INSPIRATION: Vignettes of Textures

With so many historic foundries, furnaces, and old mills nearby, selecting photographic subjects can be challenging, simply due to the abundance of buildings and equipment that are on these sites. Sometimes it is hard to decide what to shoot next.

In addition to photographing a location, as a whole or in part, I like to find the less obvious visuals that are smaller elements within the bigger scene.

The peeling paint, rust and weathered patina these old machines have developed are an irresistible draw for me. And judging by the materials used to build this equipment, they were built to withstand the test of time.

This is an image of the hub/axle assembly of one of the rear wheels on a mid 1930‘s roller that was used in paving roads.

  1. November 18, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Another great one, David.

  2. November 18, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Another cool shot. I’m starting to think things send you a gps to their location you have such great finds 🙂

    • November 18, 2011 at 11:30 am

      Oh no the secret is out…gonna have to find another way.

  3. November 18, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I loved this image, The peeling paint, and rust standing amazingly. You really find nice photographical and historical objects dear David, you can make a nice book with them, photography book… I dreamed like that now… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • November 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Thank you Nia, we actually have a book ready for printing…I will keep you posted.

      • November 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm

        This is so nice dear David, I am so glad to hear this, let me know, Good Luck, Thank you, with my love, nia

  4. November 18, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I love photos like this! The color, texture, lines – together has a lot of appeal.

    • November 18, 2011 at 11:35 am

      Thanks Karen, believe it or not there wasn’t much paint anywhere else on the roller except on the wheels!

  5. November 18, 2011 at 11:18 am

    love the composition: textures, lighting, colour.

  6. November 18, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Thanks Jane, I guess by now you know how much I like old machines.

  7. November 18, 2011 at 11:46 am

    great shot. love the textures and the rustic feel on the photo.

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:28 am

      Thanks Gracie, there is texture all over this rusty machine. In fact there is hardly any paint left except on the spokes of the wheels!

  8. Steve
    November 18, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    The pattern of highlights and shadows on this wheel is excellent! Great capture David! It’s sometimes hard to believe these things are still around, waiting to have their pictures taken and a story told, if only in the imaginations of the photographer and viewers. Cheers!

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:31 am

      Thanks for the great comment Steve! I love snooping around places like these ( we have a ton of them around here). There is so much cool stuff to investigate and learn about that one could be busy for a lifetime!

  9. November 18, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Peeling paint and rusty metal is always a great combination. And in this case, well captured!

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:32 am

      Thank you Mufidah, old stuff is one of my favorite subjects…and we have a lot of that in these parts!

  10. November 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Old things make such cool subjects as they are just so well made and interesting to our modern eyes. And rust is always a magical add on. Great catch, David!

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:34 am

      Thanks Katie, I am drawn to old rusty peeling paint objects like a magnet! I just can’t stop myself!

  11. November 18, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    beautiful colors and texture details David, especially in the bigger sized image (when I click on it). It gives more details and does the photo justice 🙂 .

    ps: some of the details gets lost by the uploading process and downsizing the image which is sad

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:37 am

      Thanks Abu, I spent several hours at this site because there were so many photo ops there. I know what you mean about the low res/upload process…unfortunately is a necessary evil these days.

  12. November 18, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I’ve liked seeing your photos of old things. They have nice patina.

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:39 am

      Thanks Fergie, I have more to come but I think I may take a short break from them for a week or so…do wan’t to bore you guys!

  13. November 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Great photo, I always try to do something like this, but I think I need to learn how to make such a brilliant shot! 😀

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Thanks Kristina, you do take brilliant shots kiddo! Just keep pushing that shutter button!

  14. November 18, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Always love photos of old machinery, old buildings, and rusty stuff. Beautiful photos.

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Thanks Jeanne, I have an affinity for the old stuff…there is so much character just waiting to be photographed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

