IN THE FIELD: Turn Left Not Right

Yesterday morning, I left the house heading for a location shoot and pulled up to the stop sign at the end of my street. Usually I would turn right to head towards town, but a maintenance crew had the road closed for repairs. So, I had to turn left. No worries. I was on my way early enough that a detour to take the long way would not be a problem. I decided to keep my eyes open for anything that might spark my interest. Two miles down the road, I hit pay dirt.

I drove past a horse farm and saw two foals in one of the pastures. I pulled over, walked to the fence and greeted the man standing there. Turns out he was an old acquaintance. I asked him for permission to photograph the horses. Since he was only boarding his horses there, he suggested I check with the owners of the property first, which I did. They were nice folks and very accommodating.

It was early morning, the skies were a deep summer blue and the air was unusually cool and crisp for an August morning. One of the foals was four months old, and the other was just born a month ago. My friend suggested I walk into the pasture with him, to allow the foals to get used to my presence there. Eventually, they became curious about this new visitor and came to see who I was.

After standing a short while, I opted to sit down in the field to gain a better perspective. Since the foals were so young, I did not want to have a typical downward view in my photographs. I wanted to be more at their level.

Did I get some great shots? Absolutely. But the thing that stands out in my mind the most was the experience. It wasn’t long before those foals were sniffing at my head and my camera. I chatted to them in a soft voice, made no sudden movements and after a while, I became a part of their scenery. That allowed me to photograph them while they were relaxed and content.

Yes, I did make it to my original location about an hour later than I had planned. But again, it was not a problem. I was still able to complete that shoot while the morning light was still good.

I have been thinking I should drop that road crew a thank you note. If it wasn’t for their early morning schedule to do those road repairs, I would have turned right and never had this experience.

Moral of the story: sometimes it pays to turn left rather than right.

  1. August 14, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    The well thread path isn’t always the best… Beautiful horse, well captured 🙂 I long to use my slr again, only have an old compact camera for now, as I lent my slightly better compact cam to a friend before I realised the charger was missing… Should have a new charger soon 🙂

  2. August 14, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Lovely shot. The road less traveled definitely has some advantages. This spring I happened to get one of my favorite photos by taking the gravel road home instead of the blacktop.
    http://mineeyeshaveseen.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/springtime-in-the-country/

    Some of the best advice I got somewhere along the way was to make time in your schedule for the unexpected. Don’t schedule yourself to tightly.

  3. September 8, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Nice moment! And I enjoyed your description of your experience in the field. I’ve found the same approach to work really well with the foals, and they are such sweet subjects at that age.

    • September 8, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Oh they sure are, and so curious.

  4. September 9, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Wonderful. Thanks and Love, nia

  5. September 9, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Thanks, this was a good day.
    David

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

