INSPIRATION: Rock Hound

I have always been a rock hound. Even as a young boy I collected rocks. I would often come home with a pocket full of stones or pebbles. Shiny rocks, flat rocks, round rocks. Once I even found a gold nugget that was two inches across. I thought I was the richest kid in the world! I didn’t know it at the time, but it turned out to be iron pyrite, commonly called fools gold.

Now whenever my wife and I travel, we always come home with a handful or two of rocks. We have acquired a nice collection of pocket weights from all over the country.

When we were packing to move into our current home, we thought we’d take it easy on the movers. So we packed our rock collection in small eight-inch-square boxes, thinking to keep their load lighter.

The movers were a great bunch of guys and there was a lot of teasing and laughing going on the whole day. The guys were constantly poking fun at us about the obsessive level of organization and how everything, excluding the furniture, was in a box. And labeled with a description of its contents.

When one of the movers was loading up a hand truck with…you guessed it…boxes, to take out to the moving van, he came across one of the rock boxes.

“Aww…what a cute little box,” he teased. Then he attempted to pick it up. “Jeez, what the heck ya’ got in this thing…rocks?” he asked.

“Dude…there’s a label on the side. Didn’t you read it?” I replied.

“Oh…Rocks of the USA: Box 4. Who woulda figured?” he muttered.

Well, his co-workers sure got a lot of mileage out of that one. “What’s the matter, Joe?Can’t you pick up a teeny tiny little box?”

This is a eight inch long geode from my collection that is filled with amethyst crystals. It’s a little big to fit in my pocket, so it sits on a shelf in my studio.

 

  1. February 3, 2012 at 8:56 am

    A purple geode! Cool! I have a collection of seashells that have tried to take over but I have a cousin who likes instead of postcards or magnets from friends and family travel likes little rocks she puts out in her koi pond.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:09 am

      Isn’t it funny how our collections seem to think they can control the household. They start out small but have big intentions.

  2. February 3, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Great photo of a very beautiful rock. Such great colors. My wife is one of those that likes to pick up odd and beautiful rocks, too. She puts them, you guessed it, our rock garden. 🙂

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:11 am

      Thanks Bob, Yup I guessed it all right…after all…rocks need to be nurtured to ya know…

  3. February 3, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Geat macro David. Love the color and detail.

    • February 3, 2012 at 9:21 am

      Great Macro

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:12 am

      Thanks Vickie, this was harder to shoot than I thought it would be. All the facets of the crystals are facing in different directions…it wasn’t easy avoiding hot spots!

  4. February 3, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Beautiful, so beautiful… I love rocks too, but I haven’t known them so much. But I know this one, because I love its colours… Thank you dear David, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:13 am

      Thank you NIa, this one was a gift from my wife last year…she knows how I love purple!

  5. February 3, 2012 at 9:39 am

    Wonderfully rich picture. I love stones too, especially amethyst. I “heart” anything purple or violet.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:17 am

      Thank You Tarot, this is one of my favorite rocks in my collection. The purple is such a royal color!

  6. February 3, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Ha, ha…I can sooo relate with the little boxes for heavy things when moving! The photo is great! I like purple and I really like amethyst. It’s my birthstone.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:20 am

      It was a fun day…that poor guy never heard the end of it from his buddies. Amethyst is my favorite too! Maybe I should do a post about the garnets and sapphires we were picking up off the ground when we were in Montana…hmmmmm

  7. February 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Such beautiful amethyst! I have a similar collection of rocks & minerals, and they were a nightmare to move house with. But somehow, you never have enough – there’s always room for just one – or two – more!

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:22 am

      I know what you mean Jo…one is not enough…and you can never have too many!!! We have some really neat ones that we put in the fountain in our garden, and on the shelves, and in the dresser drawers and and and…

  8. February 3, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    How wonderful! Such beautiful colours.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:23 am

      Thanks Meanderer, I just love that color too!!!

  9. February 3, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Great story! And a simply beautiful amethyst, David.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Thank you Saffron, I wonder if the movers still talk about our rock boxes…It is a pretty specimen…it weighs about 5 pounds!

  10. February 3, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I had a great conversation with a young lad when I saw what he had in his hand and asked, “Are you a rock boy?” and he replide, “Yes!” and he asked if liked rocks and I said “yes!”then we compared our booty and had a great conversation. At least forty years apart but we both shared the magic…like how you have caught the light reflecting off one of the crystals.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:27 am

      That is too cool Jane!!! It was a tough shoot…I had to try all kinds of positions so there would not be too many reflections. It was fun though and depending on how the light hit the crystals the color would change!

  11. February 3, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Wonderful photo of your amethyst geode, David, and it’s a beauty. You’ve really captured the color, and it looks great against the dark background. Amethyst has been “my” stone/crystal since I was twelve. I saw a photo of one in a color plate of Minerals in an old dictionary, and it’s been my favorite ever since.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:30 am

      Thank you Lee, it is my favorite stone also. The richness of color in some stones is amazing. My other favorite is Tanzanite! Oh well I just like them all!

  12. February 3, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    That’s a real beauty! We also have a rather large collection of rocks. Lately I have taken to bringing back a small rock from each mountain peak that I visit to add to the collection.

    • February 4, 2012 at 11:32 am

      Thanks Montucky…and that sure is a great way to remember your adventures in the mountains! Rocks are just so cool!

  13. Nandini
    February 4, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Wow, David. I love its colors. Amazing. 🙂

    • February 4, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Thanks Nandini, it’s purple colors are my favorite of all the rocks in my collection!!!

  14. February 5, 2012 at 6:30 am

    Beautiful!

    • February 5, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      Thanks Anne, it is one of my favorites. I have a glass bottle of tiny garnets and sapphires we found just laying all over the ground in Montana. I wonder how they would photograph…

  15. February 6, 2012 at 9:54 am

    ha ha, great story 😀 Made me laugh out loud 🙂 It’s goo to be organised, I do the same, I label everything in detail so I know where to find things and where they belong 😀 Love purple colour!

    • February 7, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Thanks Kristina, glad to bring a smile! It was a funny day. Those mover guys were a great bunch to hang out with. We bought them all lunch…well more like a feast…and we all laughed about the boxes and the fun time we had loading and unloading all our stuff.

  16. February 8, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Wow, David. Calling that geode a “rock” is like calling Iran “Iraq”. The photo is as stunning as your narrative was funny!

    • February 8, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      Heh Heh yeah I guess that was a bit of an understatement…small boulder probably would be a better description. Darn thing weighs about same as a sack of flour!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

