IN THE FIELD: Shadows And Wire

One day last week I headed over to a nearby town to photograph the older buildings and storefronts in the shopping district. It was rather brisk outside so I bundled up with a warm coat, hat and gloves. It is December after all.

I had photographed several shops that were all decked out for the holidays and I also squeezed in some shopping. Then I came upon something completely unexpected.

I wandered into the courtyard of a store that sold whimsical garden sculpture made by local artisans. Some of the items were brightly painted and others were made with rusty metal. Other pieces of garden art were made with a combination of metal and glass. While roaming around the outdoor displays, some interesting shadows on the far stucco wall caught my eye. After closer inspection, I realized the shadows were created by several panels of this rusty wire sculpture leaning against the wall. The multiple panels resembled a jumble of tree branches. Looking at them more closely revealed they were actually an artist’s rendition of gigantic leaves.

I really liked the interesting patterns created by the shadows and how the rusty wire contrasted with the white stucco wall. To me, it evoked a tropical feel.

Knowing we are headed for these colder temps for the next few months, thinking about garden sculpture and warmer weather sure beats the memories of shoveling that 52 inches of snow we received last year…all in one week.

 

  1. December 21, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    This is great! I love metal sculptures.

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Thanks Meanderer, I love metal sculptures also…color, textures etc.

  2. December 21, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    I thought at first they were bare twiggy branches, then I saw the leaf shapes and realized they were wire sculpture. I love all the contrasts, and even the sharp vs. soft shadows on the wall. Great shot!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Thanks Lee, I wonder if the shop owners ever noticed the shadows. Now if only I had a stucco wall here…

  3. December 21, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    This is lovely David, the combination of sunlight and shadow, along with the delicate sculptures and the texture of the stucco wall. And I like what you say about it having a tropical feel πŸ™‚

    Hopefully you won’t have as much snow to shovel this winter!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:27 am

      Thanks Mufidah, I just thought it was the coolest thing! Yeah, I like snow…but not quite that much. We had to keep shoveling the backyard for our two Cairns! They certainly enjoyed all the pathways we made!

  4. December 21, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Great shot, David. Beautiful, for me it appears almost as a beautiful abstract.

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Thanks Bob, I like how they were just kind of piled up against the wall.

  5. December 21, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Makes me want to see more of those gigantic leaves. I love your ability to notice and also capture the details in a motive like that.
    I like the shadows, but I wish there was a bit more light. I think the larger shadow in the centre of the photo steals too much attention. But all those thin ‘twigs’ against their own shadow on the white wall is just amazing. Gives me a feeling of standing among tree looking out through the branches at the sun. Beautiful!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:35 am

      Thanks Anne, yeah I couldn’t really do to much about the big ole tree casting the shadow, but where I took the shot was the best vantage point…and the only place where the sun was shining on the wall. I would love to have some of them but there is no place to display them properly here.

  6. December 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Yes, it does have a tropical feel – very nice image. 52 inches is a lot of snow! Hope this winter is better for you!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:45 am

      Thanks Jo, it was pretty darn brisk that afternoon and seeing those leaves took the edge off! And that sure was a bunch of snow we got that week. Whew!

  7. December 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    At first glance, I thought they were from some kind of climbing plant, but upon closer look, I can make out the metal and more precise shapes!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:48 am

      From afar I couldn’t tell what they were either. They were just the coolest…Ya know, I forgot to see how much they were!

  8. December 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    This is beautiful. I love the light and shadows in this image!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:50 am

      Thanks Ted, where they were positioned they only cast shadows in late afternoon. Guess I was there at the right time!

  9. Steve
    December 22, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Nice capture of the play of the light here! I like the patterns! Keep up the great work, David! I look forward to many more of your terrific shots in the weeks and months ahead. Happy holidays!!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Thank you Steve, yes it was a good find. I am always curious to see what you will post also. I like your vision. Merry Christmas!

  10. December 22, 2011 at 2:19 am

    I can see why that caught your eye. Very nice!

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Thanks Montucky, and I was pretty far away when I first saw them. I said to myself…whoa what’s that?

  11. December 22, 2011 at 8:49 am

    It does look like natural tree branches. Love where you eye is leading you, David. πŸ™‚

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:56 am

      The artist did really nice work…and I like how they were displayed in a jumble. I would love to have some of them!

  12. December 22, 2011 at 9:37 am

    I thought when I first viewed it that they really were branches! And then my eye was drawn to what I think is a price tag? That’s just me πŸ™‚ But great shadow capture.

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:59 am

      I thought they were real until I got closer too. Funny, I didn’t notice the price tags until I got home and viewed the pictures on the computer. I wonder how much they were. Hmmmm I thought the shadows were the coolest!

  13. December 22, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I love and I loved too dear David, you captured such an artistic image… Standing so beautiful… Thank you, with my love, nia

  14. December 22, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Thanks you Nia, it was an interesting thing to see. I don’t know if they are still there or even in the same spot. Next time I am up that way I will have to look.

  15. December 22, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Really interesting. Good that you went closer. A beautiful shot with great shadow textures. Loved this one! πŸ™‚

    • December 23, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Thanks Nandini, I am glad you like this one and I am glad I went closer too!!!

  16. December 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

    This is a cool shot!I It looked to me like these were some random tree branches πŸ˜€ Only when I read your text I realised these are actually wires πŸ˜€

    • December 23, 2011 at 9:08 am

      Thanks Kristina, Until I got closer I didn’t know what was creating the shadows. I though it was just a jumble of branches since it had been pretty stormy a few days before. Glad I went to investigate!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

