INSPIRATION: Vignettes of Color

Not far from where I live is a collection of old relics that someone has gathered on an abandoned railroad spur, sitting along the edge of an overgrown field. There are locomotives, passenger cars, cabooses, cranes and various parts and machines associated with railroads. All of the items are long past their prime, but I am hoping they are waiting to be restored some day.

This image is part of the engine cowling on an old diesel locomotive. The paint and steel have endured the heat from the engine and decades of exposure to the weather. This image is exactly how it looked on the overcast day when I took the photo, and has not been altered in any way.

What captured my attention was not only the unusual coloration, but the patterns within the metal finish and the shapes of the louvers. Once again, I have found yet another hidden treasure in my own backyard.

  1. November 14, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    It is almost an abstract look. I like it.

    • November 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      Thanks Bob, it was amazing how the colors were glowing in the light!

  2. obrienspix
    November 14, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    So cool, what an interesting shot.

    • November 15, 2011 at 1:55 pm

      Thanks Obrienspix, the colors were naturally iridescent. Thanks for the visit!

  3. November 14, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    I like the abstract feel to this too, David. And it has me thinking that I must have some old junk yard type thing near me. 🙂

    • November 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm

      I would bet that there is some place with a lot of old stuff laying around in the outskirts of town!

      • November 15, 2011 at 2:02 pm

        Those places are so much fun. There was an old junk yard we used to frequent when we were kids that had a whole mess of old cars with killer hood ornaments. I wonder if it is still there….hmmmmm

  4. Steve
    November 14, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    It’s amazing to me the many images that can be taken from machinery that has been left to the elements. This is a terrific shot of the colours and shapes found in old metal ‘stuff’. Cheers!

    • November 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks Steve, This was the first shot I took that day when I found all the old railroad stuff. It stopped me in my tracks!

  5. November 14, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Colors and texture are great, Really like this image! Hidden treasure… great find.

    • November 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Thanks Vickie, the colors were amazing…even in the crappy light. Maybe that was a good thing!

  6. November 14, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Beautiful colors. One of my favorite places to photograph is next to railroad tracks next to a car salvage yard. Plenty of shapes, colors and textures to capture.

    • November 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Aren’t those places great? Were to look, were to shoot next…

  7. November 15, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Really nice tones and textures.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      Thanks MIke, there are a bunch of other locos and cabooses I have to check out too!

  8. November 15, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Love the intense colours.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      Thanks Jo, I was amazed when I came across the old locomotive too! The colors just jumped out!

  9. November 15, 2011 at 3:17 am

    love the blues….beautiful textures and colors David !

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks Abu, I couldn’t believe the colors when I found this…the rest of the locomotive is dull flat black!

  10. November 15, 2011 at 3:28 am

    I love metal images. Rusting iron in particular makes for some interesting colours and textures. Great find David.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      I do too, there is so much variety! Thanks Meanderer…I love the fences and gates that you photograph and share with us!

  11. November 15, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Really hits its title, Vignettes of color…. Your eye of camera looks so poetically… Maybe they are ordinary things but with your camera they become a treasure of time in the art of photography… I thought of this, there may be a lot of hidden pieces but how could we know without a beautiful touches, like your camera. I love photography because of this too. And once again makes me sure, how important the eyes behind the camera…. Everything starts with them… Thank you dear David, you did a wonderful photograph… With my love, nia

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      Thank you Nia, I love to look for the smaller parts that make up the big parts of a scene (and always have now that I think about it) I have heard it said that is what is called “getting to know the landscape.” I didn’t know there was a name for it…I just do it.

      • November 16, 2011 at 11:26 am

        Yes, I can understand you, but with your next post, I can express better I think, you capture so artistic… The artistic part is fascinating me… As your next post too… This is your talent with your camera. Once again thank you, with my love, nia

  12. November 15, 2011 at 8:33 am

    You have too much fun in your area! Cool shot there.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Yeah there is some cool stuff around here…sometimes I don’t know where to begin! One of these days I will get into Reading Pa (nearest city) and see what I can find there. May need a body guard though for protection ha ha.

  13. November 15, 2011 at 11:24 am

    A very interesting shot. Love the colour.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      Thanks Graham, the color was pretty amazing in the overcast light!

  14. November 15, 2011 at 11:29 am

    That certainly is eye-catching! I like the photo and how you framed it to make a very intriguing image.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks Fergie, I wanted to get close enough to see some detail but far enough away to let the viewer have an idea what they were looking at.

  15. November 15, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Gorgeous colours! That is really a treasure chest you have out there!

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:18 pm

      Thanks Anne, yes the color really caught my eye as I was walking about…it was the only area on the engine cowling that had all the color and texture! And there is some cool stuff out here.

  16. November 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I love that rich blue, the texture, and touch of iridescence. You have a great eye for detail.

    • November 15, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      When I was walking around the area trying to find some neat close-ups I just happened to look up from the train wheels and saw this and couldn’t believe my eyes! It was the first photo I took that day.

  17. November 16, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Nice – the combination of the solid colour, the interesting details and the overall texture is very effective.

  18. November 17, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Thanks Journey, I think this was one in a million…the other side of the locomotive did not have this weathering at all!

  19. November 18, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    I hope they will get restored! Beautiful image, love the colour!

    • November 21, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Thanks Kristina, I do too…whoever owns all that stuff certainly has their work cut out for them…there is a lot of equipment to be restored there!

  20. November 24, 2011 at 9:51 am

    You must be thrilled that you came across this. The surface has an iridescent quality that reminds me of dichroic glass. All in all, an excellent abstraction.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • November 24, 2011 at 11:37 am

      Hey Steve thanks for stopping by! Yes, it was an amazing find and the iridescence really showed up well in the overcast light!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

