INSPIRATION & ASSIGNMENTS: Contrast

Contrast is simply defined as the degree of difference between the lightness and darkness within an image, either in tonal ranges or in colors. Contrasts can be also found in shapes and textures.

Now for the fun stuff…let’s apply this to photography.

A good example of dark versus light, or tonal contrast, would be dark shadows that are cast on a light surface. Like shadows from a building onto a sidewalk. Or a person silhouetted against the evening sky. Or dark-colored sea shells on light-colored sand.

Contrasting shapes could be white eggs on a white square plate. Try photographing it in color. Try it in black and white. Try it with flash. Try it without a flash.

Color contrast can be found in a bouquet of light yellow and dark purple flowers. Or brightly colored fall leaves on a dark forest floor. Or even a single red flower growing in a field of green.

Contrasting textures can be anything from the softness of moving water against the hardness of rocks, to a shiny metal surface against an rough wooden one.

The image featured in this post is a white iris against a dark background. The delicacy of the iris is captured and the background maintains a subtle definition. The contrast provides drama within the image.

Contrasts are everywhere…the more you look the more you will see.

What did you find today? Let us know…we would love to hear.

  1. August 11, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Thanks for your comment on my blog, it lead me to yours and have now added you to my rss feed. Love your photos, but maybe even more the tips and how to’s. Thanks for sharing 🙂
    I’m not that good with the camera myself, but have at least figured out how to shoot using the manual settings on my slr. Now I just have to wait for a new charger for it (as the charger has started a new life in a hotel room in Poland…)

    • August 12, 2011 at 8:34 am

      Way cool Anne. I am following you too. I will be posting multiple times a week so I am sure you will find some useful tidbits. Send me an email with specific questions if you like. I would love to help any way I can. I really really enjoy reading your blog. Don’t you just hate it when personal belongings decide they would rather pick up and be out on their own and never come back for a visit. They just have no feelings for us humans.

  2. August 11, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Love the beautiful white iris and the photo tips. I just purchased my first digital SLR and am slowly learning how to use the manual settings. I’ll take tips anywhere I can get them. I will surely return to your site.

    • August 12, 2011 at 8:36 am

      Way cool !! I am following you too. I will be posting multiple times a week so I am sure you will find some useful tidbits. Send me an email with specific questions if you like. I would love to help any way I can. I really really enjoy reading your blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

