IN THE FIELD: Another Good Neighbor

It’s been said, you can’t pick your neighbors. There are good ones and bad ones and if you are lucky, the bad ones move away. Far, far away.

We’ve been fortunate to have pretty good ones. One I mentioned in a previous post. He lives across the street and planted a wildflower garden alongside of the road. And soon I will have plenty of photo opportunities a short walk from my door. How cool is that!

Another neighbor has a small garden flanking both sides of his mailbox. There is a nice variety of specimens just starting to bloom. This Clematis climbing the wooden post for his mailbox is one of them. It burst into full blown glory in just two days.

It’s a convenient place to photograph flowers in the morning light. Partly because we are out walking the dogs early in the morning, and this little garden spot is the perfect place for them to take a break…and stop and smell everything. Which allows me to get some shots while they are busy investigating to see what other critters may have visited the garden overnight.

The mailbox garden was brightened by the early morning sun, allowing for a fast shutter speed, and a good depth of field, without having to bump up the ISO past 200.

I squatted down, turned myself into a stable shooting platform and hand-held the camera for this shot.

It’s so considerate of our neighbors to provide me with all these photo opportunities. I wonder what’s further up the street and around the bend…

 

  1. May 11, 2012 at 8:48 am

    You, sir, are the master of timing and lighting! Beautiful shot.

    • May 11, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Aww shucks Teri, I really do appreciate the kudos. I’m not always the great white hunter…I do come back with some shots and S says “you weren’t in the zone were you..”

  2. May 11, 2012 at 9:23 am

    It’s nice to have neighbors in the right places. 🙂

    • May 11, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      Boy it sure is!!! We’ve had a few bad ones in our days!

  3. May 11, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Another great shot, David!

  4. May 11, 2012 at 11:25 am

    wonderful to have such subjects close to hand. Great shot! 🙂

    • May 11, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks Ted, It sure is handy, there are some other folks on the other side of the ridge I am going to have to introduce myself to. They are avid gardeners and always put on a super display.

  5. May 11, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Beautiful flowers and a great shot! I hope your neighbor knows how much good he has done with those flowers!

    • May 12, 2012 at 10:40 am

      I am sure he knows how good they look…he’s out there quite a lot tending to that little oasis by the road! Can’t wait to see what else he will have blooming soon!

  6. May 12, 2012 at 3:29 am

    Beautiful photo and I just love the colour once again. Your neighbour’s plants are achieving worldwide stardom! It can only be flattering to have a photographer wanting to take pics of your garden.

    • May 12, 2012 at 10:43 am

      Ya know…I never thought of it that way! I’ll have to mention that the next time I see him. We usually see him in the morning when he comes done for his newspaper. He’s a super nice guy and always says hello to the pups.

  7. May 12, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    wow David – the colour on this is amazing. Love it!

    • May 14, 2012 at 11:32 am

      Thanks Jackie, they sure are pretty. I love clematis plants for their varied colors! At our old house we had a double white blossomed plant.

  8. May 13, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Perfect color saturation, David.

    • May 14, 2012 at 11:35 am

      Thanks John, this was a tough one because of the differences between the bright and darker areas! It took several shots to get it about right.

  9. May 13, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    I like the vibrant purple! Great photo.
    My Mother has a large yard full of beautiful flowers and colors. I love taking photos at her place.

    • May 14, 2012 at 11:36 am

      Thanks Fergie, aren’t Mom’s gardens great for photo opportunities!! No pressure or time constraints, or crowds!

  10. May 13, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Such a beautiful post! Love the colour 🙂
    anne

    • May 14, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Thanks Anne, I noticed this morning that he had planted some more perennials…I wonder what they will provide…

  11. Nandini
    May 14, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Beautiful color. Don’t know why, but portrait style has its own charm, don’t you think?

    Lovely photo! 🙂

    • May 14, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Thanks Nandini, I often switch back on forth between landscape and portrait. Some images just seem to work better in one format rather than the other. Part of the creative process I guess!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

