Home > PHOTOGRAPHY: Inspiration and Assignments | In The Field | How To's > INSPIRATION & ASSIGNMENTS: Pick A Color, Any Color

INSPIRATION & ASSIGNMENTS: Pick A Color, Any Color

Do you have the photography blahs? A bad case of the “I dunno what I wanna shoot today?” Need some inspiration?

Here is one idea that I use when I get a bad case of the “I-dunnos”.

Write down five different colors on separate pieces of paper and put them in a box, a paper bag or something that you can’t peek through. Choose one and go out and shoot that color. Fill a data card with photos. After all, we are shooting digital and you can always delete what doesn’t work.

Let’s say you pick the color red. Shoot red flowers, or firetrucks or old barns. Even close-ups of clothing or parts of things that have red in them can make great subjects. Patterns with red can be fun and can take on an abstract feel. Get close up to isolate red things on different color backgrounds. Shoot red things in shadow or bright light. Shoot things that only have a small amount of red or things that are all red. And don’t forget to shoot different shades of red too.

You will be amazed at what you will find…then go try a different color the next day!

________________

The abstract image featured in this post is one I recently shot. It is a close-up the rear fender of a restored classic car I came across in my travels that day. I loved the curves, leading lines and reflections that I was able to capture. Of all the red images I took that day, this is the one I liked the best.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

