IN THE FIELD: Regional Structures

Every region’s structures have their own sense of style based upon the available building materials specific to that area. Where I live there are a lot of colonial-aged structures. Some of the materials used in building were field stone, brick and tile made from local clay, and timbers from the forests. Many of these places are historical living, working museums where volunteers carry on the traditional crafts and lifestyles of the period.

There are a variety of shapes, textures and patterns creating visuals just waiting to be discovered. And learning and watching how things were done in the past can not only be interesting, but can lead to other photographic opportunities.

I enjoy exploring the hidden treasures in my local area. Often when I think I have exhausted all the possibilities, magically another one appears on my radar.

  1. November 7, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    You chose a great image to illustrate this post. I love all those materials and textures.

  2. Steve
    November 7, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    There’s a real nice variety of textures and shapes in this image. It’s amazing what we can learn at these places, and how involved the people who staff them really get with their recreations. Many are so willing to be in photos for us. Thanks for sharing this post!

    • November 8, 2011 at 8:38 am

      Yes it sure is amazing what we all can learn at historic sites. The folks that staff these places are so knowledgeable, I just love to listen to them. To me visiting sites like this is far better than history class in school…or maybe I am just more interested now. heh heh

  3. November 8, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Thanks Lee, and I have a few more I will post from this series.

  4. November 8, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Your area is just chocked full with inspiration for shots. I am either living in a sterile place or I just haven’t found the good spots.

    • November 8, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      Oh those good spots are out there…sometimes I pretend I am on vacation visiting an area I have never been to before and the inspiration will hit me smack dab in the face.

  5. November 8, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Interesting post and nice photo to represent it. Made me think of a photo I took in France of some architecture I found intriguing. I may have to post it after reading this. Thanks!

    • November 8, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Thanks Fergie, I think you should post the photo…we would all love to see it!

  6. November 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I love old places too, David. Great image too — I love all those slanting lines.

  7. November 9, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Thanks Katie, I love old historic buildings…in fact I discovered another old barn yesterday…it dates from the early 1700’s!

  8. November 9, 2011 at 9:30 am

    This is great! I love the weathered textures and the exciting lines you composed!

  9. November 9, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Thanks Karen, there sure are lot of weathered structures around here!

  10. November 9, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    This is great what you did dear David, I loved it. How amazing old and historical places… Thank you, with my love, nia

    • November 10, 2011 at 8:51 am

      Thanks Nia, yes I love old and historical places…we can learn so much from them.

  11. November 10, 2011 at 6:44 am

    I love stone buildings, they always look so unique! Lovely picture, looks like the house is surrounded by forest? 🙂

    • November 10, 2011 at 8:55 am

      I do too…they have so much character and life to them. The building is actually and old mill with a water wheel under the wooden part that is fed by a small stream. And the forest is surrounding the whole area!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

