INSPIRATION: Here Today Gone Tomorrow

I had driven past this old shed for many years and often wondered what it may have been used for. It sat out in the middle of a farmers field with nothing else around it, braving the elements of all the seasons. Each year it would lean over a little bit more and the paint would become more weathered. I never saw any human activity there or even any machinery stored inside. It was just there.

Late one winter afternoon, I was driving by the old farm and shed, the wind was blowing fiercely. Snow was drifting and covering the roads that were clean and dry a few hours before. It was the pre-curser to a storm that followed later that night. I had my camera with me and wanted to capture the stormy weather and the shed standing up to the impending storm.

Sadly, last spring the old shed was torn down and a community of new homes took it’s place.

I am glad I was able to take this photograph before this old shed vanished. It was the inspiration for me wanting to capture and preserve the images of older buildings and structures in the area I live. They may not be there tomorrow.

 

  1. January 30, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Photography how important actually in our life… At the end they become a document of old days… I am so glad that you took its pictures. This is beautiful… Standing there so inspirationally and inspired you too, that you had this amazing shot. Beatiful, so beautiful dear David, your photographs always make me to start painting, real painting… My home is too small and with my cat how it would be, I am not sure, but at the end I will start again to make real painting. Fascinated me.

    Thank you, with my love, nia

    • February 1, 2012 at 8:43 am

      I love to document the old things that are around us before they are gone forever. I missed taking photos of an old hotel in town here. It was there one morning and gone later that afternoon. I am glad this inspired you to paint again!

  2. January 30, 2012 at 9:04 am

    As with many things – and people – you never know how long they will be there. Beautiful image. Love the sky.

    • February 1, 2012 at 8:47 am

      That’s for sure Teri. This shed had been there for years…a lot of years, and last spring a bunch of close together McMansions went up in the field. I love the sky in this one too…it was about 20 degrees and the wind was blowing about 40 mph. Brrrrrr

  3. Nandini
    January 30, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Beautiful message, David. I loved the feel in your photo. Great one! πŸ™‚

    Cheers to this moment! πŸ™‚

    • February 1, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Thank you Nandini! It was a shame to see my friend the shed vanish forever. At least I have a photo of it to remember!

  4. January 30, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Great photo, David. Love that dramatic sky. πŸ™‚

    • February 1, 2012 at 8:50 am

      Thanks Bob, It was a beautiful afternoon…really cold and windy but beautiful !

  5. January 30, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Glad you got the shot and were able to preserve history digitally. Very sentimental as an ancestor of mine (farmer) used to help build sheds, barns and other buildings in the winter to earn money. I don’t know if any exist anymore.

    • February 1, 2012 at 8:54 am

      Me too Fergie…get them while they are still there. Finding the old buildings your ancestor built would be a fun quest! It would make for some interesting research!

  6. January 30, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    What a wonderful, moody photograph. I like it very much. It’s such a shame it’s not there anymore but it’s wonderful that you were able to capture a photograph of it. Beautiful.

    • February 1, 2012 at 8:58 am

      Thanks Meanderer, it is a shame that it’s gone…I used to wonder what it was used for, who built it and when, why was it abandoned etc. It was a bit on the blustery side that afternoon!

  7. January 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    I love old shacks and barns, and this is such a wonderful, atmospheric photo. I’m glad you obeyed the impulse to stop and capture it when you had the chance. I hate to see old places and open spaces like that disappear.

    My daughter used to drive by an old, vacant house every day on her way to and from work. One day she felt compelled to stop, and took several photos of it. The very next morning, when she drove by, the house was being demolished, and by that afternoon it was completely gone!

    • February 1, 2012 at 9:05 am

      Me too Lee, I loved that old shed. I had heard that back where I grew up, the old historic hotel/restaurant/ that was built in 1760 was torn down by the township without notifying the locals, so that a major name drug store could be put up in it’s place. Idiots.
      Catch them while they are still there!!!

      • February 1, 2012 at 9:21 am

        David, that’s a shame. A “major name drug store” tried something similar here a couple of years ago, apparently with the support of the local planning board, but word leaked out. There was such an uproar that they abandoned the project, thank goodness!

  8. January 30, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    A superb image, and I love the dramatic sky.

    • February 1, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Thank you Jo, this was one opportunity I couldn’t pass up…sure was cold out there while setting things up!!!

  9. January 31, 2012 at 4:43 am

    Beautiful picture! I am glad you captured it before the shed was gone, it looks so lonely… I think it was time for it to go πŸ˜€

    • February 1, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Thanks Kristina, I’m glad that I stopped also…funny thing…I really miss that old shed!

  10. January 31, 2012 at 10:14 am

    I could have written an essay on that photo! I love the light behind the dark clouds, the wind visible in the snow, and that poor wee house all alone out on the field

    • February 1, 2012 at 9:11 am

      Anne, you make me laugh! It sure was a dramatic scene and I wonder if anyone else noticed. They probably just wanted to get home before the storm hit! Ya know…I would love to read your essay!

  11. February 1, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    I get so much out of the old prairie buildings-so many stories attached.Thanks for your comment on the pileated-that’s a cheapie lens-$200 but all I could afford at this time and I so wanted to get out and get close to the birds.

    • February 2, 2012 at 9:16 am

      I bet Jane!!! Western and central Canada is one part of the world I would love to see. Wide open space is how I imagine it to be!!!

  12. February 2, 2012 at 7:20 am

    I’m so glad you took the opportunity to photograph it while it still existed – so often people don’t take the time (and I definitely include myself in this). Love the effect of the sky over the snowy landscape!

    • February 2, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Me too Journey! I am like you and everyone else where I say “I’ve gotta photograph that ………….and then life happens and then it’s too late. I try my best though! Yes that was some sky that afternoon…the storm later that night was even more turbulent!!

  13. February 5, 2012 at 6:36 am

    I love this and the sentiment behind it. I am just starting to take my photography more seriously and am on a day course in Lanhydrock, Cornwall, at the end of this month, hoping to learn lots!

    • February 5, 2012 at 11:58 am

      Thank you Mybeautiful, hard to imagine that one would become so attached to a shed…but I did and that’s what inspires me to carry on documenting the older structures. All the best with your class! The best advice I could give would be to just have fun!!!

  14. February 8, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Your shot of the shed captures the essence of a wintry blast. It makes me want to go and wrap up in BLANKETS.

    • February 9, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Yes it does appear blustery…it was!!! The wind was blowing about 40 mph that afternoon and it was well below freezing!!!

  15. March 30, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Lovely image, David. Just whizzing through your blog after a long absence and at first glance I can see you’ve taken some really good photographs these past couple of months!

  16. March 31, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks Mufidah, I’m so glad to hear from you again! I’ve missed you and can’t wait to see what is in store next!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

