INSPIRATION: Architectural Settings

Architecture by itself can be inspirational to photograph. Yet when classic architecture is combined with a classic setting, the image can take on a different flavor.

This traditionally-styled farmhouse was built in the late 1700’s. It is nestled into the hillside, surrounded by fallow fields and a generations-old apple orchard. Believe it or not, this view is of the side of the house not the front, so you can get a sense of the size of the structure.

When I came across this location, I liked how the red springhouse on the left, the red doors of the barn in the background, and a glimpse of the red front porch roof added a touch of color to the scene. The old sycamore trees provide shade during the summer months and hint at the age of the property.

Overall, the view is one of a peaceful country setting. Which is exactly what I was hoping to capture.

 

  1. December 2, 2011 at 9:02 am

    And very nice capture too! I agree that the two spots of red really add something to the image.

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:31 am

      Thanks Mufidah, yes I felt the hint of red added just a bit more to the scene.

  2. December 2, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I love the sheer amount of green in the photo, good shot!

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:33 am

      Thanks Chillcleal, we had a lot of rain this summer so everything really had good growth!

  3. December 2, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Interesting perspective, David. I, too, think the splashes of red gives it additional pop. πŸ™‚

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:36 am

      Thanks Bob, I felt the bit of red added a little more interest to an otherwise mostly green composition. I’m glad the owners chose red!

  4. Nandini
    December 2, 2011 at 9:52 am

    This is so beautiful and I love those houses. The green windows go with nature around. Good that you included the little red here, looks so good with the green and whites. Great shot David. I get a feeling that I wanna live here. Hehe. πŸ™‚

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:37 am

      Thanks Nandini, yes the hint of red breaks up all that green! I love old farmhouses and I would like to live there too!

  5. Steve
    December 2, 2011 at 10:18 am

    An idyllic setting well captured, David! The serenity in this photo reminds me of growing up on a farm; there’s a peace in rural life that seems to be missing sometimes (most times??) in city life. Cheers!

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:40 am

      Thanks Steve, ah yes…the rural life…that’s pretty much all we have in these parts. Anymore I feel odd when traveling to or visiting a heavily populated area. Funny how the slower pace of life changes you!

  6. December 2, 2011 at 10:45 am

    What a beautiful setting! Your composition so beautifully highlights the vintage charm of the the architecture, trees, and colors. Looking at this photo was a great way to start my morning!

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Thanks Karen, I am glad I was able to influence the day for you. It is so peaceful there…the only sounds are the breeze in the trees and the singing birds.

  7. December 2, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Beautiful house and setting. It’s so perfect, it almost looks like a miniature.

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:46 am

      I love the older homes…they have such character…wide windowsills, interior woodworking and mature trees…the list goes on….

  8. December 2, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    It looks like a very pretty place. I love the red building.

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:47 am

      Oh it is Meanderer, It would make a perfect home for Sharon and I.

  9. December 3, 2011 at 1:13 am

    That is a very pretty scene and an excellent photograph!

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:48 am

      Thanks Montucky, There are quite a few of these older homesteads in the area…I could make my home in any one of them!

  10. December 3, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Beautiful!

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Thanks Ana, it sure is a pretty place!

  11. December 4, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Very peaceful, and I love that big old Sycamore tree too. πŸ™‚

    • December 5, 2011 at 9:52 am

      It sure is Katie, the only sounds you hear are from nature. I love sycamores too…in fact I noticed 3 others near the home that are huge!

  12. December 5, 2011 at 11:01 am

    What a beautiful photograph… I can stay in this photograph forever… The nature and the human world… This is the great harmony…. I find this architecture so admirable… But I also admire the people who keep this house like that… especially with the nature around the house… And of course, dear David, you did a great shot, fascinated me once again. Like a dream house… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • December 5, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      Thank you Nia, it sure is a pretty setting…I would love to live in a place like this. I am drawn to the older homes!

  13. December 5, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Very nice, David! Love the peacefulness conveyed on your image. Makes me want even more to live in the country.

    • December 5, 2011 at 1:55 pm

      Thanks Gracie, the country is pretty much all there is around in these parts. I will have to show more of it…farmland maybe…

  14. December 5, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    A sudden trip to London has resulted in a few more travelling photos. I can’t wait to share πŸ™‚
    Love the colours in your photo, makes me start looking forward to spring/summer and the bright colours

    • December 6, 2011 at 9:07 am

      And I can’t wait to see them! It’s been spring like for two weeks now except there are no leaves on the trees! Getting cold later this week though.

  15. December 6, 2011 at 7:16 am

    This is so beautiful! I’d love to spend my holiday there! I especially love the tree at the front! Lovely!

  16. December 6, 2011 at 9:08 am

    It sure is a pretty place! We would love a visit and I can give you directions to all of the places I have shown!

  17. December 7, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I can imagine a big, happy, hard-working family living here. I’m just waiting for the kids to come running into this scene and go speeding down the hill laughing.

  18. December 7, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Ya know…that would be a great place to go sledding!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

