IN THE FIELD: Reflections

With the cooler nights we have been having lately, the Autumn colors are beginning to change quickly. Capturing nature’s splendor reflected in a small pond near my home has been a mission of mine for several years.

A few days ago I was heading home after finishing up a photo shoot. Traveling past the pond that has been on my photographic to-do list, I noticed that the water was unusually calm. Ordinarily, a breeze is blowing and the water is full of ripples. And in past years, just as the leaves have begun to change colors, a storm will blow through and strip the trees bare, spoiling my plans.

Quickly making a U-turn, I headed back to the pond, determined not to miss out on my chance to finally capture the image and complete my quest. After parking the car off the road, I gathered my stuff and looked for a good spot to set up. The steep banks of the pond don’t offer very stable footing. But I managed to find a clearing in the trees, didn’t fall in the pond, and got myself and the tripod set up. Of course, the inevitable breeze kicked up, but not before I was able to squeeze off a few shots.

For a few minutes that day, Mother Nature was on my side and everything worked out.

  1. October 12, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Great autumn colors!

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:21 am

      Thanks! They are probably gone now.We had a lot of wind and rain yesterday and more on the way.

  2. October 12, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    A beautiful shot of fall reflections, David.

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:22 am

      Thanks Bob…heading out today for some more shots before the wind and rain hits again.

  3. October 12, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Beautiful reflections, David! I have found that the best time for me to photograph ponds and lakes is in the hour before sunrise. Makes for a very early morning, but quite often there is no breeze at all.

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:24 am

      Thanks Ted, geting up early does pay off…except for this spot. There is always a breeze in that area. Sometimes it’s down right windy!

  4. October 12, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Lovely colors and the reflection David and glad your efforts were rewarded.
    I think not not falling in pond was most important or else you would have caused ripples 😉 j/k

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:25 am

      Thanks Abu, Took several years to get this one…persistence pays!

  5. October 12, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Beautiful photo, colors and reflection!

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Thanks Fergiemoto! I was there at the right time for sure!

  6. October 12, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Freaking awesome! I had hoped to go out and do some autumn leaves shots and then the rain came 😦 Probably will blow off all the leaves now.

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Thanks, I will be heading out shortly. Should be interesting since it’s foggy and rainy. It’s supposed to get really windy later…we’ll see.

  7. Steve
    October 12, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I love reflections in the still waters; fall colours are the best ones in my opinion. Love this shot!!

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Thanks Steve! Fall is my favorite time of the year…cool and crisp and vibrant color everywhere.

  8. October 13, 2011 at 4:34 am

    Very pretty reflection shot. Nice and peaceful.

    • October 13, 2011 at 8:32 am

      Thanks! I caught this one on a rare calm afternoon…it’s almost always breezy there. I love images like this…nice and peaceful as you say.

  9. October 13, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Gorgeous photo! Our fall colors are just taking hold now, and I look forward to catching some this weekend. Great inspiration, David!

    • October 13, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Thanks Tricia! I am heading out now…hope the rain eases up some.

  10. October 13, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Wonderful photo! and I loved your story on how everything just worked out. Glad you finally got this photo! 🙂 Love when that happens.

    • October 13, 2011 at 9:23 am

      Thanks Katie! It took a bit of persistence but I got it…now for the next quest. We call it “view driveway” It’s a homesite in the area here where I live that can’t be built on because it won’t pass perk tests. But the view of the valley is incredible!!!

  11. October 13, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    This is like an immortal poem
    the wind quietened down
    and listens to the autumn
    dance into the colours…

    Beautiful, so beautiful Thank you dear David,
    with my love, nia

  12. October 14, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Very nice Nia. I like it!

  13. October 14, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Great take on reflection photographs! Usually the reflection is so crisp and clear but this was such a nice example of them blending together. It reminds me of works of art made using pastels.

  14. October 14, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Thank you Maggie, this had been a quest of mine for 5 years and things finally fell into place.

  15. October 14, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Hey thanks for the ping back Nia. So nice of you!

  1. October 13, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

