IN THE FIELD: Another View

Just in case you are all dying to see what the church looks like, I figured I had better post an image of the interior.

I apologize for the hasty post…I was making dinner last night and tried to squeeze in posting while cooking. Not smart to attempt that.

So here goes. Yes the pews are actually curved (no optical wide angle illusion there) and the lavender light you see is created by the light coming through the windows. I used a tripod and shot all photos using the daylight white balance setting

  1. December 16, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    A great picture, David. Perfectly set up and balanced. Great lighting, too. I admire you for getting this kind of photo. I myself, don’t have the patience, I guess. Mine always look like something a tourist would get with a point and shoot.

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      Thanks Bob, all the lighting is natural…meaning that’s the way it looks without the lights on. Tripods help me compose shots and get more in the zone as they say. Plus…I’m not as steady as I used to be. I used to be able to hand hold down to 1/15 sec and still be tack sharp. Age…drat.

  2. December 16, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Yes! This little church is so elegant, and so is your photograph. That gleaming golden pipe organ is just gorgeous. What a treasure! It’s like a little jewel box.
    Now we need to see the exterior…. πŸ™‚

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm

      Thanks Lee, it is a dear church and there is more coming soon…don’t want to overdo things ya know.

  3. December 16, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    this is beautiful and I liked the one of the stained glass window, as well. Did you use tungsten setting or is this light cast from the window?

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks Jane, I am glad you have enjoyed these. I used the daylight setting with all the photos and the color of the light is from the windows.

  4. December 17, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Is the inside really that color or was it the windows? Curved pews? Interesting indeed! The last time I tried to shoot inside of a church they hustled me out of there..then again it was in England. Go fig!

  5. December 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Yup all that color is from the windows. I kind of wondered why the lady asked me if I wanted the overhead lights on. She said “ok, but there is a LOT of red and blue stained glass up there.” Now I/we all know why! And you are right …the curved pews are really cool. Never saw anything like that before. Oh yeah..the lady was a little/lot hesitant of me photographing the inside of the church until I told her that my sister is a member there, and these we for her. The paster had no problem though.

  6. December 17, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    There’s that red and blue from the window mixed up in a beautiful lavender πŸ™‚

    • December 18, 2011 at 10:16 am

      It is pretty amazing how the windows change the light so much!

  7. December 17, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    This is beautiful, I loved the lights, the colours fascinating. Thank you dear David, with my love, nia

    • December 18, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Thank you Nia, I’ve never seen anything like this where the whole room turns lavender from the light from the windows!

      • December 19, 2011 at 5:44 am

        As Heraclitus says “you can’t step twice in the same river”. Probably you can’t take the same pictures of this ambience again. You are lucky for this moment dear David. You are welcome and Thank you. With my love, nia

  8. December 17, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    The organ in the corner is beautiful! I’m glad you got a previous closeup of the design on the organ pipes.

    • December 18, 2011 at 10:20 am

      I’m glad too! From a distance the pipes don’t have the same impact as they do up close! It was fun playing with the shadows and shapes!

  9. December 18, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Great perspective here, David. Nicely done. πŸ™‚

    • December 18, 2011 at 10:23 am

      Thanks Katie, now that I think about it, there is a balcony right above where I took this shot. I wonder how the shot would look from up there.
      I need to go back for all the Christmas decor, but then again there are so many churches right in this area. I need a clone.

  10. Steve
    December 18, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I love this shot, David! Great framing, and that natural light is amazing!! It gives this church a very inviting feeling. Nice work!

  11. December 19, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Thanks Steve, the light is pretty amazing…I never would have thought the windows would change the color of the light as much as they do!

  12. Nandini
    December 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    It’s good to see the interiors. Amazing light inside, the violet environment makes it so nice. Beautiful. πŸ™‚

    • December 19, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      thanks Nandini, it sure is an extraordinary amount of violet light! I never saw anything like it before!

  13. December 19, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    great shots David!!

  14. December 19, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    I love the colour of light here. And in many other churches too. The quality of light is always so great with banks of windows (stained glass or not) down both sides of the church.

  15. December 20, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Yes, the color of the light was quite surprising when I first walked in the church. There are quite a few around here that are on my list to visit!

  16. December 21, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Very simple church, I think my eye is so used to seeing all these pomposity, gold, marmur and silver layered churches, that this picture is soothing to my eye! Love the light coming through the windows, looks so peaceful.

  17. December 21, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Yes it is very simple and peaceful…the original church that is also on the property is even more simple. It was built in 1745 or so and is the oldest unchanged Lutheran church still being used in America. Pictures of that one will be posted soon…not sure when but…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

