IN THE FIELD: Everything Is Blooming!

Earlier this week I made a trip down to the orchard to see what trees are blooming. The apple trees are going full steam ahead while the cherry trees are just starting to blossom. It seems a bit early for the trees to to have flowers and the first hints of leaves, but I guess Mother Nature knows what she is doing.

I arrived around 9:30 in the morning which was perfect…except it was only 36 degrees. Even though there was a breeze, the sun was warm and comforting. And walking down the rows and rows of trees was like being in a pink and white tunnel with a green grass floor and a blue sky ceiling. The branches are covered with so many flowers, so it looks like it will be an excellent crop this year.

I put the sun to my back, and since it was still pretty low, I was able to compose some shots with the deep blue sky as a background. No polarizer was needed that morning!

  1. March 28, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Most highly awesome, dude!

    • March 28, 2012 at 11:09 am

      Like wow man, thanks for the kuddos! No color enhancement…these are straight out of the camera!

  2. March 28, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Unbelievable colours. Brilliant!

    • March 28, 2012 at 11:10 am

      This is how it looked Monday morning. The sky was super blue and the pink and white flowers really stood out!

  3. March 28, 2012 at 11:26 am

    How very beautiful. Wonderful pink candy floss! Lovely.

    • March 28, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Pink candy floss…I like that!!! There are over 70 acres of apple trees at this orchard…it’s glorious!

  4. March 28, 2012 at 11:56 am

    Wow, quite an explosion of color!! Beautiful! I’m fortunate I haven’t experienced seasonal allergies, so this is all around lovely to me.

    • March 28, 2012 at 1:29 pm

      I would bet if you were experiencing allergies that you would be sneezing quite a bit considering how many trees are blooming at the orchard! I wish I was able to get an overall photo because the place is all white and pink but there is no place high enough to see the whole orchard.

  5. March 28, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    More gorgeous shots, as I have come to expect from you.:-)

    • March 28, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      Thank you for the compliments Bob, they are not taken lightly. I have told quite a few folks about your photography skills as well!

  6. March 28, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Oh dear David, this is soooooo beautifullllll…. I can’t believe this, everything is blooming… Like a dream land or like a fairy tales… I wished to walk there… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • March 28, 2012 at 1:34 pm

      I am glad you have enjoyed this and it is like being in a fairy tale surrounded by pink and white flowers. The smell is amazing too! I hope your knee is feeling better!

  7. March 28, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    This is glorious and reminds me of a similar tree I used to pass on my way to school! I used to collect up the fallen blossoms.
    Thanks for another beautiful photograph.

    • March 29, 2012 at 8:44 am

      Glad I was able to trigger some memories. I’m fortunate to have this place so close by…it’s a sight to behold!

  8. March 28, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Wow! Just gorgeous, especially the image looking down the row. I love your composition on that one along with the amazing colors!

    • March 29, 2012 at 8:48 am

      Thanks Tricia, It really is a pretty place that needs some more exploration. There are a couple of other sections that I would like to photograph that are on a hill side. I’ll have to experiment over there and see if the camera views are similar to what the eye sees. I hope so!

  9. March 28, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Love the combination of the rich pinks and the deep blue!

    • March 29, 2012 at 8:50 am

      Thanks Mike, the light was perfect that morning and this shot is straight out of the camera…no filters or extra processing. Got lucky I guess!

  10. March 29, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Still waiting for our blossoms here in the orchards of British Columbia (Okanagan Valley). This will be the first spring that I have experienced here and I can’t wait to see the blossoms and take photos. I hope we have some wonderful colours like yours. These photos are stunning, iconic almost.
    So glad that you didn’t have to edit them much either. When a photo is so close to the original it is a real joy to see. Yours are just that.
    Thank you. I hope to post mine soon. Come on Spring.

  11. March 29, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    wow. i have to walk my shoes off to find one cherry tree here but you certainly had a good dose of cherry blossom there! 🙂

    • March 30, 2012 at 8:56 am

      You have no cherry trees where you live?? We have quite a few here….and lots of apple trees also. Both varieties are blooming really well this year!

  12. March 29, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Spring will be arriving before you know it…and when it does be sure to have lots of room on your data cards!!! Thanks for the kind words Kate. All the photos you see on my blog are straight out of the can as they say. I may crop some a bit, but outside of that they are the original. I have always believed that it is best to get it right before pressing the shutter. That just comes from practice and knowing the capabilities of your equipment…plus I started out shooting slide film so you had to learn quickly. I threw out tons of bad pics before my instincts and knowledge took over. Digital is so forgiving…bad photo…delete.
    I do hope you post some of your orchard photos…I would love to see them!

  13. March 30, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Absolutely gorgeous! This is the place to go in spring! I love cherry tree blossoms, the colour is so intense! 🙂

    • March 30, 2012 at 8:57 am

      It has been a good spring for blooming trees this year. The roadsides are lined with all sorts of trees that are in flower!

  14. March 30, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Wow, gorgeous colours. And I love the composition of the second image, with the path going off into the distance.

    • March 31, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      There was perfect light that morning and the path you see is one of 100’s!!!

  15. March 31, 2012 at 12:15 am

    Wow!

    • March 31, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      WOW is a great way to describe this !!! Every time we drive by we say the same thing!

  16. March 31, 2012 at 2:39 am

    love the colors…what a wonderful feeling at the change of seasons !

    • March 31, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      I couldn’t agree more Abu, it’s a glorious time of year!!!

  17. March 31, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Beautiful colours! I love your photos! 🙂 Spring hasn’t come as far here yet, but we’re slowly and carefully getting there 🙂

    • March 31, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      Aw thanks Anne, I love your photos too. I always feel like I am there with you. In my mind that’s a successful photo!!! And your writing is always a joy to read! The rebirth of the countryside will be there soon!

  18. March 31, 2012 at 8:37 am

    GLORIOUS photos!

    • March 31, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      Thanks John, it was a beautiful morning and the light was perfect! Chilly but beautiful !!!

  19. April 2, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Great photos! !!

    • April 5, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Thank You Cornel, Most of the blooms are gone now but it sure was pretty while it lasted!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

