just perfect.

    • May 23, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      Thanks Bulldog, the two certainly go well together!

  3. May 23, 2012 at 10:19 am

    i’m no eliza doolitle but it’s loverly stuff you got there david!

    • May 23, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      That’s funny Nitzus…thanks buddy!

  4. May 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Gorgeous photo! The colors really pop in the flat light. Love it!

    • May 23, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks Tricia, when I came around the corner, these guys really jumped out at me. The gal that works the garden center had a whole bunch of them on various levels. Beautiful!

  5. May 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    I really love this one, David. The rich blossoms seem to be suspended. 🙂

    • May 23, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      Glad you enjoyed this one Bob! The whole display was amazingly bright and colorful!!

  6. May 23, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Gorgeous, David! I love the rainy day flowers! 🙂

    • May 23, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      Thanks Ted, it’s my favorite time to photograph them…plus the market is so darn convenient…just down the road a piece!

  7. May 23, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Beautiful – classical – image David. I love it.

    • May 23, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      Thank you Meanderer, I got all excited when I saw the way the gal had these arranged. These were displayed about knee height, so I sat down on the floor and went to work!

  8. May 23, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    Very pretty and nice sturation, David. Red is such a powerful colour but here it is still in the background. Nicely done.

    • May 24, 2012 at 10:33 am

      Thanks Jane, these were on the left side of the center aisle and more subtle softer colors were on the right side. I didn’t know which way to turn next!

  9. May 23, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Wonderful light and shadow you captured in this beautiful colours, fascinated me dear David, Thank you, love, nia

    • May 24, 2012 at 10:35 am

      Thank you Nia, The translucent plastic on the roof of the building helps to soften the light and make the colors really stand out!

  10. May 24, 2012 at 2:35 am

    I love the composition of this, and the flowers are just glowing. Beautiful!

    • May 24, 2012 at 10:42 am

      Thanks Jo, I think the gal who works in the garden center knew I was coming back outside after shopping and arranged them this way just for me. ha ha. I did have to move some other pots around though so that care and instruction tags would not be visible.

  11. May 24, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Great shot. Wonderful colours. And just the right balance between bright and dark parts.

    • May 24, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      Thank you Mueller, I liked this composition the best of this group. Thanks for stopping by!!!

  12. May 24, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Those are the conditions that I like best too, although I never get the roof. Wonderful color!

    • May 25, 2012 at 8:40 am

      Thanks Montucky, the roof is a nice bonus although if there is no breeze, it can get pretty warm in there! I guess there are not too many roofs up in the hills where you hike!

  13. May 25, 2012 at 6:46 am

    great picture 🙂 I see what you mean, the colours really are rich and full of life! This would make a beautiful greeting card 🙂

    • May 25, 2012 at 8:41 am

      Thanks Kristina, it would indeed make a great greeting card! I think I will go print some right now!!!

  14. May 25, 2012 at 9:04 am

    This reminds me I need to get mine very soon! Very Pretty

    • May 25, 2012 at 9:32 am

      Same here…we have flower boxes on the deck railing with nothing but dirt in them. Maybe we will catch a sale this weekend!

  15. Nandini
    May 25, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Oh my God, David!! (I don’t remember the last time when I didn’t had to say “OMG” for your photos).

    Beautiful. You live around such pretty flora. Loved this photo. Totally! 🙂

    • May 25, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      Thank you Nandini, you are such a sweetheart.

  16. May 28, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Gorgeous, vivid colors…and so clear! Beautiful!

  17. May 29, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Thanks Fergie, There were some purple/lavender gerberas that I photographed that same day. I will post them soon!

  18. May 30, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Love the colors, light and shadow in this photograph!

  19. May 30, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Thanks MD, I had really good light that morning…the colors were electric!

  20. June 1, 2012 at 7:48 am

    PERFECT lighting and a DYNAMITE (although serene) shot, David!

    • June 1, 2012 at 8:57 am

      Thanks John, I have to admit…I am really happy with this shot. We have cloud cover today with the impending storms heading our way…and I have to go there for some supplies…better check the flower/garden center!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

