IN THE FIELD: Winter Wonderland

lr_dhphotositeDSC_4168

lr_dhphotositeB&WDSC_4168

This certainly has been quite a winter for some folks. It may not be the snowiest as in years past, but the storms sure have been frequent. Another storm blew through this past Sunday night thru Monday afternoon and deposited nine more inches of snow. Last night was a night of freezing rain and snow…and guess what? There is more winter weather predicted for this weekend. The area around here is beginning to look like the Great White North.

I’m not complaining because I really enjoy the winter season…I just need a break from the outdoor gym (shoveling).

Yesterday I ventured down to a nearby small creek for some scenic winter photos. I was surprised to see the water flowing at such a high rate. I thought the water would have been frozen solid since the temperature has been below freezing since…well, I can’t remember when it wasn’t.

Here is a shot I took looking upstream. It was late afternoon and there wasn’t  much sunlight at this location because of the hillside on the left was blocking the setting sun.

After viewing the image, I decided to de-saturate it to see how it would look. I like the color version because the brown leaves add some interest. I also like the monotone rendition for the really cold feeling in conveys. I think I’ll keep both.

f 6.7

1/250TH

ISO 200

cloudy WB

 

  1. February 5, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    Beautiful, David! I like the colour version the best, I think, mainly because the only real ‘colour’ is brown, and it makes a lovely contrast to the black-and-white. That is a truly lovely photo. When is this weather going to end? We are getting another version of extreme weather – storm force winds and rain – many parts of the south-west of England are either under water, or in danger of collapse into the sea! I hope you are keeping warm and staying safe. When the spring comes, it will be SO welcome!

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:06 am

      It sure has been a crazy winter around the world. I’m not sure which is worse…the gale force wind and rain or the constant snowfalls. I guess mother nature is cleaning house. I’m looking forward to spring also…I’ve got lots of planting to do!

  2. February 5, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Right now I’m with the monochrome one because that’s how the weather feels now…cold, grey, and snowy. Great shot.

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:08 am

      The sun is shining the sun is shining!!! It’s still pretty cold, but at least it’s not so dreary. The trees were covered in ice yesterday…really pretty!

  3. February 5, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Wonderful winter shots !

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:10 am

      Thank you and thanks for the visit!

  4. February 5, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    Awesome shot, David!
    I am leaning more towards the colored version, because, with the crazy weather that we’re having, I need all the color that I can get. Well, That, and because the brown is a really good contrast to the white surroundings. I also like how the browns are subtly reflected on the water.

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:13 am

      Thanks Gracie, I arrived on the scene a few minutes too late to catch sunlight on the snow and water. I have to admit it was nice to have a little color in the scene.

  5. February 5, 2014 at 6:06 pm

    I think it is the pattern of the creek that makes this photo. We are having another cool spell -28 celsius with wind chill, so crusty with all the freezing, then melting, I feel for the wildlife. We got at least 3 more months of snowy weather, just taking it as it comes.

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:16 am

      It’s cold here too with single digits projected for later this week and next. We’ve seen deer and fox tracks in the snow around our house…I think we are in a major pathway. Spring will be here when mother nature is ready.

  6. February 6, 2014 at 4:02 am

    You certainly have had your fair share of snow and ice across North America. I am not sure if I am jealous or relieved as we here in middle England have so far had no snow and only 3 mornings of frost. Missing the chance for a play in the snow and some white winter magic for the camera but pleased not to have to endure the problems snow and ice does bring…..mind you we can do without some of the storms and rain that sweep across the country in waves.

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:19 am

      Yes you guys have been having a tough time over there with the wind and rain. I suppose it’s our turn for the snowy weather this year. You would think with all the snowy weather I would be out there more…nope just too darn cold this year. Single digits every morning kind of put a damper on things.

      • February 6, 2014 at 9:30 am

        Cannot blame you for that…stay warm.

  7. LB
    February 6, 2014 at 9:15 am

    I just love reading that someone else loves winter. Me too! I love all seasons … it’s the change and the different opportunities for outdoor appreciation. Love the photos!

    • February 6, 2014 at 9:21 am

      I’m glad we live where we do…I think I would go nuts it if it was always the same weather wise. I really enjoy the changes. I’m just hoping that summer isn’t the exact opposite of this year’s winter LOL.

      • LB
        February 6, 2014 at 9:24 am

        oh my gosh, no kidding! I am not a fan of extreme heat!

  8. February 6, 2014 at 10:28 am

    I often have trouble deciding whether I prefer the black and white or color version of an image. I usually go with the color, even if it’s only a hint, because – well, I guess I just like color! B&W does usually feel too cold to me, no matter what the subject is. In this case, both versions work nicely, but I think the bit of warm color in the first one actually enhances the cold feeling of the snow and water by its contrast.

    • February 6, 2014 at 3:37 pm

      I’m with you Lee, I do enjoy viewing good B&W images but I am more drawn to color. Maybe it’s because we see in color and to me it just seems more natural to capture a moment in time as it was.

  9. February 6, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    You all have had a rough winter up there! I hope you were able to keep power. I like the black-and-white image myself. I’ve been out shooting a bit in b/w since it’s all I’ve seen for the past few months. I used to shoot exclusively in b/w, so it was fun to stretch those brain cells again. It’s been so cold, though, I haven’t had the desire to stay out very long! I’m sure you know the feeling :)

    • February 7, 2014 at 11:53 am

      Hi Tricia, it’s was a pretty bad storm for some folks. We lost power twice but only for a few minutes. Some area about five miles from here are still without power. Those areas sustained pretty heavy damage. We were fortunate this time. I’ve been doing the drive to a spot, walk a short distance, get a few shots and get back in the jeep where it’s warm drill. I also used to shoot b/w negative film (years ago). Maybe I’ll explore it some more. I still have my old film cameras so it may be kind of fun to re-visit that format.

      • February 8, 2014 at 12:20 pm

        I’m glad you’ve missed the worst of it! I shot b/w film nearly exclusively for more than a decade. I still miss it sometimes, but I don’t really miss the chemicals! I’ve enjoyed using the b/w mode on my Sony and “thinking” that way when out and about. I guess that’s as close as I’m going to get at this time :)

  10. February 7, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    My preference is for the colour version. I like the browns which offer warmth against the icy feeling water.

    • February 7, 2014 at 3:58 pm

      I have to agree Meanderer…especially since the cold here has been never ending! The sun has been shining all day today so that helps make it seem warmer…even though it’s still below freezing. Single digits tonight!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

