INSPIRATION: Spring Is In The Air

Unlike other areas of the world, we haven’t had much of a winter this year…if the amount of snowfall is how a harsh winter is judged.

Lately, most days have been quite balmy in the afternoon. The temperatures go back down to typical winter numbers at night, and the ground re-freezes which reminds us that it really is winter.

We have noticed that a few varieties of spring bulbs are emerging from their winter dormancy earlier than usual, and there have been more songbirds in the area than we typically see and hear this time of year.

Maybe this winter is a reprieve from the mass quantities of snow we received last year. Or mother nature is waiting to catch us off guard.

With all the hints of an early spring, I thought I would post a photo from last season…just to get in the spirit.

  1. February 22, 2012 at 8:42 am

    When I noticed the title in my e-mail box, I came here, dear David. I miss spring… Thank you so much for these beautiful spring blossoms… How nice to watch them. You did great shot. Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    • February 22, 2012 at 9:42 am

      I miss Spring also Nia…it won’t be long though before it’s here! The temperatures this week are supposed to be quite warm!

      • February 22, 2012 at 9:51 am

        You can’t believe but they expect snow again in here, especially this weekend!!!!! have a nice day dear David, with my love, nia

  2. February 22, 2012 at 8:59 am

    I was about to say! Other than a few green tips of crocus or tulips or whatever they are poking their little heads above the dirt..it’s not quite springy yet. Isn’t that a dogwood tree? I love those.

    • February 22, 2012 at 9:44 am

      It’s not Spring yet but it sure does feel like it…it’s supposed to hit 60 degrees this week! Yup it is a dogwood tree…and it’s one of my fav’s also!!!

  3. February 22, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Beautiful photo of the blossomes, David. 🙂

    • February 22, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Thanks Bob, this is an older dogwood that was literally covered in blossoms last year!

  4. SaptarshiC
    February 22, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Mother Nature does like to toy with us doesn’t she?
    The flowers look amazing though.

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      She sure does…it was balmy…well down right warm earlier this week and now it’s cold, rainy and foggy. Go figure.

  5. February 22, 2012 at 10:16 am

    This past weekend there were definitely snowdrops and daffodils in the park here in NYC – crazy! But it makes me happy to know spring is coming:)

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      We are just now starting to see snowdrops…but the daffodils are poking through the soil…It’ won’t be long now!!!

  6. Nandini
    February 22, 2012 at 10:35 am

    These are very beautiful! Loved the new colors.. 🙂

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      Thanks Nandini, this tree was covered in blossoms last year…I’ve never seen anything like it!

  7. February 22, 2012 at 11:49 am

    How very lovely! I love Spring 🙂

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:14 pm

      Thanks Meanderer…I love spring also…it will be here shortly!!!

  8. February 22, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    That’s such a beautiful tree… I’ve seen a cornus with white flowers, but not pink like those. They’re amazing. We have signs of spring here too, and it’s such a relief to hear the birds singing and to see the snowdrops coming out. Thank you for the lovely reminder of summer sunshine!

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      This is a beautiful tree…I just wish it was on my front lawn !!!I saw my first small bunch of snow drops this year yesterday morning!

  9. February 22, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    Wow…pretty!…but early for a spring bloom.

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks Fergie, yup it’s a bit early, but it is only a teaser of what we will all be seeing in a few weeks!!!

  10. February 22, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Love that dogwood image! Feels like spring today. Saw daffodils poking up in the garden at the post office and rode my horse outside! But I still know to never count out a late winter storm around here…

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      Thanks Tricia…it has a beautiful shape to it…i just wish it was on my property! I think winter is still hanging on though…it’s cold again in the mornings.

  11. February 23, 2012 at 12:15 am

    My children are already done with Winter and are thinking Summer. They are bummed about the lack of snow. Dogwoods are one of my favorites!

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:24 pm

      After our experience last year (50 inches in one week in addition to multiple other snowfalls) I’m ready for Spring and Summer! I love Dogwoods also…we have three but none the size of the one pictured here!

  12. February 23, 2012 at 10:46 am

    We haven’t had a proper winter either; it was mild all the time. We had freezing temperature in London for a few days and maybe 2 days of snow and I could already hear myself mumbling that it’s cold… I kept reminding myself that I should be happy I am not at home where temperature dropped shockingly to 34 C below 0! And today it’s sunny and +17 in London! Is that appropriate for winter? 🙂 The picture is beautiful, I can’t wait for spring! 🙂

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      It’s been an odd winter here too. Whenever we have a really warm spell and then the temperature drops again it feels colder than it did before the warm spell. Must be getting old or something.

  13. February 23, 2012 at 11:06 am

    What a beautiful dogwood! I’ve never seen one so pink before. I love them so much that the first thing I did when I bought my previous house was to put one in the front yard. It cost me the sacrificial sum of $75 – by far the most I’ve ever spent on any “plant” – but it was gorgeous and I was so proud of it. The bracts were white with a just a hint of pink and I looked forward to seeing it bloom every spring.

    • February 24, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      They are one of our favorite also. We have three small ones but nothing the size of the one in this post. That one is probably 20 feet tall and around. It’s a gorgeous tree!!!

  14. February 28, 2012 at 11:03 am

    THANKS for the reminder that “winter drab” is not the only color nature wears when it’s not snowing.

  15. February 29, 2012 at 9:42 am

    You bet!!! spring and all her glory is right around the corner!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

