IN THE FIELD: Colorful Entrance

Earlier this week I went down to the orchard to pick up some fresh vegetables and fruit. On the way to the front door of the store, I had to walk past a bunch of tables that were filled with the latest shipment of spring flowers.

I couldn’t miss out on an opportunity like this. Since I always have my camera with me, I knew exactly what I would be doing after I picked up my groceries. The tables and walkways were covered with pansies, primroses, and phlox. What an entrance to a classic country store!

  1. March 23, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    I love these flowers and their colours… Thank you dear David you captured such a beautiful photograph. Fascinated. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      It was hard to choose a photo for this post. The pansies were of all the colors of the rainbow!

  2. March 23, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    I have always loved pansies. Great shot, David.

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      Thanks Bob, there were pansies of every color you could think of…and a lot of them!

  3. March 23, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    I’ve seen lots of those around here too at the markets but whatsa phlox? LOL Great colors.

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      They sure had a mess of ’em there. I forgot to mention in the post that around here we call the phlox (it is a funny looking and sounding word) mountain pinks or just pinks. They also come in white and purple. Sorry ’bout that…

  4. March 23, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Beautiful blooms! You captured them well.

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks Fergie, I had to really look to find the right composition…they had just watered all the plants and some of the blossoms were too wet and droopy. I think this group saw sunlight first so they had a chance to dry a bit.

  5. March 24, 2012 at 2:45 am

    I love these too… it’s a bit early to start planting them out here but I’m looking forward to bringing more colour to the garden later on. Lovely image!

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:54 pm

      It’s a good time for planting these now. Earlier in the week it was in the high 70’s! Now it is in the 40’s and chilly and rainy. I can’t wait to see what they will have in the store next…theyget some unusual things there.

  6. Nandini
    March 24, 2012 at 9:30 am

    Wow, this is a treat for my eyes. Thanks for sharing. They are lovely. 🙂

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      NIce bright happy flowers…sure to brighten up the day!

  7. March 24, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Beautiful colors, and I really like how they just flow on into the background. A very pleasing shot! I’m also looking forward to planting flowers next week after this weekend’s rain!

    • March 24, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      Thanks Tricia, I can’t wait either…especially after the warm spell we had. I’ve already had to mow the back yard twice…and it’s ready again!

  8. March 26, 2012 at 4:26 am

    I have one just coming out in a pot on my kitchen window cell 😉 These flowers have such rich colour in them and they last so long 😀

    • March 26, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Pansies are great…especially if it stays on the cooler side. We had some last year that lasted well into the summer…then the heat kicked in and they just couldn’t hold on.

  9. March 28, 2012 at 10:30 am

    We had Pansies in our garden last year and this just serves as a beautiful reminder that I need to plant some this weekend. Thanks David for sharing this beautiful photograph.

  10. March 28, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Hey you bet!! Glad this worked as a reminder for you…I have to put some in too! Along our front walkway would be perfect since there is minimal sunlight and they won’t get toasted by summer!

  11. March 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    David, the dynamic colors just EXPLODE from this photo! It was a special treat for me, because every year around the first of April I buy pansies to plant in one of my outdoor concrete containers (I can get 6 weeks of bloom before it’s safe to plant annuals outdoors).

    I had one pansy survive last summer (hard for them), and it had bloom on it all winter. A week ago when it was flourishing due to the warm weather, I bought my pansies early to give it company. (I didn’t want it to show up in a Daily Graff grumbling about its owner.)

  12. March 29, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Glad I was able to inspire you! Good idea since pansies can’t stand to be alone…you know how they get.
    Two years ago we planted a bunch along our front walk that rarely sees the sun and they lasted until July! It was such a colorful entryway we hated to see them go.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

