IN THE FIELD: Golden Light

I scouted a local greenhouse/garden center the other day for a location shoot. Since spring fever hasn’t hit my area yet, I knew there would not be a lot of stock available. And there would not be hoards of people clambering over each other to get the latest and greatest flowers for their gardens.

This gave me a chance to scope out the lay of the land…or rather, the greenhouse tables. Some winter holiday season indoor plants were still in stock, along with foliage plants, orchids, cactuses, cyclamens, pansies, primroses, and a few others I didn’t recognize. I had a tablet and pen with me, but did I write down what their names were? Of course not.

While I did get the spring color fix I was hoping to find, I was more attracted to the cactus display. There were hundreds of various sizes and varieties in different size pots and arrangements.

The early morning light coming through the windows cast a golden glow on a small portion of the cactus display, reminding me of a sunrise in the desert. The light made the spines appear soft to the touch, but we know that isn’t the case.

Deliveries of more flowers, herbs, cactuses, and exotic plants are arriving everyday and I can’t wait until the the greenhouses are overflowing with the colors of spring and summer. I’ll be filling some data cards for sure!

 

  1. March 7, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Yay! You found a place with more fodder for fotos! Nice cacti!

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:33 am

      Boy I sure did!!! This place is HUGE. I had only been outside to buy mulch, ornamental grasses and some perennials before, and had no idea they had that many greenhouses. They are all connected and they just go on and on!

  2. March 7, 2012 at 8:46 am

    really loved the pic :)!

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:34 am

      Thanks Dexterity and thanks for stopping by!

  3. March 7, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Great pic of the cactus, David. Down here we are very familiar with cacti species. A lot of us landscape our yards with desert plants. They thrive with no care whatsoever. Just stick it in the ground and leave it alone.

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:38 am

      Thanks Bob, wow carefree landscaping must be a nice change of pace from the traditional way!

  4. March 7, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Such beautiful light, David! It almost makes you feel warmer just looking at it.

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:41 am

      Thanks Saffron, the shaft of sunlight was only on one end of the table and the rest was in shadow. It does have a cozy feel although probably not to the touch!

  5. March 7, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Lovely, soft golden light. Wonderful!

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:44 am

      It was overcast all morning except when I wandered over to the cactus tables and the sun came out for about 15 minutes. Sometimes things just fall into place. Total luck!

  6. Nandini
    March 7, 2012 at 11:34 am

    GOLDEN! You know I have been seeing this a lot lately, and I’m lovin it! 😀 Beautiful picture, David. It is so neat and sharp with soothing and softness provided by the golden light. I loved this one! 🙂

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Thanks Nandini, glad you liked it. The soft golden light only made an appearance for a few minutes…I just happened to be standing there. The display was huge with hundreds of these really neat cactuses.

  7. March 7, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    The photo and lighting are beautiful and deceiving at the same time! The golden soft glow makes these cactuses look so soft (as you say) and inviting. It pulls me in…but do not touch.

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:51 am

      Thanks Fergie, you are right…it does pull you in. But I know better…I used to work in a green house and had to transplant many a cactus. Ouch!

  8. March 7, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    You’re right, the spines do look soft. Such a lovely warm lighting.

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:54 am

      They look that way, but I know from experience that this variety will let you know they are not soft and cuddly! There was just a small area that was warmed by the sun and I almost walked by!

  9. March 7, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Beautiful light and expertly photographed! I love it!

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:57 am

      Thank you Karen, I almost missed out on this one. I didn’t notice the sunlight at the one end of the table until I was about to move on to another part of the greenhouse!

  10. March 7, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    Wonderful photograph… I loved it dear David, loved it. Thank you, with my love, nia

    • March 8, 2012 at 8:59 am

      Glad you like this one Nia. It has a warm and cozy feeling except I wouldn’t want to snuggle up to them!

  11. March 7, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Beautiful photo! I’ve never shot cacti before. They are intriguing, and the light is gorgeous. Your image makes them look so touchable!

    • March 8, 2012 at 9:03 am

      Thanks Tricia, I find cactuses so interesting. They have so many different shapes, colors and textures that really lend themselves to photography. Unfortunately they are usually in the hotter part of the greenhouses, but they don’t move around from the fans like flowers or other plants tend to. You can play with longer shutter speeds and get some neat effects!

  12. March 8, 2012 at 12:07 am

    That light was fantastic for the cacti! Lovely shot!

    • March 8, 2012 at 9:05 am

      Thanks Montucky, It was short lived and I almost missed it. I was at the other end of the table photographing some others and I just happened to look the other way and saw the sunlight. Time to relocate!

  13. March 8, 2012 at 12:40 am

    lovely light

    • March 8, 2012 at 9:07 am

      Thanks Jane, the warm light didn’t last very long…the overcast sky closed up shortly after I took several shots.

  14. March 8, 2012 at 12:46 am

    strength and vulnerability in the same frame – that is how this photo looks to me !

    • March 8, 2012 at 9:10 am

      Wow ya know…that is so true! I had the same feeling but couldn’t find the words. Guess it’s a vocabulary thing. I like the way you see things Abu!

  15. March 8, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    They seem to be fluffy. 😀

  16. March 8, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Fluffy is a good way to describe them also…but they are not!!! Ouch!

  17. March 9, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    Nice composition and truly lovely light! No one would guess you were indoors for this shot.

    • March 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

      Thanks Lee, I got lucky with this one…the sun came out from behind the clouds for just a few minutes and warmed up the scene!

  18. March 12, 2012 at 9:48 am

    Beautiful and sunny picture, makes me think of Arizona 🙂 Cactuses are such good plants, they are so undemanding and so pretty 🙂

    • March 12, 2012 at 11:54 am

      Thanks Kristina, it does have a western feel to it. When I worked in a nursery/garden center I was always bringing home baby cactuses and making miniature gardens…till I was told I had enough in the house…

  19. March 13, 2012 at 6:49 am

    I’ll resist the urge to needle you with puns and just say Nice Shot!

    • March 13, 2012 at 8:26 am

      Thanks John, I’ve been trying to think up a response but, I just can’t pin one down…

  20. March 15, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    Gorgeous shot! Garden centers are such a perfect place for photographic explorations! I’m loving these garden shots!

    • March 16, 2012 at 9:02 am

      Thanks Tara, you are so right…garden centers have a wealth of photo ops! Sometimes it’s hard to figure where to begin!!!

  21. March 16, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Live this photo Rob!! Excellent lighting..

    • March 16, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Please excuse me my miss step. I was on the phone with my boss Rob and I called him David and called you Rob. 🙂

      • March 17, 2012 at 11:40 am

        No worries…don’t ya hate when that happens. Too funny!!!

    • March 17, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Thanks MD, the light coming through the window on this end of the table only lasted a few minutes and then the cloud cover moved in again. Got lucky!

  22. March 19, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Wow, beautiful light!

    • March 19, 2012 at 4:06 pm

      Thanks Strawberry, the light was short-lived but for a moment I was able to capture the glow before it disappeared behind the clouds!

  23. March 30, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Gorgeous light, David.

    • March 31, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      Thanks Mufidah, on the cloudy rainy day that we are having here it’s warm and cozy feeling…well maybe not so cozy…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

