IN THE FIELD: Foggy Days

Late last week, the morning dawned with thick fog and drizzling rain. I was hoping to capture a few fall landscape shots with the morning sunlight breaking through the fog as it lifted. I drove around the lower elevations, drove up to higher elevations and even in-between. In some areas, the fog was so thick that visibility was less than 30 feet. I realized shooting grand vistas of fall color in a misty fog was not going to happen. So I decided to call it a day. Time to change my plans and photograph outdoors on a smaller scale.

My neighbor who owns a landscaping company always has unusual plantings along his property at the woods edge. The lucky guy receives unwanted or unneeded plants of all varieties from his customers. It is a pleasure to walk or drive by his property…you never know what you will see.

With my neighbor’s permission, I have photographed the various plants and flowers there before. On this day, the Canna’s growing among the woodland plants were stunning. I set up the camera and tripod at a favorable spot then watched the fog rolling up the street. When the fog would clear for a moment, I would pull off the lens cap and fire off a few shots.

I repeated this process as I moved to each new location, being sure to keep the lens covered as protection from the misty fog. The colors really popped in the soft overcast light. I had to use a bit of flash to freeze the motion of the flowers due to the light puffs of damp air and fog.

Even though my plans for fall landscape vistas were dashed due to fog thick as pea soup, I managed to have a successful outing. Turns out the fog never did completely clear that day.

  1. October 17, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Yes, I would say that you were successful. That is a stunning image of the canna.

    • October 17, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      Thanks Bob, as it turned out, we actually had 3 days and nights of dense fog here.

  2. Steve
    October 17, 2011 at 9:55 am

    Just goes to show that we can always find subjects if we choose to look for them, especially when our original plans have been thwarted. Very nice image; love the colours!!

    • October 17, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      Thanks Steve, indeed we must keep our options open…you never know what you may come across.

  3. October 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Beautiful image. I love cannas.

    • October 17, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      Thanks Meanderer, they are stunning and still holding on with all the rain and wind we have been having.

  4. October 17, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    That’s a beautiful shot. Such deep and rich colors, David. Successful indeed! 🙂

    • October 18, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Thanks Katie, They sure stood out in the soft light and the fog!!

  5. October 17, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Lovely image!

    • October 18, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Thanks Vickie, there is always something unusual in that guys yard.

  6. October 17, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Beautiful, I loved it, excellent shot. Thank you dear David, with my love, nia

    • October 18, 2011 at 8:29 am

      Thanks Nia, There were there just waiting for me to photograph them!! Couldn’t pass up the opportunity.

  7. October 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Love this shot! Beautiful composition and striking colors.

  8. October 21, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Thank you sunsetseasoul! The colors really popped on that foggy day, I got wet but I got the shot!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

