IN THE FIELD: Brain Spot

Periodically I will look through the several binders and boxes filled with film slides I have shot over the years. And when I have some down time, I’ll scan several images so I can archive them electronically. I find it’s better to do a dozen or so at a time, and take a short walk down memory lane. Rather then reliving the entire journey.

The oddest thing is even with the large volume of images I have in my library, I can still remember where each shot was taken. And if I would put some thought into it, I could probably recall the lens I used. Somewhere in my gene pool, one of my ancestors must have had a photographic memory…and I am sure glad I inherited it. It’s been rather handy.

The problem is, I get teased a lot by folks in my inner circle for having supernatural memory powers. But then, these same folks poke fun at me because I have retained the names of most of my teachers as far back as elementary school.

But…every now and again, I hit a Brain Spot. Like with this photo. I can honestly say I have absolutely no idea where this image was taken. I do know that this is not a man-made structure, and the steps in the rocks and the waterfall were formed through natural processes.

I’m pretty sure it was taken in upstate Pennsylvania. Or was it in Minnesota…

 

  1. March 26, 2012 at 9:59 am

    I’m pretty sure it was taken some place wet! hehehe I am a bit wobbly when it comes to remembering names and DH is worse. Nice shot.

  2. March 26, 2012 at 11:18 am

    I tried to figure out where it was taken by the date on the slide…not happening. One thing I can tell is that it was taken near dark. It is an Ektachrome slide and the original has a blueish cast to it. I pretty good with names though…after I say it about 10 times…Sharon isn’t.

  3. March 26, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I’m sure, David, that wherever this was taken, you must have had a great time 🙂

    • March 26, 2012 at 4:07 pm

      It must have been a really great time because I don’t remember a thing about it! I wonder if it was during the cocktails while on camping trips days??

  4. March 26, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    Pennsylvania, Minnesota — greatly similar, right? 🙂 I have a good memory too, for things that interest me. But as I get older, I find I can’t pull some things out of the memory banks anymore. I sometimes think they’re getting full, so some of the oldest stuff has to go to make room for the new! Kinda like my closet.

    • March 26, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      That’s how I am too…I remember pretty much only what interests me…I just keep filling up my brain with what matters. That way it purges out the useless information. Speaking of closets…time to clean out the basement.

  5. March 26, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Dear David, I remember this, I watched on television but I don’t remember where it was… This is amazing photograph… amazing. Thank you, with my love, nia

    • March 26, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      Darn, I thought you might be able to help me with this one…well that makes two of us that can’t remember where this was…three actually, because Sharon can’t remember either!

      • March 26, 2012 at 4:33 pm

        Dear David, maybe I confuse too, I am not sure but there is a place like this one in China too,… Made my mind busy now… 🙂 I wish to remember well…

  6. March 26, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    It could be the surface of some exoplanet that you visited while you were living inside that warp-drive-neutrino-blaster thing. That would explain your memory loss, it was probably erased when you travelled back in time.

    Very nice and interesting pic, though!

    • March 26, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      That’s it!!! That explains everything! When I traveled back in time I had never been to this place before, so how could I possibly remember it?? Thanks for clearing this up Jo!!!

  7. March 26, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    Gorgeous photo, but it would cause many sleepless nights for me were I in your shoes! I can’t stand it when my brain gets difficult!

    • March 26, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      Thanks Anne, I know what you mean…it’s been bugging me for years! The other day I found 3 other photos of this windy road on the edge of a cliff with a river down below. We don’t have anything like that around here. Unless it was in New Jersey in the Delaware Water Gap Recreation Area. Don’t remember seeing cliffs there though. Another brain spot…deep sigh.

  8. Nandini
    March 27, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Great capture, David. 🙂

    • March 27, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Thanks Nandini, I just wish I could remember where I took the photo…I would love to go back and get some more shots!

  9. March 27, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    How fortunate to have such a good memory! I have many brain spots – likely a sign of aging, but it’s hard to admit that. Sorry I can’t help with the photo even though I lived in PA.

    • March 28, 2012 at 8:50 am

      My good memory is very selective…especially when I was in school and has been getting worse ever since! heh heh I think I will blame it on aging too, or maybe lack of interest.
      I know that the waterfall is not in one of the touristy spots because we avoid them like the plague. Oh well it shall remain a mystery forever.

  10. March 27, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    I keep reminding myself to write exposure data and locations down – then I forget.It’s the short-term memory that goes first.:)

    • March 28, 2012 at 8:52 am

      I know !!! I do the same thing…at least cameras nowadays can tell us what our settings were! Short term memory does go first…what was I just going to write?

  11. March 30, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Photographic memory is great 🙂 That’s how I remember most of things 🙂 That used to help me a lot in school 🙂

    it really is an unusual shot! Very creative and it really doesn’t matter much where it was taken 🙂

  12. March 30, 2012 at 8:53 am

    During my school days, everything I would remember had nothing to do with school. Example…fishing, camping, riding my bike, building model airplanes, playing outside in the woods, etc. To me, school was a major distraction. I guess you are right…it really doesn’t matter where the photo was taken…it just kinda bugs me when I can’t remember where I took certain photos. Oh well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

