Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > IN THE FIELD: Weather – The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

IN THE FIELD: Weather – The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

Not long ago I was in the woods photographing trees that were beginning to show their fall colors. It looked as if the weather could change from good to bad any minute.

It did. A rogue rainstorm blew through and it got ugly.

When I felt the first raindrops I knew my priority was to protect the camera and lens. There are many options available, however I have had success with the Rainsleeve from OP/TECH USA. They are inexpensive, easy to use and effective.

I always keep several Rainsleeves in my camera bag for just these occasions. Chalk it up to the old Boy Scout training to always “Be Prepared.” On this day, it allowed me to continue photographing the trees with my equipment protected from the passing storm.

Whether it is a sunny day or rainy day, I rarely shoot without a lens hood. It is helpful on sunny days to prevent lens flare from the sun. And also on rainy days to keep water droplets off the front lens element…unless you are in a monsoon. Then all bets are off.

Another handy accessory to use on rainy days would be a polarizing filter. It will help eliminate unwanted reflections from foliage, streams, waterfalls, flowers and non-metallic surfaces and allow more detail and color to show in your photographs.

Shooting in the rain does have its benefits. There are no harsh shadows to deal with since the light is more even due to the cloud cover. Also, colors tend to be richer and more saturated in these conditions since direct sunlight is not reflecting off of most surfaces.

If you stick it out through the bad weather, often times after a storm passes you may be rewarded with unusual cloud patterns that are lit up by the sun. Or maybe a rainbow will make an appearance or even a great sunrise or sunset. One of the best aspects of photographing in the rain is…you will probably have the whole place to yourself.

Enjoy being out in the rain. It can be a great experience. Just “Be Prepared.”

  1. August 28, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Hm, lens hood and protective gear on rainy days. I need to know more about this… Took my camera to the beach yesterday and spent some time trying to remove the sand afterwards (did get some nice photos though).

    • August 29, 2011 at 11:42 am

      Sand…not good. Would love to see the photos though.

  2. September 9, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Rainsleeve and (once again I noted) polarizing filter! Yes, exactly they are in my list. I love rain photography or after rain… You captured so nicely. There is a lovely touches, like a painting. Thank you, with my love, nia (by the way The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly came up in my mind… what a beautiful film and music!)

  3. September 9, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Thanks Nia, I love the rain…everything is refreshed, it’s nice to sleep when it is raining at night. It’s been raining here for 7 days straight so things are really refreshed!!
    David

  4. December 3, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Rainsleeve is on my list too – wet season is here and it comes on quickly sometimes. I like the foggy picture too, with the red leaves.

  5. December 4, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I have used mine quite often and it works great! Simple, and inexpensive. We had a lot of foggy and rainy days this summer so it really came in handy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

