IN THE FIELD: Strange Afflictions

I have a secret to divulge. More like a confession actually.

I suffer from an affliction commonly known as Jardincentrious. Or in laymen’s terms, Garden Centeritis.

I can’t tell you when I first started noticing the symptoms. I can tell you this condition is impossible to self-diagnose.

From all the information I have been able to gather so far, it seems when a person is affected by this condition, in no time at all it advances to an uncontrollable state. The first stages usually present themselves after visiting your local garden center more than three times a week, for at least two consecutive weeks. By this time, the owners and the store employees will know your name and recognize the vehicle you drive. Don’t get me wrong, being on a first name basis with folks is a good thing. But when you visit often and rarely purchase anything, your condition has advanced to a higher level and professional help may be needed.

Another recognizable stage is when the vehicle you are driving automatically turns into the driveway of these establishments. With no directive from you, the driver.

Yet another sure sign this condition is progressing rapidly is when you are a passenger in a vehicle, and withdraw symptoms set in because the car you are riding in whizzed past a prime horticultural location. Especially if this location has never been toured before. Apparently, this behavioral symptom is difficult to witness. Or so I have been told.

Late last week I had a meeting with the buyer of a garden center at their corporate location to discuss the marketing of our Gardenscape book in their gift shops. This company is known throughout the region for the quality and variety of merchandise they stock. After a successful meeting, I attempted to head back to my car. My body was facing one way and my feet were facing the greenhouses and outdoor displays. My feet won out.

You see, I just can’t stop myself from wandering around a greenhouse or garden center nursery. Just ask anyone who knows me. I believe I finally must admit I am in the advanced stages of Jardincentrious, aka Garden Centeritis.

  1. April 2, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    That`s so beautiful!
    Regards,Laura

    • April 2, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      Thanks Laura it was really hard to decide what to shoot…there was so much to choose from so I just went from table to table and just fired away!! They even had summertime annuals already…not many but some!

  2. April 2, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    It’s ok, man! We’re here for you! LOL Beautiful flower. They don’t mind you taking the pictures? Because if that is so I need to contract that affliction too.

    • April 2, 2012 at 5:55 pm

      Thanks for the words of encouragement…in my condition I need it. This is a tough condition to deal with. Spring…tables are filled with various plants, so many plants, blooming plants, garden stuff…I need another fix!
      Seriously though, All I do is ask and so far everyone says “sure go ahead.” Then I just wander and fire away!!! Asking seems to be the key. I’m just myself and let them know how great the place looks and they give me free reign! Try it ’cause it works!!!

  3. April 2, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    I love the photo of the calla lily! I’ve grown those before.
    I wonder what my condition would be. We enjoy going to garden centers, but we also end up purchasing several plants – veggies and flowers.

    • April 3, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      Thanks Fergie, I’ve never grown them before although I used to be around them all the time when I worked for a wholesale nursery. Garden centers are dangerous places for us to visit. We have to set a budget with our wallets otherwise we would buy so much stuff we would never have money to eat! Except for the veggie plants…

  4. April 2, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    The subject and lighting are beautiful. Great humour.Much worse things to be addicted to down my back alley. 🙂

    • April 3, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      Thanks Jane, it’s a tough cross to bear, but like you said it could be worse. For instance I could have an addiction to really good craft beer…oh wait, I do love craft beer!

      • April 4, 2012 at 1:06 am

        LOL 🙂

  5. April 3, 2012 at 3:52 am

    Well at least you are admitting it, which is the first stage in the battle! But I’m not sure you’re really fighting it at all! 🙂 That plant is just beautiful – is it a house plant, or for outdoors? I guess a lot depends on the outdoor temperature!

    • April 3, 2012 at 1:52 pm

      Oh no it shows! Well I guess the first hint is all the floral photos I show…and guess what?? There will be more! The plant is a calla lily and in most climates it would be considered a house plant until late spring through summer. Pretty.

  6. photographybyjoylene
    April 3, 2012 at 7:13 am

    I never thought about going to a garden center to photograph – what a wonderful idea! Beautiful photo.

    • April 3, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks Joylene, garden centers are fantastic places to photograph. The subject matter is varied and abundant and sometimes there are butterflies that will pose for a portrait. All you have to do is ask and you will either get a yes or no answer. can’t hurt to try!!! You could offer a print or two for the privilege of shooting their plant material. Thanks for stopping by and the comment!!!

  7. April 3, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Beautiful image David! It seems I share the same affliction,nice to know I am not alone 🙂
    I recently stared working at a greenhouse. Sadly my camera must remain at home. Of course with my discount I could own these beautiful plants. Oh boy think I am in trouble!

    • April 3, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      Thanks Vickie, most people don’t know it, but this affliction can be contagious! WOW you’re working in a greenhouse! Way cool!! Bummer you can’t bring your camera…careful how many orphans you bring home. They have a way of taking over…I know from past experiences!

