IN THE FIELD: Hidden Gems

While walking on a trail through a densely forested area near where I live, I discovered a shallow ravine I had not explored before. Probably due to the dense undergrowth present when I venture there in the summer.

Dominating the field of view was a wild dogwood tree with it’s spreading branches and white blossoms. It seemed to form an umbrella protecting the new growth of the younger saplings.

I chose to bring my monopod which doubled as walking stick, rather than my bulkier and heavier tripod, to shoot in the thick woodland. It would have been difficult to get a sharp photo hand-holding the camera with cloudy skies overhead, and being under the forest canopy. It can get pretty darn dark in the woods. So I’m glad I had the monopod. As it was, I had to bump up the ISO to 800 to obtain a relatively high shutter speed.

I love discovering hidden gems like this, and they often show themselves when places that are familiar are visited at different times of the year.

  1. April 30, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Great shot and I love your tips!

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:05 am

      Thanks Teri, I was never there when the dogwood was blooming…guess that’s how I missed it! I’ve got lots of tips…hmmm I think I know what the next one will be. Got monopod?

  2. April 30, 2012 at 9:59 am

    So beautiful dear David, I loved it so much… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:14 am

      Thank you Nia, I am glad you enjoyed the peek into the woods!

  3. April 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

    You don’t know how much the tips help the likes of me thank you, will know in future what to try when in similar circumstances. Thank you.

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:16 am

      I always try to include a little tid-bit that may be helpful to folks. Glad to be of help and thanks for the comment!

  4. April 30, 2012 at 10:55 am

    I agree, David. It is so much fun to discover a new place where you can find new stuff that you didn’t know existed. 🙂

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:17 am

      Isn’t that the truth!!! It’s even better when there is not a lot of travel involved!!!

  5. April 30, 2012 at 11:25 am

    I’m glad you pulled it off. I know how difficult it can be to grab enough light when you’re in the woods. Happy hidden gem to you.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:30 am

      Photography in the woods presents another challenge…the stability of a tripod or mobility of a monopod. Which should I bring?? Ahhh the burdens we photographers must bear…

  6. April 30, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    This is wonderful, David. Despite the high ISO, I think you pulled it off really well.

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Thanks Gracie, I wasn’t sure whether the shot would hold at such a high ISO. I figured all the little tiny leaves would be too grainy. It’s nice to know I now have more latitude than I thought!

  7. April 30, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    So delicate and pretty! This is something I enjoy too – discovering unexpected wild beauty!

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:37 am

      I love the thrill and excitement that comes over me when I find something new! Funny how it seems to happen most often when I am on a quest for something else!

  8. April 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    It is wonderful to find something beautiful unexpectedly! Lovely find!

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:39 am

      It sure is! It’s refreshing actually, especially when the find is in a familiar place. The familiar takes on a whole new look!

  9. April 30, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Beautiful! Those blossoms seem to float, don’t they?

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:40 am

      That was my thought exactly! They were just hovering over the forest floor…a little spark of light in the dark woods!

  10. April 30, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Dogwoods are one of my favorite trees! Great find!

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:42 am

      I love them too, I like how you see little spots of color in the woods as the other trees are putting out leaves.

  11. May 1, 2012 at 12:46 am

    That turned out well! Very pretty!

    • May 1, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Thanks Montucky, I’m glad I was walking there in the early spring because I never noticed the tree in the summer. It just blended in with the rest of the growth there.

  12. May 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    This is spectacular! Beautifully photographed.

    • May 2, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Thanks Jo, it was so peaceful there with all the new growth. The lone dogwood seemed to light up the area!

  13. May 1, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    A great find! Nice shot!

    • May 2, 2012 at 9:46 am

      Thanks Fergie, the woods was two colors…green and brown until I came across the dogwood tree. It was nice to see the splash of color!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

