INSPIRATION: Architectural Vignettes

Always on the lookout for vignettes and details within architecture, no matter what the style or age, I was pleased to come across the main entrance to this historic church. A number of things about this scene caught my eye.

I liked the color contrast of the stone around the entranceway against the walls surrounding it, and the patina of the flat red paint on the doors. The symmetry of the brownstone over the arch drew my eye to the center where an old lantern still hangs. The mossy green growth on the steps hints at the age of the building. And the stark blue of the wrought iron hand railing adds a surprisingly contemporary color choice to a more traditional stone facade.

I have to wonder what is on the other side of these doors? What visual treasures would I find there?

  1. Steve
    November 28, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Well, David, you should take a look inside! Great shot! I love the overall symmetry in this image, how it is close to a mirror image without being one. And as you pointed out the colours are wonderful! Nice!!

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:23 am

      I think I shall…who knows what kind of woodwork and other detail I may find. We’ll keep ya posted. Thanks Steve!

  2. November 28, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    What an interesting contrast of colors and textures.

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:23 am

      I’ll have to do some more snooping and see what else I can find!

  3. November 28, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I agree 100% with what Steve had to say. I love the symmety, the colors and the patterns of the stone walls. Well done, David

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Thanks Bob, I think I’lll run down there this week and see what else I can find!

  4. November 28, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    beautiful composition and colors David…the texture on the walls is the highlight for me.

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Thanks Abu, I think there are definitely more photo ops there!

  5. November 29, 2011 at 12:00 am

    I can see why you were attracted to that scene. It’s very attractive!

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Thanks Montucky, It kinda stopped me in my tracks…I had to stand in the middle of the road (on the double yellow line) during lulls in the traffic to get the composition right! Monopod helped a great deal!

  6. November 29, 2011 at 3:06 am

    I loved it dear David, I think same with you, this was amazing with its colours, lamps, door, stones and handrail… Wonderful photograph you captured. Thank you dear David, Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Thank you Nia, I will be going back to investigate other parts of the church!

  7. November 29, 2011 at 3:32 am

    What a pretty building. It’s very beautiful. Wonderful image!

    I look forward to seeing the rest of the building.

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:31 am

      Thank You Meanderer, I think the church is worthy of a few more visits…I would love to see the inside!

  8. Nandini
    November 29, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I love the colors and symmetry here. The little green on the stairs adds more to the overall colors of this building. Great capture David 🙂

  9. November 29, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Thanks Nandini! yes the green does help add to the scene, especially since the front of the building was in shadow. It was early morning and the sun wasn’t up high enough to add some light.

  10. November 29, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I’ll get in line with everyone else here who’s waiting to see the inside 🙂
    I like the simplicity of the image and the colours, really beautiful!

    (It looks, maybe because of the lighting, to be slightly off balance, that one side looks bigger than the other.)

  11. November 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I will try t get down there this week…I’m curious to see the inside. I think it is the lighting now that you mention it (never noticed). It was in deep shadow…before the sun came up over the roof.

  12. November 30, 2011 at 5:42 am

    Lovely! I love stone buildings and the door colour is just beautiful! Very nice! 😀

  13. November 30, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Thanks Kristina, I will be snooping around there more this week!

  14. November 30, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Very nice! Thanks to your vignettes I went looking for some images along the same lines. I think I may have found one or two 😉

  15. November 30, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Thanks Teri, I came across this on while out on of my latest projects for the next series that Sharon and I are working on. Can’t wait to see yours!!!

  16. November 30, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Lovely and interesting! I want to open those doors and walk in!

  17. November 30, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Thanks Karen, I’m planning on getting back there this week for more images for our latest book project!

  18. November 30, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I love doors! Great colours and textures you’ve captured here David.

    • December 1, 2011 at 9:09 am

      Thanks Mufidah, This is part of an ongoing project and I wasn’t sure how the colors would hold since it was in deep shade.

  19. December 1, 2011 at 8:53 am

    I love interesting architecture, and this is a wonderful door. Great image, David!

    • December 1, 2011 at 9:11 am

      Thanks Katie, I found those photos of the Sante Fe doors I was telling you about…now I just have to scan them. One is a garage door and one is a front entrance to a home. Then there are a whole bunch from Chaco Canyon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

