Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > INSPIRATION: Assignment; Abundance Of Color

INSPIRATION: Assignment; Abundance Of Color

My latest self assignment was to photograph something with an abundance of color, yet not a classic fall scene. One option I had was to head over to an exotic plant store/garden center located in the next county. I had been there many times before and been fortunate finding interesting subjects to photograph, so I thought this would be a good choice.

Inside the two story conservatory is a man-made tropical mountain at least 20 feet tall covered in exotic plants from all over the world. It even has a waterfall and a pond with small fish. The greenhouses are always filled to the brim with many varieties of flowering houseplants. Displayed outside of the greenhouses are outdoor seasonal plants of all colors.

All of these displays were suitable subjects, but I was looking for something a little different. I headed back inside and as I turned to walk down another aisle in the largest greenhouse, I came across these ornamental pepper plants.

There was the abundance of color I was looking for…red, yellow, orange, purple and green.

 

  1. November 4, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Cool! I took a pic of one of these in front of a Chili’s LOL Will be looking forward to more assignment ideas from you. Got power yet?

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Still no power yet…spoke to some workmen this morning and they said today we should be up and running. More assignment ideas coming soon!!!

  2. November 4, 2011 at 10:28 am

    A wonderful array of colourful chillies!

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:21 am

      There was probably 100 plants on the table in the greenhouse were I photographed them!!!

  3. November 4, 2011 at 10:49 am

    I love this! I was just tending my chile pepper plants inside a few minutes ago. Love all that color. great catch, David!

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:23 am

      When I came across the table where all these plants were I got so excited I honestly said out loud “WHOA look at this!”

  4. November 4, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Beautiful shot! I love the colors of chili plants, they are always so vibrant and rich. Ours are already drying in the shed. πŸ™‚ It’s a good thing we don’t have a greenhouse like the one you described…I’d go in and never come out! πŸ˜‰

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:25 am

      Thanks Ted! I know what you mean…it is hard to walk out of there because of the variety of plants! They have a Martha Washington geranium plant that is 60+ years old. It’s amazing!

  5. November 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

    This image reminded me of the upward-pointing tips in a box of crayons. I haven’t dealt with a box of crayons for decades, but the old associations of childhood persist and sometimes emerge when we don’t expect themβ€”in this case even overriding my current twelve-year-long project of photographing plants.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:37 am

      Ya know, it does resemble the tips of a box of crayons…I haven’t used a crayon in decades either and it is amazing what will trigger age old memories. Thanks for stopping by Steve! I’ve been snooping around your site…I like your vision. Very nice indeed.

  6. November 4, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    David, I love the colors and shapes in this photo! The exotic garden center sounds like a great place for a photographer to hang out!
    I discovered today that I was not subscribed to your blog (but I am now)! I thought you had not posted for several weeks. Now I see you have been posting and I have a lot of wonderful reading and viewing to do in the near future! Congrats on the Versatile Blogger award – well deserved! And thank you for the nomination! I was actually nominated a few months ago, but have not yet posted on the subject.

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Thanks Karen! You would be close to overwhelmed in that garden center. They grow most everything themselves so it at times is more retail oriented vs. a botanical garden but in the conservatory/mountain greenhouse it is just amazing!

  7. November 4, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Such vibrant colors…they do remind of Christmas lights!

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:45 am

      Hey they do look like Christmas lights! Hundreds and hundreds of Christmas lights!

  8. November 4, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Aren’t they beautiful, massed like that! They remind me of Christmas lights, too. I like your idea of a self-assignment. I must try that when my classes are over.

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:51 am

      I was so glad I discovered them in such a large grouping! I have found self assignments to be very inspiring whether it is texture, color, patterns or whatever else I come up with. You just never know what results will come out of a self assignment! That’s what makes them so much fun!

  9. November 4, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    I really love the combination of colours! Beautiful image.

    • November 5, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Thanks Meanderer! There were so many plants on the table (maybe 100 or so), the greenhouse was bursting with color!

  10. November 4, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    So beautiful, Thank you dear David, I loved the colours… Fascinating. With my love, nia

    • November 5, 2011 at 11:00 am

      This is an amazing place…row upon row of plants of all varieties. During the Christmas season the greenhouses and the front display areas are filled with 1000’s of Poinsettias and in the spring the greenhouses are overflowing with various annuals. The aroma is overwhelming!

      • November 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm

        Sounds so beautiful… I wished to visit there. Thank you once again dear David, you carry me into these beautiful places through your photographs. Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  11. November 5, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Great colors and forms!

    • November 5, 2011 at 11:04 am

      Thanks Montucky! it was difficult to choose a composition…look at this group…no over here, how about this spot, or this one, maybe over here…

  12. Nandini
    November 5, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Such great colors. Wonderful πŸ™‚

    • November 5, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      Thank You Nandini ! Yes the colors were so vibrant I just couldn’t resist photographing them!

  13. Steve
    November 5, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Exceptional! Love the mix of colour, and the way the image feels. Cheers!

    • November 7, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Thank you Steve! It was a good thing my self assignment that day was not just one color!

  14. November 7, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Such a mix of colours! Love it! πŸ™‚ Hope the power is back! πŸ™‚

    • November 7, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Thank you Kristina! I just love those little plants. They seem so happy to me. We got power back Saturday at 5:03 pm! Yippee!!!!!

  15. erlkeylala
    November 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    very interesting photograph.. love the colours πŸ™‚

    • November 12, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      Thanks Erlkeylala, I couldn’t resist this one…the hardest part was which group to focus on!

  16. November 12, 2011 at 3:46 am

    perfect subject for executing your idea…imaginative !
    the light is a little harsh though and if there was a bit more shade or a cloudy day…the color might have popped out more. Oh well !

    • November 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      Thanks Abu, I know what you mean by the light conditions…did I get out the diffuser…nooooooo. Oh well. Try again next time.

  1. December 3, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Leave a Reply

