IN THE FIELD: Back In The Day

A few weeks ago I was at a classic car show admiring the many makes and models of a bygone era. Long before I was born, automobiles had style. Not that they don’t now, it was just different. It was the age of streamlining. Cars, planes and trains where all obtaining faster and faster top speeds. Even household items such as toasters looked like they could move across the kitchen counter at mach speed.

In my mind, cars from the 1920‘s to the 1950’s were pieces of art, sculpted of metal, fabrics, leather and exotic wood. They had an elegance about them.

One of my favorite features of vintage autos are the hood ornaments. I am drawn to the uniqueness of each and every one.

Many were influenced by art styles of the times. They were as varied in design and sophistication as the engine hoods they adorned. Some looked like airplanes or jets. Leaping animals such as greyhounds or leopards were commonly used, as were stylized birds and mythical creatures. Some were plain, many were ornate and some even flashy. You could almost always identify a car by it’s hood ornament.

The hood ornament pictured in this post is from a 1942 Packard.

She is the Goddess of Speed.

  1. Sue
    September 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Love this pic!

  2. September 8, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Thanks !!

  3. September 9, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Just found your blog and enjoyed your writings and photos! I’ll be back to check out future posts.

    • September 9, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Hi Karen, glad you are enjoying my blog. I will check out yours also.

  4. September 9, 2011 at 7:17 am

    So impressive. I am glad to meet with you, Thank you, with my love, nia

    • September 9, 2011 at 8:53 am

      I am glad you have found me. I will check out your blog also.

      • September 9, 2011 at 9:03 am

        Thank you David, you are so nice. I read your comments. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  5. sarahloub
    September 9, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    I love classic cars!! I’ve been wanting to stop by some of our local car clubs/shows to take photos, but, as with so many other things, time slips by and I haven’t made the time to do it. I think it’s back on my list now. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    • September 9, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      The classics are just so cool. You had better get out there… with camera of course. Lots of neat stuff to photograph.

  6. September 14, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    love this pic 🙂

    • September 14, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      Thanks Xandi, It was a great day and this car had the perfect background for this photo.

  7. September 22, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Nice composition. The blue color is cool 🙂 (no pun intended)

    • September 23, 2011 at 8:36 am

      Thanks Charlie, that car was way cool !!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

