IN THE FIELD: Historical Venues


Regional historical venues are often overlooked when they are in our own neighborhoods. Where I live, the working museums, restored mills and iron furnaces provide a wide range of photographic opportunities close to home.

For example, we live near a Historic National Park. When folks from out of town come for a visit, they often want to go to the park. We tend to forget what the area has to offer because it is so much a part of our daily lives. We used to travel past or through it on a regular basis. I remember it as a place I used to ride my bike when I was a kid. My wife used to eat her lunch there when she worked in the area.

There is a wealth of material right at your doorstep. Find those hidden treasures where you live. You donโ€™t have to wait until a relative comes for a visit.

  1. November 9, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Great post, David. I agree with you 100%.

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      Thanks Bob, isn’t it funny how we forget about stuff that is in our own back yard? Not that we do it on purpose…I guess we all just get used to things.

  2. November 9, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Now that photography is a part of my life, I have also rediscovered some of the hidden treasures near my home. Wonderful photo, David!

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:17 pm

      Thanks Karen, I think we all have hidden treasures nearby.

  3. November 9, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I’m still hunting for the treasures near my home and when the relatives come visit I try and hide! LOL Great photo.

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:18 pm

      LOL, those treasures can sometimes be things we see everyday but forget about because…we see them everyday. Funny how that works.

  4. November 9, 2011 at 10:21 am

    Great image, David and a wonderful post. You’re right, there is history right near you, and it’s wonderful to discover it. It connects you. Great photo opportunities too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks Katie, yes there is so much history all around us. I know of four historic sites near here that I could spend weeks or more just snooping around. Good thing we are in the digital age!

  5. November 9, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Wonderful image David. I agree that it’s important to make the most of – and highlight – local landmarks and places of historical interest.

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, I know quite a few folks who have never been to any of the places I have posted here…and they have lived here all their lives. I think visiting historic places broadens ones self. I don’t think I worded that properly but I think you get the idea what I mean.

  6. November 9, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Excellent blog David, very informative, you may find the blog Digital Darkroom Techniques on wordpress interesting as they are always looking for contributers: http://definitelynotsooc.wordpress.com/. Looking forward to your next post!

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:31 pm

      Hey thanks for stopping by Adrian! Glad you enjoyed it. I try to put something out there for everyone.

  7. November 9, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    This was so beautiful dear David, not only because of the photograph, but also withing the message… You are so nice as always… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • November 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      Thank you Nia, I had hoped to show folks that we shouldn’t forget about our own areas that we live. There is so much to offer but we are all so used to seeing these places that we forget sometimes.

      • November 11, 2011 at 2:40 am

        You are right, so used to seeing these places that we forget sometimes… But I think, photography is amazing because of this too, as if another eyes we have… You are welcome and Thanks again, Have a nice and enjoyable day, with my love, nia

  8. November 9, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I Like the angles, lines and the colours in this shot David, they work really well together.

    • November 10, 2011 at 9:06 am

      This historical iron furnace site was founded in 1771. There are buildings of all shapes and sizes including an iron masters mansion. Some are painted and some are bare stone or wood.

  9. November 10, 2011 at 6:47 am

    Beautiful composition! Seems like a beautiful rural place! The place you live in seems to have a great heritage! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 10, 2011 at 9:10 am

      Thanks Kristina, It is beautiful around here with forests and small towns and communities. People have been living in the area since the mid 1600’s.

  10. November 12, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Ooh, I know just the place! Will see if I can’t manage a brief visit this week ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 12, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      Oh good….I can’t wait to see your photos!!!

  11. Nandini
    November 28, 2011 at 8:43 am

    Very true. We just need to look beyond. Great photo. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. November 28, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Thanks Nandini, I love the old places.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

