IN THE FIELD: Frozen Waves

At this time of year in the part of the world where I live, protecting camera equipment from the cold winter weather is a priority. If the snow is blowing, I use a Rainsleeve to keep the snow off the camera and lens. I also carry a spare battery in my pants pocket to keep it warm, so when the battery in the camera begins to lose energy from exposure to the cold, I have a backup.

These are not hard things to do, allowing me the luxury to shoot throughout the year. And to capture not only larger scenics, but smaller seasonal vignettes.

This handrail was covered in snow which had begun to melt from the afternoon sun. When the temperature fell at night, the snow and water refroze into this formation that, to me, resembled waves on a beach.

When I took this photograph it was 21 degrees, sunny and windy. I had plenty of battery power…I just could have used warmer gloves.

  1. February 15, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Initially I thought, what in the world is he doing taking a picture of some crashing waves….and then I read the post 🙂 Cool! or should I say cold? hehe

    • February 15, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Drat, almost got you on that one. I will have to try harder next time!!! When I first saw this I actually said out loud “whoa look at this!”

  2. February 15, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Fooled me too!

    • February 16, 2012 at 11:54 am

      It fooled me and I took the photo!!!

  3. February 15, 2012 at 9:27 am

    Great photo. Very imaginative and creative, David. 🙂

    • February 16, 2012 at 11:57 am

      Thanks Bob, I was out photographing ice patterns and I came across snow covered handrail…lucky for me it was out of most folks reach!!!

  4. February 15, 2012 at 9:39 am

    I like this image a lot, David. 🙂 Shooting in the cold is a surely a challenge! I have some fingerless gloves I use, but it doesn’t help in really cold weather.

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      Thanks Katie, ya know…I got a tip from Vickie @ vickieszumigalaphoto.wordpress.com/ She uses gloves that are inside of mittens and the ends of the mittens fold back to allow you to use your fingers. Need to look into them!!!

  5. February 15, 2012 at 9:59 am

    My initial thought was a glacier! Very cool shot!

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      A glacier …drat I’ve been found out…I thought my trip to Antarctica on Saturday could be kept secret. Ya know it does resemble a glacier!

  6. February 15, 2012 at 10:15 am

    That’s a gorgeous shot, David.

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks Saffron, I think I will keep this photo handy to view in the dog days of summer!

  7. Nandini
    February 15, 2012 at 10:55 am

    This is an excellent photo. I really like the layers here- very interesting. The last layer is fantastic. 🙂

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      Thanks Nandini, I almost walked right past this spot. I’m glad I didn’t!!!

  8. February 15, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    It really does look like surf and waves! Yes – keeping one’s hands warm is a challenge.

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      When I first saw it thought that too…wow frozen waves…I do have a problem keeping my fingers warm when it’s really cold…maybe battery powered electric gloves are the answer!

  9. February 15, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    I like the layering here; very nicely seen, David.

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      Thanks Kerry, there was only a short stretch of the handrail that had this kind of formation…the rest had either blown off or maybe brushed of from people using the handrail.

  10. February 15, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    Like everyone else, I had to read the post to figure out what this was. It really does look like frozen waves!

    I’ve been frustrated trying to take photos in the cold this year. My dSLR doesn’t seem happy when the temp goes below freezing, won’t meter properly, and gives me an Error message. I’m not sure if it’s a flaw in the camera or just the nature of the beast. 😦

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      Pretty cool huh!! Ya know…I bet it is a battery issue with your camera. I would pick up a spare, charge it up and on your next adventure when it’s cold outside, keep it close to your body to keep it warm. When the camera begins to act up, try swapping batteries and see if there is a difference. Camera batteries don’t like the cold so the trick is to keep them warm.

  11. February 15, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    after reading the title and looking at first glance thought it WAS a wave. Well done!

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      Neener neener neener I fooled you too!!! Actually when I was looking through the viewfinder it really did look like a wave…close-up!!!

  12. February 15, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Wow – that’s a nice shot! It really does look like waves.

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      Thanks Fergie, waves frozen in time until the sun warms them. I like how the snow looks like froth at the edge of the surf!

  13. February 15, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Love the waves! I sure know what you mean about warmer gloves though.

    • February 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      Thanks Montucky, unfortunately the tide went out when I returned to the spot a few hours later. I just wish those electric glove weren’t so darn expensive…maybe they are worth it but 150.00 bucks is a bunch. http://www.gerbings.com

  14. February 16, 2012 at 1:37 am

    What an amazing photo!

  15. February 16, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    Thank you Jo, It was pretty amazing looking through the camera lens!!! I felt as if it was moving…or maybe it was me shivering!!!

  16. February 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    This is amazing…Fascinated me too. Thank you dear David, it is so nice to learn some details about cold days… Actually I haven’t yet an experience in such a coldest winter days… but during weekend, (in Mudanya) it was really so cold for me and even with fingerless gloves it was problem for me…Especially when the wind was strong… So I thought of photographers who work in the coldest places more than mine… I admire them so much, like you. You did great shot. Have a nice day, with my love, nia

  17. February 19, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Thanks Nia, keeping warm can be an issue where I live, but the last couple of days it has been quite warm. It was a big difference from a week ago!!!

  18. February 20, 2012 at 5:23 am

    Wonderful photo!! 🙂 it really does resemble waves!

    • February 20, 2012 at 8:45 am

      ThanKS Anne, when I saw the snow and ice I thought it was just the coolest thing! A wave on a handrail…who would have thought !!!

  19. February 20, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Thanks for the tips 🙂 And what a shot! Reminds me of back home when the Baltic Sea used to freeze and me and my friends would go to the sea side and watch the sea wave underneath the ice… Didn’t see nothing like it yet 😀

    • February 20, 2012 at 8:46 am

      Wow I bet that was a cool thing to watch!!! I have never been to the sea in the winter…it is now on my list of things to do!!!

      • February 20, 2012 at 8:51 am

        It is amazing 🙂 Haven’t seen it for years now since I moved to London, but it is definitely something to see 😀

  20. February 25, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    I thought it WAS waves on a beach (with wind-whipped spray). A great capture.

    • February 26, 2012 at 9:50 am

      That was my first thought when I first saw it…even more so when I looked through the lens!

  21. March 16, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Nice illusion of flowing water. I like the stripes too. I have frequently wished for warm gloves that are thin enough to feel the camera controls properly. Have yet to find anything that matches my needs.

  22. March 17, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Thanks Ehpem, I know what you mean about finding the right pair of gloves. I may just have to save up for a pair of battery powered heated gloves for winter this year. I found some great ones from Gerbing’s. http://www.gerbing.com Have fun snooping!

    • March 17, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      What an idea! I never thought of that before, but they make sense.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

