INSPIRATION: Vignettes in Contrast

With so many old fieldstone and wooden barns in my area, it is almost a sure thing to find interesting vignettes to photograph. Well-worn machinery, hand tools that were used around the country home, weathered barn wood, rusty metal roofs and antiquated farm equipment are easy to discover, just waiting for an image capture.

I found these rusty metal hoops leaning against the side of old barn-styled structure, which was a wood shop during colonial times. I have no idea what the hoops were for, as they are too large to have been used for barrels. I am wondering if they were parts of a wagon wheel, since there is a historic foundry nearby.

What captured my attention was the color, texture and straight lines of the weathered barn wood planks, versus the circular rusty metal hoops. The two together made an interesting contrast in shapes and textures.

By snooping around these old structures, I have found another hidden treasure right in my neck of the woods.

 

  1. November 16, 2011 at 8:52 am

    I’m jealous of all the cool finds you have! I really like this photo.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:31 am

      Thanks Teri, it’s one of my fav’s too! I even have a few B&W versions.

  2. November 16, 2011 at 9:10 am

    You certainly have a treasure trove of great photo ops, David. Love the rustic hoops and the texture of the fenc. Well done.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:32 am

      Thanks Bob, we do have our fair share of ops around here!

  3. November 16, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Great shapes against the grainy wood background great shot!

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:38 am

      Thanks Adrian, I spent some time there using different angles and perspectives..even shot some in B&W.

  4. November 16, 2011 at 11:22 am

    What an artistic photograph… Yes, it is so artistic. Standing amazing… Wood (the tones of the colours) and rusty metal rings (again the tones of the colours) amazing… On the other hand, there is something too, this image is so nice to watch… I can’t explain this, but this is something you would like to have on your wall and to watch them in your day… Is it about these rings or is it about the composition with all of them… anyway I can’t explain but this is clear and once again I want to repeat, so artistic image you captured dear David, Thank you, with my love, nia

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Thank you Nia, when I came upon this setting I knew it would make a nice photo with the different shapes and textures. I went back several times after wandering around other areas.

  5. November 16, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Great find! I love the textures as well as the contrasting colors and shapes, the repeated patterns of the rings against the vertical lines of the barn wall.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Gracie, someone a long time ago put them there and was waiting for me to come by and photograph them!

  6. November 16, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Nice combination of textures and shapes!

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Thanks Meanderer, I couldn’t let this opportunity pass me by!

  7. November 16, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Cool. My first impression was that they are part of old wagon wheels.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:47 am

      That’s what I figured too…problem was…no one around to ask!

  8. November 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    My favourite picture so far! I love the circles against the lines in the planks and the colours are beautiful 🙂

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:48 am

      Really?? It’s one of my fav’s too! I still can’t believe that composition was just there waiting to be photographed!

  9. November 16, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I love the rusty metal rings against the weathered barn wood. Nice composition – that one off-center ring keeps it from being too static. You live in a very cool place!

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:52 am

      Thanks Lee, those rings must have been in the same position for years and years…ready for me to come along and photograph them.

  10. November 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Beautiful shot, David. You could be right, they might be rims for wodden wheels.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:53 am

      Thanks Ted, that’s what I was thinking since the barn is from the colonial era…didn’t find any wagons though…maybe I need to investigate the place more!

  11. sarahloub
    November 16, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Love it!! I love old barns… we don’t have quite as many historic places out in the PNW as you do. Just another reason why I want to get out East again someday!! As always, thanks for sharing.

    • November 17, 2011 at 10:56 am

      You are welcome Sarah! I love the sharing part. We may have the historic places but you folks have the drop dead scenery!

  12. Steve
    November 17, 2011 at 12:13 am

    Straight lines and circles, a great combination! Love the framing in this shot, David! And I’d say you’re right on the money: those do look like wagon wheel rims for wooden wheels. Cheers!

    • November 17, 2011 at 11:02 am

      Thanks Steve, It was quite a find and it was just waiting for me or someone to capture the image. I played there for a while experimenting with exposures and contrast levels etc. I’ll have to look for wagon parts next time I go there.

  13. November 17, 2011 at 12:58 am

    That was a great find, history and form with a little of the romance of our past thrown in. I would bet they were part of old wheels. Very valuable today, by the way.

    • November 17, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Thanks Montucky, love your comment! I will have to do some investigating to find out what they are but I am leaning towards wheel rims

  14. November 17, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    You’re going a a bit abstract here, David. 🙂 Love it! I love that you thought about the lines, textures, circles, and colors. Really well done and the image just made me smile. 🙂

    • November 18, 2011 at 9:28 am

      Thanks Katie, I am glad you liked this one. I couldn’t resist this shot when I came across it. I walked around the corner of the barn and my jaw dropped. Wow lookey here…this is just too cool!!

  15. November 17, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Love your creativity, amazing 😉

    • November 18, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Thanks Xandimusic, this one was just waiting for me to discover it!

  16. November 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    What caught your attention is what caught mine. Nice one.

    • November 18, 2011 at 9:31 am

      Thanks Jane, I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. Everything was set up for me and all I had to do was capture it!!!

  17. November 18, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Love the simplicity of composition, the curves and lines combined with muted natural colours. Great shot!

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Thanks Mufidah, I really got lucky with this one…all I had to do was capture the image…it was just ready and waiting for me to come by.

  18. November 18, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Love it! So simple and yet such a great shot!

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Thanks Kristina, it’s one of my favorites that I have taken this year!

  19. Nandini
    November 28, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Great capture! It is simply brilliant. 🙂

  20. November 28, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Thanks Nandini, It’s one of my favorites from this past summer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

