IN THE FIELD: Indoor Jungle

During my latest scouting mission to a local greenhouse/garden center looking for an early spring color fix, I discovered a number of orchid plants in the indoor foliage greenhouse. With the greenery as a backdrop, the orchids and their unusual shapes and glorious colors immediately captured my attention. And I couldn’t resist the photographic opportunity.

When the greenhouse is packed full with even more orchids and additional foliage plants, I imagine it will be like an indoor tropical rainforest. But without insects the size of King Kong, snakes that would consider me a midnight snack, or the oppressive heat and humidity associated with a tropical jungle in an exotic location. And with no passport required, I can visit this greenhouse anytime.

Now, that’s my idea of a photo-op.

  1. March 9, 2012 at 8:39 am

    YAY!!! He gets to do orchids! Very pretty. I predict someone is going to be having himself some fun very soon 🙂

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm

      Yay Yippe!!! You better believe it!!!

  2. March 9, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Another beautiful photo, David. 🙂

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      Thank you Bob, they sure are pretty flowers!

  3. Nandini
    March 9, 2012 at 9:43 am

    I loved the colors, David! 🙂 Nice shot.

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      Thanks Nandini, I love orchids and their variety of shapes!

  4. March 9, 2012 at 10:38 am

    You are amazing, made me smile your explanations… I loved them dear David, how nice there is a greenhouse there and you can visit… When I read the title at first, made me smile again, I was expecting a rainforest image indoor… This is so beautiful. Thank you, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm

      Thanks Nia, I’m glad you enjoy my little stories…they are all true!

  5. March 9, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Orchids are my favorite – lovely.

  6. March 9, 2012 at 11:09 am

    oh my god! This is just lovely! superb colors 🙂

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      They had quite a few plants of this color along with many others!!!

  7. March 9, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Gorgeous! I could use a dose of spring color. I need to find a nice local greenhouse and take my camera along.

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      The local greenhouses are great places to bring a camera…all you have to do is ask and the folks usually say “have at it…or something like that!

  8. March 9, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Beautiful shot, David.

    BTW, I saw crocuses–open and blooming–in central Indiana on Jan. 31. Daffodils were shooting up in NE Illinois before the end of February and trees are budding in both places, at least a full month ahead of normal. It’s going to be a very early spring in the Midwest, it would appear.

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      Thanks Kerry, things are happening quickly here this week also and next week it is supposed to be warm also. Better move quickly!!!

  9. March 9, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Yes, Phaleanopsis orchids. Aren’t they just spectacular? And with so many different colours to choose from there is always one that will match you home. See my attempt at orchids here: http://wp.me/p24WjY-8b
    Looking forward to many more photos of flowers from your Indoor Jungle.

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:56 pm

      I love orchids…must be a childhood thing. My Mom worked at a grower that developed 80+ new varieties! I like your photo too and there will be more coming!

  10. March 9, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    Beautifully captured, David!

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Thank you Gracie, it was the best…no customers that day when I was there so I could really spend some time with each shot!

  11. March 9, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Lovely flower.

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      It sure was a pretty grouping of color against the green!

  12. March 10, 2012 at 2:07 am

    Absolutely beautiful!

    • March 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      Thank you Jo, I’ve got more to show in the weeks ahead and I can’t wait to go back to that greenhouse/garden center to get some more!

  13. March 10, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Beautiful image. Very nice details!

    • March 10, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      Thank you Meanderer, there were so many plants to choose from…look at this setting, how about this one, or this one…

  14. March 10, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    love this for the grouping,colours and crispness! On some of my shots of orchids the stamen or pistel is out of focus-any tips to correct that? usually that is where I focus. should i take a shot with smaller aperture or more distance or aim just in front? I usually shoot at aperture of 5.6 for my close-ups..maybe it is camera shake.

    • March 12, 2012 at 11:57 am

      Thanks Jane, focusing is an issue when there are many blossoms. I tend to focus on the closest point to me and then play with aperture settings till I get the result I’m after. Doesn’t always work, but that’s part of the game I guess. Use a tripod if it is allowed and that really helps!!!

  15. March 12, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Such a beauty and two such opposite post 🙂 a cactus, undemanding and an orchid, over demanding in one place:)

    • March 12, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      Yes the are quite opposite of one another yet each is beautiful in it’s own way. That place is really cool…tons of photo ops!!!

      • March 12, 2012 at 12:26 pm

        I’d love to go there; I will have to look for some flower shows in London 🙂

    • March 13, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Come over for a visit and I’ll take you there!

      • March 13, 2012 at 8:51 am

        I’d love to 🙂

  16. March 13, 2012 at 6:46 am

    Magnificent, David!

    • March 13, 2012 at 8:28 am

      Thank you John, orchids are so beautiful…best part was I had the place to myself since it is so early in the season!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

