IN THE FIELD: Colonial Architecture

Older homes inspired by a traditional colonial style is one of my favorite types of architecture. The houses have character, functionality, and individuality as compared to the cookie-cutter houses we see more often than not today.

While on a pre-scouting excursion, I was able to capture a series of images featuring a colonial styled house, rather than the garden I will be shooting later in the season. I do have some overall photos of the home, but I feel that this small portion of the front of the house tells a more informal story. Since the sun was directly behind me, I had to stand off to the side a bit and crouch down, so not to cast a shadow on the wall.

To me, the warm colors of the locally-quarried stone for the foundations and walls is cozy, inviting, and fits the wooded landscape. Functional wooden shutters add to the authenticity. As do the true multiple light windows. The window aprons and trim work from the older buildings have a distinctive appearance and level of craftsmanship not always seen in modern construction. A small detail, but one I feel is important to the overall aesthetics of a dwelling. The walls in older homes are typically thicker and have deep window sills. And as you can see in this photo, a rather large jardiniere is placed confidently in the window. They sure don’t make windows sills that wide in a typical new home!

This house was built in the early 1940‘s, and it illustrates many of the traits I find attractive. Although there is still work to be done, the present owners have done a wonderful job restoring and maintaining the home.

 

  1. April 23, 2012 at 10:40 am

    Great photo! I expect to see Martha Washington poking her head out any moment.

  2. April 23, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Thanks Teri, Hey, just last week I took some photos of Martha Washington geraniums. Does that count??

  3. April 23, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Everything is colour-co-ordinated! The stone in the walls, the shutters, the plants, the curtains and the plant? inside the vase. Very easy on the eye!

    • April 23, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      Ya know…everything does go well together!!! It is such a pretty home!!! I will be back there when the gardens are a bit further along this season. Can’t wait!!!

  4. April 23, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    I like the colours.
    🙂

    • April 23, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      Yes it is a nice color combination!

  5. April 23, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    I love these houses and I loved it too… You caaptured so nice one. Especially the colours… Thank you dear David, with my love, nia

    • April 24, 2012 at 8:57 am

      Thanks Nia, It is a beautiful home. I will post some photos of the property at a later date. I do think you will enjoy them!

  6. April 24, 2012 at 3:24 am

    I love all the tones and detail. Beautiful!

    • April 24, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Thanks Jo, the owners have been very careful with their color choices in everything. The place is so well put together…it’s easy on the eye and such a relaxing place to be!

  7. April 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Well done! I like how you captured the different textures of the window and stonework. Many old buildings intrigue me. They have so much character and charm.

    • April 26, 2012 at 9:22 am

      Thanks Fergie, old buildings are my favorite…probably because that’s all we have around here. I don’t get into the city very often…it’s about 60 miles away and it’s way too crowded for my taste!

  8. April 27, 2012 at 6:00 am

    Beautiful house, I can imagine the whole picture! I love houses with character, they are so eye pleasing 🙂

  9. April 27, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Yes they sure are!!! I should ask the owners if it would be ok to post a photo of the whole house. I sure is pretty!

  10. April 29, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    I prefer the style of old houses too, David, not to mention the sense of history and past lives lived that permeates them. That architecture is one of the things I love most about New England, and will miss the most when I return to southern California. The typical “California ranch” house can be practical, but it doesn’t do much to feed my soul. I love this window and the shutters that actually will shut across it – unlike those that are stuck on either side of a picture window just for decoration.

  11. April 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

    I will be sure to continue to post photos of this style architecture…I know it tugs at your heart. I used to work for a shutter company…real wood shutters that actually worked and were historically correct in design and construction. I really had a sense of pride knowing that they would be going on a period home.

  12. May 11, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Great photo zeroing in on one architectural detail, David.

    • May 11, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      Thanks John, there will be more of this home and gardens coming soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