  8. April 3, 2012 at 9:00 am

    I never knew this sort of condition existed 🙂 but it’s better than being claustrophobic or afraid of heights or something similar to that 🙂 I think this condition does you a favour; the photos of plants you take are absolutely gorgeous 🙂

    • April 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      It’s a little known condition but it is highly contagious. It all starts with one visit, then another, then another and before you know it you’ve caught the condition! Thanks for the kind words Kristina!

  9. April 3, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Oh, David, it sounds like you’ve got it bad. And I’m pretty sure there’s no cure – it’s a chronic condition that you just have to live with as best you can. Too bad for you…nice for us, though, who get to see your lovely photos!

    • April 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      Indeed I do…I try to stay away from those places but…It turns out that once you have this condition you’re stuck with it for life. Deep sigh. Wait, what’s this in the paper??? The local garden center is having a sale! I’ll be right back….
      Thanks Lee for the kind words!

  10. April 3, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Beautiful, David! I hope there is no cure for this strange affliction!

    • April 3, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      Thanks Karen, I have heard that there is no cure in the near future for this condition. I guess I’m destined to live with it forever Oh well, in the meantime I had better format more data cards!

  11. April 3, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Well David, it sounds serious, but you seem to be enjoying it ;P
    I love your photo, it’s not cluttered with too many colors, so the fuchsia stands out really well against the green background.

    • April 4, 2012 at 8:52 am

      The condition is easy to live with, provided I get a plant boost every couple of days! I have to admit I really like this shot too. There were some yellow ones also but the blooms weren’t as nice.

  12. April 3, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    Beautiful photo, and what a wonderful idea! I had never thought of going to the garden centre for photography purposes! (Is Jardincentrious contagious?)

    • April 4, 2012 at 9:01 am

      Thanks Fototype, garden centers are fantastics places to play! With so much variety it’s hard to decide what to shoot next. Oh yeah, careful Jardincentrious is very contagious! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  13. April 4, 2012 at 4:04 am

    Beautiful image – lovely colours. I do empathise with your case of Gardencentreitis!

    • April 4, 2012 at 9:07 am

      Thanks Meanderer, I really like the this one too, I am glad that that you understand my predicament!

  14. April 4, 2012 at 5:09 am

    You captured such a nice photograph dear David. The contrast between the leaves are amazing… the depth of them fascinating with this beautiful flower… Great shot. Thank you, with my love, nia

    • April 4, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Thank you Nia, I couldn’t resist photographing this calla lily. It was so pretty nestled among the leaves!

  15. April 8, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    Beautiful image, David 🙂 Calla Lilies are lovely flowers.

  16. April 12, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    David, the image just GLOWS. Great capture.

    Your narrative did my soul TREMENDOUS good. Growing up in an ethnic neighborhood I didn’t know another male who was intersted in gardening. Decades later I have several with whom I can compare notes, but still, I don’t know too many guys who find garden centers the closest thing to heaven on earth. I can honestly say that I have never been unhappy in a garden center.

    One of the delights within this last year is that after I gave a colleague a division from my favorite streptocarpus, he came to share my addiction for them (as the world’s most rewarding houseplants), and he now has a collection bigger than mine. I was hooked after my very first “strep,” Bristol’s Tie Dyed bloomed nonstop for 2-1/2 YEARS until I had to divide it. All my streps are in constant bloom. If you haven’t seen the link on my website to the Flickr photos of my strep collection, here it is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/my_streps/

    –John

    P.S. My love of gardening earned me as a teenager the dubious nickname “Flowers.” Humor has always been my coping mechanism.

  17. April 13, 2012 at 8:54 am

    Aww shucks John, I really appreciate your kind words. I can relate to the teasing part of early life. I was called all kinds of things and didn’t have many friends. Guess that’s what happens when you like things that are different from everyone else. Me, I always wanted to play outside…everyone else I knew were playing baseball and basketball. Tennis was my game and I was good enough to make a career from it. But boys didn’t play tennis back in the 70’s. Sometimes I wish I stuck with it though. I checked out your Flickr photos!!!! Very nice indeed! 2-1/2 years is totally amazing!!!I know why you love them so much! My mom started us off gardening when we were very little. She would give us a spot about 4 feet square and we could plant anything we wanted. My wife knows that when we go to a garden center we will be there for awhile…she is almost as bad as I am heh heh. Yes, gardens and garden centers are pretty darn close to heaven on earth!
    P.S. I just laugh at folks that just don’t get it…I could go on and on here (soapbox)

    • April 13, 2012 at 10:10 am

      I grew up in the 50s and 60s. My mom encouraged my love of gardening, but my dad shared HIS opinion by saying, “We can’t EAT those flowers.” I did always have tomato plants, but we had a very small back yard.

  18. April 13, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Beautiful photo and one of the symptoms from your affliction. I would say it’s an affliction you can easily live with 😉

    • April 14, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      Thanks Anne, I’m really trying to cope with this…it sure is hard during this time of year! Well, anytime of the year really.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

