Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: I’m Bringing It Anyway

IN THE FIELD: I’m Bringing It Anyway

I had to drive into town the yesterday to take care of some business, and was planning to only be gone for about an hour. Whenever there are errands to be run, whether for business or pleasure, there seems to be this little bogeyman who magically appears on my shoulder.

He whispers in my ear, “What do you need your camera for? You’re only gonna be gone a short time. What do you think you will see? You’ve been there before.”

I didn’t listen to that little brat and brought the camera with me anyway. After finishing up what I had to do, I went for a short walk and discovered the first tulips of the season opening.

It pays not to listen to that pesky little bugger, so my camera is with me everywhere I go.

  1. March 30, 2012 at 8:54 am

    I think the little buggers have lots and lots of cousins because I have one who pops up often too! Hurrah for tulips!!!

  2. March 30, 2012 at 9:02 am

    I think this will be a great year for tulips. In fact, I have some shots from last year that I don’t think I ever posted. I may just have to post them for your viewing pleasure. Spring is here Spring is here Spring is here!!!

  3. March 30, 2012 at 9:09 am

    Those look so cheerful and bright, David! I’m so excited for spring too.

    • March 30, 2012 at 10:07 am

      I have to go back to this place in a day or two…there should be hundreds blooming by then! I can’t wait to see what other colors they have planted there!!!

  4. March 30, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Great Capture David. Sometimes it pays not to listen!

    • March 30, 2012 at 10:10 am

      Thanks Vickie, It sure does!!! Sometimes that little bugger even says to me “don’t turn around and go back to the thing you just saw…you don’t have time, or who cares if you don’t get a photo of it, it will be there later…etc. Ha I say, I’m going back!!

  5. March 30, 2012 at 9:41 am

    You did right dear David, camera should be always with us, we never know what will be… And I am so glad that you did because these tulips are so beautiful, you brough them to me too 🙂 Thank you, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • March 30, 2012 at 10:11 am

      That’s for sure…we never know what we may come across. If we don’t have the camera with us it will surely be gone tomorrow!!! Have a great weekend Nia!!!

      • March 30, 2012 at 10:19 am

        Yes, even the sunset time is not same… everyday there is a new sunset and sunrise… Thanks and Love, nia

  6. March 30, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Great color in those tulips, David. BTW, I absolutely never leave home without a camera, since I’ve paid the price several times for not doing so. 🙂

    • March 30, 2012 at 2:49 pm

      They sure are pretty and I know what you mean about paying the price. I always have it with me even though that pest is still there nagging away!

  7. March 30, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Beautiful capture David. I have a phone that takes a decent photograph but I always hate it when I am driving and I come across something that deserves the attention of a real camera and all I have is my camera phone. I often say okay I will comeback on the weekend and on said weekend wake up to see that it is pouring outside. I am seriously going to start thinking about leaving my camera in the trunk.

    • March 30, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      Thanks MD, Roger that, but is the trunk a good idea?? Unless you have the car parked in the garage at night. When I was in the corporate world I used to bring my camera bag into the office with me…co-workers used to ask “what do you have your camera for?” DUH they just didn’t get it.

  8. March 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    I’m learning this lesson too. Take the camera everywhere. Love the tulips. Beautiful.

    • March 30, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      Thanks Kate, I bring it EVERYWHERE…you just never know!

  9. March 30, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Couldn’t agree more! I can still remember many occasions when I really wished I’d taken my camera. That’s such a beautiful photo of the tulips!

    • March 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      I know what you mean. You’re driving down the road and think or say out loud (which is even worse) “aw man, I wish I had my camera with me.” That’s when you sink lower in the seat and mentally kick yourself. Been there, done that. Can’t wait to see what other colors will be blooming soon!!

      • March 30, 2012 at 3:33 pm

        I remember when we lived in North Wales, there was a grouse moor with maybe one or two red grouse on it (nothing like the moors here in Scotland). No one ever saw them. The ONE time I saw a red grouse up there… it actually crossed the road in front of me… you guessed it, no camera!

  10. March 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Good thing you had your camera! Happy Spring!

    • March 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm

      Yepper!!! I learned my lesson a long time ago. Happy spring to you too!!!

  11. March 30, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    The tulips are beautiful, and so are the bits of brilliant blue hiding there in the background. Grape hyacinth, maybe? Glad you had your camera with you. As I learned last week, it’s a good idea to be sure the camera is actually IN the bag, too! 🙂

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:01 am

      Yepper, grape hyacinths are indeed peeking out in the background. I keep my camera bag right next to the door so I have to walk past it to get to the garage. No excuse that way!

  12. March 30, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    Right on, David! I got a placque for my birthday that says, ” Listen to your heart. it knows where it is going.” Out of the way, little man!

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:04 am

      WOW that’s a great thing to remember! I shall post this in my studio! I like that “out of the way little man!”

  13. March 30, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    oh, the colours are lovely, so full of life!

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:06 am

      It’s rainy here this weekend but I have to head back that way today. So If there is a break in the weather I’ll take a look and see what others are blooming!

  14. March 31, 2012 at 5:56 am

    Me too! I cannot leave the house without my camera and if I do – I have to go back – even if I am only popping into town!
    Cheers

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:09 am

      I know what you mean…I have to have it with me. It’s my security blankey. To me it compares to driving without a seatbelt or forgetting to bring a water container in the car.

      • March 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm

        I ‘took mine anyway’ this afternoon and when I went to take some beautiful blossom realised that the memory card was still in the computer!

  15. March 31, 2012 at 6:48 am

    I’m glad you didn’t listen to him! Beautiful flowers!

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:10 am

      Me too Anne, there are more that should be just about ready to open. I’ll be checking this weekend!

  16. March 31, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Since you can’t say, “The devil made me do it,” it must have been an angel. A heavenly shot.

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:11 am

      One of God’s gifts for us to enjoy!

  17. March 31, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Such beautiful vibrant colours.

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:12 am

      I really like the red with the green background. I can’t wait to see what other colors are blooming!

  18. March 31, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Boy what great colour, well done. You are so far ahead of us we are going nuts. Great post David.
    Gerry

    • March 31, 2012 at 11:14 am

      Thanks Gerry, we had a really really early spring this year…I hope that doesn’t mean a super hot summer! I have to check today and see what other colors are blooming…if the downpours ease up!

  19. April 2, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Green and red! I really like it!

    • April 4, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Thanks Cornel, I like the contrast also!

  20. April 3, 2012 at 8:55 am

    I’m glad you didn’t listen to that bogey man 🙂 Beautiful tulips

    • April 4, 2012 at 8:48 am

      That little bugger can be a real pain sometimes but I try not to let him get to me. He is learning to keep quiet lately!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

