IN THE FIELD: Weekend Snow

I don’t know how many times I have photographed the woodlands surrounding my home throughout all the seasons. Whether it is the morning light, a tree limb that has fallen in a recent storm, or a fresh snowfall at this time of year, I still seem to discover new vistas.

This past weekend we had a wet and heavy snowfall starting Friday afternoon with temps in the low 30s. As the evening progressed, it got colder and the snow dried out to a fluffy powder. It continued to snow during the day on Saturday and into that evening, with more snow squalls blowing through, bringing 30-plus mile per hour winds. And it has been blowing ever since with wind chills in the single digits to low teens.

I took this photo just after sunrise Saturday morning, although the sun was not visible due to heavy cloud cover. I wanted to capture the experience of being in a winter wonderland. The contrast of the fresh white snow against the dark tree trunks, and the few leaves still clinging to the branches despite the winds, all contribute to this winter scenic.

I guess it just goes to show, no matter how many times you revisit a location, if you take a moment to truly see, you may just find what you are looking for.

 

  1. February 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Great wintry photo, David. We got about one inch yesterday afternoon, but it is melting away already this morning.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:06 pm

      Thanks Bob, Hey you got snow in Texas!!! I know it doesn’t happen often where you live but it’s pretty cool that you did get a little !

  2. February 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Amazing snow photographs of trees… I love trees… Thank you dear David, have a nice week, with my love, nia

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      Thank you Nia, I love trees too…whenever my Mother couldn’t find us when we were kids, all she had to do was look up and there we were! Have a great week too Nia!

      • February 16, 2012 at 12:59 pm

        This is so lovely… I remember my childhood memories now. Yes, all my day was passing under the trees or top of trees… There were so many fruits and we were eating them at the branches. But my son didn’t grow up like me, with trees… How sad. You are welcome and Thank you dear David, with my love, nia

  3. Nandini
    February 13, 2012 at 8:59 am

    Well, same goes with me. I photograph the landscape around me every other day, with so many new things/colors, if someone can really notice them. I posted something very similar today. Hehe. 😀

    Great photo. I always love the texture play between the branches and the snow. It’s beautiful! 🙂

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      Thank you Nandini, it’s amazing that the landscape is ever changing and so few people take the time to notice. Love your mountains by the way!

  4. a strawberry patch
    February 13, 2012 at 9:04 am

    Incredible photograph! I live in the South, this is not a sight I get to see very often!

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Thank you, I bet…well if it’s any consolation I have plenty more photos of snow to post!

  5. February 13, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Yep! That is good and cold there. 🙂 Glad you didn’t lose power this time.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Yepper it was durn chilly this weekend. We didn’t lose power but we did have a hot water heater go bad. Blasted thing was only eight years old. Oh yeah, and the router for the computers quit working also. When it snows it pours!

  6. February 13, 2012 at 9:56 am

    The textures in this are wonderful. The snow just adds a different depth to the photo. Beautiful!

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      Thanks Katie, the snow made the woods look impenetrable. I imagined that one of the creatures from Narnia would emerge at any moment! The neatest thing was the stillness!

  7. February 13, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Beautiful photo David. I am hoping we get a decent storm here in MD before the year is out. I agree with the comment from Katie above that there is a lot of depth to this photograph.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      Thanks MD, well the Famers Almanac is calling for a big one later this month so that should give us some great photo ops!!!

  8. February 13, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Really beautiful – I love the hint of colour in the lower branches.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      Thanks Jo, there are still quite a few leaves left on the younger trees to to the add a little something to the overall scene. I like how the leaves change the scene from monochrome.

  9. SaptarshiC
    February 13, 2012 at 11:42 am

    This is really nice. The snow on top of the branches makes everything look all the more interesting.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      Thanks SaptarshiC, the leaves do add a nice touch to an otherwise monochromatic scene. And thanks for stopping by!

  10. February 13, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Lovely photo! I also find new vistas and new focal points all around my property. We lost another big tree in the storm yesterday and it’s actually improved our view. So now I have another point of view to explore.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Thanks Tricia, oh no another tree lost! The ever changing landscape is always offering something new!

  11. February 13, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Looks beautiful. Snow is so magical – reminds me of home!

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Thanks Saffron, it sure is pretty…darn cold though!!! I call our woods the “snow palace.”

      • February 13, 2012 at 4:26 pm

        Yes, reminds me of the Snow Queen! 🙂

  12. February 13, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    I like the shape of the tree in the middle.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      That’s exactly what drew me to scene!

  13. February 13, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Beautiful!
    The dry leaves looks a bit like golden rain.

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      Thanks Sigrun, I never looked at it that way but I guess they do! Thanks for visiting!!!

  14. February 13, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    What a beautiful snowy scene. I love the way some of the leaves are showing through near the bottom. What type of trees are they David?

    • February 13, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, I like how the leaves add just a hint of color. They are young Beech trees that have retained some of their leaves. I suppose they may just make it till spring!

      • February 15, 2012 at 12:01 pm

        Thank you. I thought they were Beech. I love how they retain some of their lower leaves. Beech trees are so beautiful.

  15. February 13, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    David, what a wonderful photo! I especially like the touch of color provided by those lingering leaves. Truly a winter wonderland.

    • February 14, 2012 at 11:05 am

      Thank you Lee, it wasn’t a big storm but it sure transformed the landscape!!!

  16. February 13, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Beautiful! A dusting of snow can add so much beauty, and a different perspective, to a setting. It’s nice to have taken a photo of this before the snow melted.

    • February 14, 2012 at 11:09 am

      Thanks Fergie, what amazes me is that there wasn’t a whole lot of snow but it completely blocked the view through the trees. At this time of year you can see into the woods about 50 feet or so. The snow only stayed on the trees for one day due to the high winds…glad I took advantage of the situation!

  17. February 14, 2012 at 4:13 am

    What an amazing picture! I love winter photos, they are always so beautiful and pure!

    • February 14, 2012 at 11:10 am

      Thanks Kristina, I too love the snow covered winter scenics…they are so fresh and clean! More to come!!!

      • February 14, 2012 at 11:40 am

        Looking forward 😀

  18. eliedass
    February 14, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    Uncle Dave,
    This is an amazing picture. With this, along with the other winter pictures on the site, you have captured winter. I am sorely disappointed with winter’s performance this year, and your pictures have captured the coziness and the pristineness of the winter I love.

    • February 15, 2012 at 8:55 am

      Thanks Elie, It sure was pretty that morning! Hopefully we will get a bit more snow before the season is over…it has been on the weak side so far. I do have plenty of photos from years past that I could post to satisfy your needs!!

  19. February 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Great photo! Nice touch of winter there!

    • February 15, 2012 at 8:57 am

      Thanks Montucky, we haven’t seen much snow yet this year…actually compared to what you guys have seen where you live, it hasn’t snowed at all!

  20. February 20, 2012 at 5:17 am

    I love the photo 🙂 And the hint of colour in the bottom part of the photo is really a nice touch!

  21. February 20, 2012 at 8:43 am

    Thanks Anne, I like that tiny bit of color too. I kind of have a feeling that this was the last snow for the winter. We got off pretty easy this year…compared to last year!

  22. February 27, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    I’ll belatedly join everyone else in admiring this lovely picture of snow-lined woods. The bits of tan toward the bottom of an otherwise mostly monochrome image are a nice touch. Nice going, David.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

  23. February 28, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Thanks Steve, Yes I thought the leaves added just a little something to the overall scene…and it’s ok to be a little belated!

  24. March 30, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Beautiful. And so very white!

  25. March 31, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    It sure was pretty for the short time it lasted!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

